Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
48
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£7.61+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 June 2013
This touching film is as moving for the human stories and relationships as for the quality of the dancing performed by the four girls and two boys,competing in the Youth America Grand Prix.Neither are we spared the heart-break of their mistakes and failures; their handling of tension, stress, disappointment, injury and prejudice;their poor,battered feet and the foot-stretching torture to produce that beautiful convex instep! However, we are more than uplifted by the sensitive interactions between pupils and teachers and the devotion and unfailing support of both parents.Skate-boarding comedian, Aran,11,full of joy and passion, has a military Dad based in Italy,where he trains. The father of Miko and Jules approves of the beneficial effects on the family life-style. Joan Sebastian,although adored and missed (he trains in N.Y.)is pushed by his parents, with Dad advising it's the only way to escape from the poor neighbourhood of Colombia where they live. The foster parents of Michaela rescued her as an orphan from the civil war in Sierra Leone (where her parents and teacher were killed)and brought her back to Philadelphia.They have devoted themselves to fulfilling her dream of becoming a 'delicate' black dancer, inspired by the image of a ballerina she saw on the cover of a dance magazine. Miko,12, and Jules,10, are driven by their ambitious,Japanese Mum (also a competent pianist) who pays for additional private tuition. Her influence has a very good effect on one child but more negative results on the other. She is clearly fulfilling a dream,as is the mother of Joan Sebastian,who describes herself as a 'frustrated ballerina'. Although it was 'weird' for a boy to be a ballet dancer in Colombia, she overcame her qualms. Joan Sebastian himself wants to emulate Carlos Acosta at the Royal Ballet but he also strives for the sake of his parents. We are so wrapped up in the fortunes of these young dancers that by the time we reach the awards ceremony at the end of the film you are desperate for them to receive a medal, scholarship or contract. This is an indication of how the clever crafting of this film has worked on you. Given that the Prix de Lausanne and the YAGP are so rarely televised, this revealing film is even more valuable.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2014
I am a ballet teacher and had my eye on this film for a while so, when a couple of my students recommended it I sat down to watch it. I say 'sat down' but in reality I sat for 5 minutes and then got up and stretched while watching it. You simply can't sit and do nothing while watching these wonderfully talented kids work so hard. It's incredibly inspiring. You really invest in each story and hope they can all achieve their dream (sadly of course, that's unlikely.) I have recommended it to all my students, and funnily enough, some have watched it before coming to class, and then really blown me away with how hard they're working! Fantastic film.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2013
...you will like this inspiring DVD! I can watch it over and over again. If you are a dancer, or just interested in dance you should watch this!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2013
a wonderful inspiring documentary film about competitors from round the world in the lead up to a US ballet competition final... moving and heart felt stories in the attempt to win not just prizes but, much more coveted: scholarships for ballet schools round the world... not just for ballet fans, but for anyone who has had a dream, it's a thoroughly entertaining film..
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2012
Find out how difficult ballet is. I am not a ballet aficionado I saw the trailer and decided to give the DVD a try.
Would highly recommend especially for any aspiring ballet dancers. Recommended. Glad I bought it.
Terry.C.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2015
This film follows the progress of young dancers until the result of the finals. It shows the sacrifices of the the parents and the hard work of their their offspring as they follow their passion to be a ballet dancer/ ballerina. It is difficult not be involved in the dreams of these young people and to hope that they make a career in ballet.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2013
I was very keen to buy this as soon as it came out. It is interesting but perhaps dragged on a little bit. Wonderful standard of dance and informative but definitely a documentary - I wouldn't necessarily suggest it for very easy viewing.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2015
Really insightful, inspiring and emotional journey through the life of the aspiring dancers. There's so much more to dancing that meets the eye and these dancers dance because they need to, not just because they want to.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2015
These children are an inspiration to everyone of us who has a dream, whether they be young or old. This documentary has been so beautifully put together with such sensitivity and finesse. All the children who were involved in this film are extraordinary individuals, in particular Michaela and Joan Sebastian who come from difficult backgrounds. It was so touching to hear Michaela talking about the poster she acquired at a very early age showing Sarah Lamb looking absolutely exquisite and also to hear Jean Sebastian wanting to emulate Carlos Acosta. I loved the privilege of being introduced to their families and homes and understanding their backgrounds and how, through love and determination, they have overcome them. I can't extol this film enough. The message is KEEP BELIEVING. Beautiful.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2016
A captivating dance documentary that can be watched over and over again. Some of the dancers are now ballet and dance stars of different companies around the world, but here you see them as they train, struggle with injuries and the day to day grind in the hope of forging a career in dance. Well worth a buy for any young dancer who has not already seen this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)