Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars there are plenty more fish in the sea, Chromeskull
A secretive corporation repairs, nurtures and provides victims for a silent homicidal maniac.

Chromeskull: Laid to Rest II draws some inspiration from Halloween 6 : The Curse of Michael Myers and is generally an improvement on the first Laid to Rest. The gore is great, the mythology is expanded and there are some insights into Chromeskull's modus operandi...
Published 8 months ago by Nelson Viper

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars I'M TRYING TO HAVE A CONVERSATION HERE!
I will say I never saw the first movie. I was confused as this movie assumes that you did see the first installment. I was asking basic questions such as "Who is Chromeskull? Why is Chromeskull? Why does he kill? What is this organization behind him?" I felt behind and found myself going back through scenes to see if there was something I missed.

Once I got...
Published 10 months ago by The Movie Guy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars there are plenty more fish in the sea, Chromeskull, 4 Nov 2013
This review is from: Chromeskull: Laid to Rest 2 [DVD] (DVD)
A secretive corporation repairs, nurtures and provides victims for a silent homicidal maniac.

Chromeskull: Laid to Rest II draws some inspiration from Halloween 6 : The Curse of Michael Myers and is generally an improvement on the first Laid to Rest. The gore is great, the mythology is expanded and there are some insights into Chromeskull's modus operandi . It even features Danielle Harris in a cameo.

A chromeskull wannabe, Brian Austin Green, takes up a little too much screen time, but there are some tense scenes and new fish, Mimi Michaels, is decent at screaming and running.

3.5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I'M TRYING TO HAVE A CONVERSATION HERE!, 2 Sep 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I will say I never saw the first movie. I was confused as this movie assumes that you did see the first installment. I was asking basic questions such as "Who is Chromeskull? Why is Chromeskull? Why does he kill? What is this organization behind him?" I felt behind and found myself going back through scenes to see if there was something I missed.

Once I got over that, I have to ask...Seriously. If you are going to kidnap someone, wouldn't you think about checking them for a cell phone before you lock them up?
The cops have various clues and leads and are hunting down Chromeskull as he, or I should say his slightly inept apprentice, prepares his next victim.

If you watched the first one, and made it through 5 or so Saw movies, you don't need to be reading reviews, you know you are going to watch it anyway. If you haven't seen the first one, I would recommend watching it before attempting to watch this one.

Parental Guide: F-bomb, shower nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "..ONE OF THE BEST HORROR SLASHER SEQUELS EVER MADE!!!...", 6 May 2012
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a truly awesome horror sequel, the story continues immediately after the events of the original movie and takes a completely different direction with loads of twists and turns and all without spoiling the spirit of the original, the death scenes in this movie are very imaginative and top notch, the effects are very quality budget, there is more bloody in your face gore in this movie than most films put together, it gets real bloody especially towards the end, this is an awesome franchise and I hope it does not end here!! A must for all horror fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Mediocre Sequel, 6 April 2012
By 
Will (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
to a mediocre film lets be honest. The first Chromeskull was ok and this is the same, although probably slightly worse. If you liked the first chances are you will like this though.

Just like the first one, there is very little story and little background on any of the characters. Danielle Harris for no reason explained is ChromeSkull's helper and the same goes for the detective helping and trying to emulate him. We know nothing about their reasons why.

On the plus, the acting is a step up from the original which isn't saying much. It varies between mediocre to bad. The blood and gore is MUCH better though. The gore has been upped considerably, the deaths all involving knifes of some sort are pretty brutal and fairly realistic. Not as shocking as they could have been thanks to the generally poor acting but nonetheless the death scenes are the standout here. The lead blonde girl is useless and has no fight compared to the girl in the original but is the star of the show as far as the acting goes. Despite her reasonable acting it is very hard to root for her, the girl in the original was alot easier to empathise with. Maybe because she did stuff instead of just doing nothing except cry all the time. I really couldn't have cared any less about..well..anyone in this film. Danielle Harris barely features to make much of an impression. It also has to be said the cops in this film must have graduated from the worlds dumbest police academy. They are laughably inept.

Just like the first Chromeskull, very little in the way of a script or a story but somewhat enjoyable all the same mostly thanks to the great gore and death scenes. Worth seeing if you liked the first one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Good Sequel, 25 Oct 2011
By 
Mr. R. Domar (Wolves) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The film continues immidiately after the first ended. We see Chromeskull's body being packed away by Preston his main assistant and others. Later he is brought back to life.
The plot is fairly simple as we see Preston trying to emulate Chromeskull. There's a girl who has been kidnapped. The female survivor from the first is killed by Preston while the male survivor is now in police custody but protected. Except Preston gets him.
I thought this was great and better that the first with more kills, more blood and a lot more gory scenes with some fabulous visuals. No cut aways here, we see it all. The story was ok but there's still some mystery that has yet to be revealed. And watch for a scene after the credits. Very entertaining commentary aswell.
Extras include a com, featurette, deleted, bloopers, jump to a kill and trailer. USA Release Region 1. English subtitles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chromeskull Laid to Rest, 30 May 2013
This review is from: Chromeskull: Laid to Rest 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Wasn't sure what to expect but not disappointed !
Very intense , very gory and a cut above the rest .
Deadly , Bloody horror at its best and a great night's entertainment .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars CUT Version, 24 Aug 2012
By 
Andreas Christ "commander" (korbach, hessen) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chromeskull: Laid to Rest 2 (DVD)
Although it says Min:90 this is the (for the moment only available) cut version.
Most of the story is confusing due to the cuts
An uncut version will be available from 31th october, so I recommend waiting..!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An Awful Sequel, 5 Mar 2012
By 
I am a huge fan of Laid To Rest. Its old school, thrashy, bloody and heaps of fun.
Chromeskull was an instant horror Icon, and I couldn't wait for the sequel but I was hugely disappointed and bored by it.
The main problem with this stinker is the unforgivable fact that it takes all the focus of Chromeskull himself and instead focuses on a killer who wants to be the new Chromeskull.
Another huge problem is that it shows that our shiny faced killer works for some sort of company and even has Danielle Harris on the payroll to shine his mask.
The acting in this film is just awful. The first Laid To Rest was no Oscar winner, but the cast in this film is laughable and the dialogue is hilarious. The direction is horrible and it looks like some scenes were filmed on a late 90s camera phone.
The death scenes are pretty gosh darn gory and the make-up work is as excellent as the first- very little CGI here.
Throw is an absolutely awful ending and what you have here is a truly bad sequel that isn't worth your time.
I give this film 2 stars- 1 for having the beautiful Danielle Harris in it, and the other for the film being so bad, its almost fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Poor Sequel To Laid To Rest, 10 April 2013
By 
This review is from: Chromeskull: Laid to Rest 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I am a huge fan of Laid To Rest. Its old school, thrashy, bloody and heaps of fun.
Chromeskull was an instant horror Icon, and I couldn't wait for the sequel but I was hugely disappointed and bored by it.
The main problem with this stinker is the unforgivable fact that it takes all the focus of Chromeskull himself and instead focuses on a killer who wants to be the new Chromeskull.
Another huge problem is that it shows that our shiny faced killer works for some sort of company and even has Danielle Harris on the payroll to shine his mask.
The acting in this film is just awful. The first Laid To Rest was no Oscar winner, but the cast in this film is laughable and the dialogue is hilarious. The direction is horrible and it looks like some scenes were filmed on a late 90s camera phone.
The death scenes are pretty gosh darn gory and the make-up work is as excellent as the first- very little CGI here.
Throw is an absolutely awful ending and what you have here is a truly bad sequel that isn't worth your time.
I give this film 2 stars- 1 for having the beautiful Danielle Harris in it, and the other for the film being so bad, its almost fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chromeskull: Laid to Rest 2 [DVD]
Chromeskull: Laid to Rest 2 [DVD] by Robert Hall (DVD - 2013)
7.32
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews