Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars it's gonna be really good album
Whatever the line-up, Ian Gillan or David Coverdale, Ritchie Blackmore or Steve Morse, I love almost every album by Deep Purple. For me there won't be any deeper album than Machine Head. I have been listening to the preview of Hell To Pay and All The Time In The World almost everyday online and I could not wait until today when they are actually available for download...
Published on 1 April 2013 by Mr. Bluesman

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Thank God Ian Gillan has used a packet of Strepsils & Lockets!!!!!
Just heard the 2 tracks from this audio from Deep Purple one of the Greatest Legendary Hard Rock Bands of All Time!!!!
1. All The Time in the World
All i can say is Thank God Ian Gillan has decided to go and buy himself a packet of Lockets or Strepsils and sort that voice out once and for all from the disappointing last Album.
All the Time in the World is a...
Published on 12 April 2013 by Andrew Goodman


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars it's gonna be really good album, 1 April 2013
This review is from: All The Time In The World / Hell To Pay (Audio CD)
Whatever the line-up, Ian Gillan or David Coverdale, Ritchie Blackmore or Steve Morse, I love almost every album by Deep Purple. For me there won't be any deeper album than Machine Head. I have been listening to the preview of Hell To Pay and All The Time In The World almost everyday online and I could not wait until today when they are actually available for download although I have pre-ordered the full length album. I just don't have patience until the end of the month. Anyway here it is. My expectations were not too high and different. I just believed the legends would give the best. Well I find both singles to be really good. Hell To Pay is fast rocking while All The Time In The World is mid tempo bluesy. I am sure 'Now What ?!' is gonna be really good album.

Long live Purple ;-)
RIP Jon Lord
Rock 'N' Roll \,,/,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting trailer of now what!, 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All The Time In The World / Hell To Pay (Audio CD)
At the outset let me admit that I am a partisan fan of Deep Purple and that too for over 25 years. Let me also admit that the band will never (Never say never... lol) be able to rise to their past glories of the early seventies when they gave most of their great hits, having said that I really like the two songs on this single.

`All the time in the world' is a mellow song, more AOR than hard rock that Deep Purple is known for but the song is great. This is a very confident band playing a great tune, mind you not showing off to add color. Here, Ian's voice is at its aged best, nice and rich with the band supporting him. Everyone has done a professional job to make a humable tune.

The second song `Hell to pay' is a more in tradition of a Deep Purple song that the band churns out with Steve Morse. It's a nice catchy tune, the surprise is that it is an anthemic song, something Deep Purple rarely ever do. The song is great, however, the guitar in the chorus is a bit weak and giving a feel that the chorus is missing some punch. The solo is typical Steve Morse, love him or miss the MIB....but I like his style as well.

The production on this album is fantastic, all the instruments and vocals are crisp and very clear. This is unlike `Rapture of the Deep' where the sound is quite muddled. The songs are definitely more melodic so I assume Bob Ezrin as the producer has a hand here as well.

All in all great songs, if you like a mature band playing great music for themselves who are not out to prove anything to anyone.... go for it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Thank God Ian Gillan has used a packet of Strepsils & Lockets!!!!!, 12 April 2013
By 
This review is from: All The Time In The World / Hell To Pay (Audio CD)
Just heard the 2 tracks from this audio from Deep Purple one of the Greatest Legendary Hard Rock Bands of All Time!!!!
1. All The Time in the World
All i can say is Thank God Ian Gillan has decided to go and buy himself a packet of Lockets or Strepsils and sort that voice out once and for all from the disappointing last Album.
All the Time in the World is a good track and is very melodic but i think long gone are the days of Deep Purple at there Peak as for me it will always be about Lord-Paice-Blackmore which to me was like a V12 Cylinder in a Car
What we have here is a V6 Cylinder with Airey-Paice-Morse as the driving force.
Ian Gillan does a good job and does not overstretch his voice on this track and this now seems to be his limit and i think is a very good track but in reality is just average Deep Purple compared to the full on musicianship of yester-year.

2. Hell To Pay
Another good track and Ian Gillan sounds better in the studio than what he does Live lately on this one and Bob Ezrin seems to know how far Ian Gillan can go with his voice.
The rest of the Band perform Great and has the old Deep Purple Sound but it is not as Fully Charged as it used to be with the Classic MK2 and MK3 Line Ups.

Overall Pretty Good Stuff but as i said this is a V6 Cylinder Deep Purple compared to the V12 Cylinder Deep Purple with Machine Head,In Rock,Burn,Made in Japan,Stormbringer etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It Was Worth It!, 27 Dec. 2013
By 
Phoris (Athens, Greece) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All The Time In The World / Hell To Pay (Audio CD)
After all those years, Yes! It was Worth It! 2 New Songs of the Loudest Band in The World. And what songs! The one Better than the other! 21rst century Deep Purple!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Purple of a different hue, 28 May 2013
By 
I. I. L. Surridge (Amersham, Buckinghamshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All The Time In The World / Hell To Pay (Audio CD)
I liked it as soon as I clapped ears on it!!!
In the mould of "When a Blind Man Cries" and "Wasted Sunsets" from the days of Blackmore.
However, it is more laid back and mellow than that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great music from Deep Purple, 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All The Time In The World / Hell To Pay (Audio CD)
Two new songs on this disk from Deep Purple's latest release Now What?! Each song has a different flavour and taste to it. The first one is the mid-tempo All The Time In The World. It won't match up to the supremacy of Sometimes I feel Like Screaming, or Wasted Sunset, but it is a great Deep Purple song. The second song is the heavy rocker Hell To Pay, a powerful song I would love to see it performed live. The solos on this song is a showcase of the brilliance of Steve Morse. I listened and enjoyed both songs many times, and one question remained in mind: if the radio edit illustrates such musicianship, wondering how the full versions will sound like?
On the same disk there are two additional songs: Perfect Strangers and Rapture of the Deep. Both songs are from the band previous concerts after the release of the 2005 album.
If you are a Deep Purple fan who doesn't care which MK it is, like me, I love all incarnations of this legendary band, then this single is a good add to your collection, otherwise, get the full album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great 1st single from NOW WHAT really catchy hook to ..., 4 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All The Time In The World / Hell To Pay (Audio CD)
Great 1st single from NOW WHAT really catchy hook to chorus far better than all this manufactured product that the industry thinks we need. Well done !! Deep Purple AWSOME ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars so what, 3 April 2013
By 
Mr. H "Mr H" (Embra) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: All The Time In The World / Hell To Pay (Audio CD)
Well, that was deathly dull, wasn't it? I mean, I really wanted it to be good, as it's been a long (long) time since Deep Purple released anything that could be regarded as essential. And this doesn't change that one iota. It's a mid paced adult contemporary song that goes nowhere and does nothing. If this is the best they've come up with in 8 years, then it's not looking good for the new album.

Over on the B-side, you get 'Hell To Pay', which at least has a bit of life to it, and doesn't come across like two old codgers moaning about things at the bus stop. It's not great, but it is a song I would play more than once. You also get two live tracks for your money, both recorded at the Hard Rock Cafe in London back in 2005. So someone has decided to have a bit of a clear out.

'Highway Star' and 'Smoke On The Water' since you ask. And they're exactly what you would expect from the 21st century incarnation of the Ian Paice Band. It doesn't make me want to rush out and pre-order "Now What?", so I'll be waiting for the sales.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

All The Time In The World /  Hell To Pay
All The Time In The World / Hell To Pay by Deep Purple (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews