Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, in its way
Dirk Bogarde felt his performance in this film was the best of his career, because the character he portrayed had so little in common with the real D.B.

I don't know whether I'd entirely go along with that, but there's no denying that this is one of his finest, if not the peak: you'll never forget the way he says 'And sex' at the conclusion of the dinner scene...
Published on 2 May 2009 by Wakefield, 2011

versus
8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Accidental Death of a Dramatist ...
I'm sorry, but I fail to see what is so wonderful about this rather self-indulgent tosh.

Yes, it's nicely photographed, and the performances are good - but so they should be: the cast is a magnificent one.

For me, the problem is the film itself.

Frankly, it's boring.

Pinter's screenplay is boring, centred on self-indulgent and...
Published on 15 Mar 2009 by Green Knight


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, in its way, 2 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Accident [DVD] (DVD)
Dirk Bogarde felt his performance in this film was the best of his career, because the character he portrayed had so little in common with the real D.B.

I don't know whether I'd entirely go along with that, but there's no denying that this is one of his finest, if not the peak: you'll never forget the way he says 'And sex' at the conclusion of the dinner scene - a lifetime of contempt, derision and self-loathing encapsulated in the delivery of two short words.

Elsewhere, Pinter - possibly the finest writer for the screen who ever lived - turns in the usual masterly screenplay, which Losey directs with his customary aplomb. Stanley Baker gives an excellent turn as Bogarde's more successful colleague (though it's a bit difficult to picture him as an Oxford don)and the photography is quite beautiful. Vivien Merchant, in a minor role, is a major joy.

It's really very superficial to describe this film as a lot of rich kids grumbling about life...that's entirely to miss the point: the film is a study of human weakness, among other things. That it happens to be set amongst the dreaming spires of Oxford is coincidental.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ANOTHER THAT STUNNED ME, 16 Jan 2014
By 
Mrs. V. M. Foster "MISTY MILLER" (EDENBRIDGE ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Accident [DVD] (DVD)
another 60s film that burst on the screens full of realism - taken from the novel was it Pinter cant remember -- but again it brought Bogarde and Michael Yorke bursting onto our screens = this was technicolour not black and white but had that haunting 60s music that was so often present - tale of the university crowd and the events that followed - wonderfully portrayed acted - atmosphere-here all the way - i loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A timeless classic, 27 Jun 2009
By 
technoguy "jack" (Rugby) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Accident [DVD] (DVD)
Joseph Losey's partnership with Pinter(as screenwriter) came from their similar attitudes to the English class system. This was the second of their 3 collaborations.Losey was left wing and had a distinctive European sensibility. He also uses two European actresses, Delphine Seyrig and Jaqueline Sassard.This is his masterpiece, based on a Nicholas Mosley novel . Pinter takes the austerity of the novel with its minimal dialogue and explores what is not said and what is not done.The film starts with an accident, and Stephen a middle-aged Oxford don( who teaches philosophy), finds the overturned car outside his property. Two of his students,William and Anna, were on their way to see him. William is dead and Stephen(Bogarde), rescues Anna(Sassard),who had been driving and is drunk and has no license to drive.Stephen is the only one who knew she was driving or in the car at all.He protects Anna from the consequences, by taking her to his house(his wife Vivian Merchant is in hospital,pregnant). In the event, the police do not find out that Anna was either in, or driving the car. There follows flash-backs leading up to the event.

Stephen is married with two children and one on the way. He is comfortable, and lives in a beautiful house.He likes his two aristocratic students, William(a very good Yorke)and Anna,an Austrian princess, who he teaches philosophy. He acts as a go-between for the two of them.Stephen has a competitive relationship with his friend Charley(Baker) an academic and novelist who appears on TV and is married. Stephen learns that Charley is having an affair with Anna. He encourages Charley to make things up with his wife.What is noticeable about this film is it hasn't aged and could have been made yesterday. It steers clear of the swinging 60s clichés, common to films made then.To Stephen and Charley much of human behaviour is to do with the playing of games. Shows of communication were not much more than the playing of games.We get lots of shots of them playing tennis,cricket and with William, indoor rugby.There are beautifully filmed episodes of punting on the river, with young women and family picnics and country walks, showing the rituals of English behaviour. Suppressed feelings are acted out in the rituals and games. Stephen is attracted to Anna and would like to seduce her.

In the novel he is faithful to his wife and loves her and maybe hasn't the nerve of the more extrovert Charley. Anna announces she will marry William -in some sort of revenge. Everything is restrained and understated. Allusion and indirection dominate, e.g. Stephen's tryst in London with Francesca(Seyrig), where a voiceover of banal small talk takes the place of what is really happening.What happens to Anna after the accident? Stephen appears to rape her, although he doesn't sleep with her in the novel.Pinter explained to Mosley why they felt this was structurally necessary:it economised and compressed and intensified the drama. Otherwise, they adhered faithfully to the novel. Sassard has an iconic,languorous beauty, and is merely an instrument for the men,her acting appears wooden.Mosley's idea to salvage anything from the disaster, was for Stephen to not sleep with Anna. What works in a novel doesn't always work on film. Bogarde felt he played the best role of his career as Stephen, with his repressed sexuality and mid-life crisis.Baker is phenomenal as the very physical and extrovert Charley.There is a real tension between these two actors. Vivian Merchant is brilliant as the all- knowing Rosalind. Losey places himself up there with Resnais and Antonioni.Pinter's use of memory and time showed the preoccupation of his plays.He gives a cameo performance as a TV producer.This film was the winner of the 1967 Grand Jury Prize at Cannes.Deservedly so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Accident, 13 May 2009
By 
This review is from: Accident [DVD] (DVD)
One of Joseph Losey's best films demonstrating also what an excellent "film" actor Dirk Bogarde was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Accidental Death of a Dramatist ..., 15 Mar 2009
By 
This review is from: Accident [DVD] (DVD)
I'm sorry, but I fail to see what is so wonderful about this rather self-indulgent tosh.

Yes, it's nicely photographed, and the performances are good - but so they should be: the cast is a magnificent one.

For me, the problem is the film itself.

Frankly, it's boring.

Pinter's screenplay is boring, centred on self-indulgent and boring people, about whom it is impossible to care. After a very short time, I want to give most of them a hearty slap and tell them to lighten up and stop being ... so boring.

Maybe that's the whole point - in which case I've missed the point completely, but
I can't help wondering if we are perhaps so in awe of Pinter and his extraordinary theatrical and filmic legacy that we daren't admit that he can sometimes be a wee bit in love with himself, and that what we are watching is not so much brilliantly clever and loaded with subtext and menace, but just ... plain boring.

Save your money and buy 'The Servant' instead. Pinter and Bogarde again - but fascinating this time. And anything but boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dvd, 20 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Accident [DVD] (DVD)
As usual, I've always enjoyed (and always will) any film of Dirk Bogarde and this gem it is not the exception.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I thought this was a great film, 20 Jun 2009
By 
Kerouac fan (Torquay, England, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Accident [DVD] (DVD)
>
Now I thought this was a great film. Intriguing plot - why the car crash? all will be revealed. Mesmerising acting: Does anybody tuck their shirt in their trousers the way Stanley Baker does? - I always tuck front in first. The sultry scene on the lawn, the men pensive with libido, the wives passive and commonsensical, I've never seen a hot summer's day captured so well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strong mise en scene deep psychology of the characters perfect acting, 18 Dec 2008
This review is from: Accident [DVD] (DVD)
From The Servant's director Joseph Losey, this film is certainly one of the most important films of the history of British cinema and the world.
The film creates a kind of language by the hands and arms of the characters, things such as
-Anna (Jacqueline Sassard) and Stephen (Dirk Bogarde) put their hands on a fence during a walk in the countryside. This is the first shot of the sequence. The camera zooms out from the close up of their hands to a medium shot in which we can see Stephen's obsession to Anna's body in his way of looking at her hands.
-Charley (Stanley Baker) astonished of Anna's sudden departure to her country puts his hand on Anna's shoulder (He believes she loves him, he feels a kind of possessing her)
-Anna turns her head and looks at this hand showing in her way of looking that she does not appreciate this intrusive hand
-Later on when she finished packing she draws her hand to Charley for a farewel. Thus she puts a distance between herself and Charley with whom she was previously in bed
-In the TV office Mr Bell (Harold Pinter) and Stephen (Dirk Bogarde) start to speak with each other when suddenly an intrusive colleague of Mr Bell comes in and seats between the two men. Then the only way of seeing each other for the two men is looking through an empty space made by that colleague's arm

The eye expression of Dirk Bogarde all along the film is the proof of excellent acting of this greatest actor of all the history of British cinema.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvelous! Bogarde - Losey - Pinter, 14 Jan 2013
By 
Hargreaves (Los Angeles, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Accident [DVD] (DVD)
The Optimum, reg. 2 DVD shown does NOT have "Family Way" on it. Note that the 2004 and 2005 reviews for Family Way refer to an earlier 2-film DVD which had both ACCIDENT and Family Way.

This Optimum release is an excellent colour print and, thanks be, is in its original aspect ratio of 1.78:1 anamorphic widescreen. No cutting off the edges of the film. You get the whole frame here. Applause!

ACCIDENT is a film to watch many times, each time finding something new to appreciate in the subtle performance by the always superb Dirk Bogarde and those by an excellent cast, the nuanced screenplay adaptation of the Nicholas Mosley novel by Harold Pinter, and deft orchestration by director Joseph Losey.

If you are looking for obvious dialogue, superficial plot, action à la car chases, this is not the film. What could have been a cliché love triangle becomes a subtle work which challenges the viewer to listen to what is not said in the actors' sparse dialogue but eloquent in their eyes, body language, and their silences. There is a pleasure and much reward in working through the intriguing layers of the film.

Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pinter bores for England, 23 April 2009
By 
William Cohen (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Accident [DVD] (DVD)
The Go-Between was life changing, I've got The Servant next, but this was very self-indulgent and tedious. I lived in Oxford for many years and I was fascinated by the backdrop. Bogarde looks brooding, some of the film feels a bit like Polanski, but I didn't care much for the characters and I was wishing it would end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaf39f480)

This product

Accident [Blu-ray]
Accident [Blu-ray] by Joseph Losey (Blu-ray - 2013)
12.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews