Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars High psychological drama at its very best
I first saw this film quite by accident, switching on the television on a dismal sunday afternoon. I gather I missed the first half of the film but what I did see utterly ruined my day. The big, fat, weighty emotions on the screen litterally suffocated me, made me feel quite sick and all the time I knew there was something very powerful happening there: two people,...
Published on 18 Jan 2004 by cogitocamel

versus
6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Oddity - but great acting.
Another one of those bizarre but much acclaimed movies that was to come out of the sixties. You have to be either blind drunk or high on drugs to make sense of them. However; the acting is pretty good. An unusual role for Bogarde, and an outstanding one for fine British actress Wendy Craig before she became better known for comedy. Also stars James Fox and a young...
Published on 5 Jun 2010 by FAMOUS NAME


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars High psychological drama at its very best, 18 Jan 2004
This review is from: The Servant [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
I first saw this film quite by accident, switching on the television on a dismal sunday afternoon. I gather I missed the first half of the film but what I did see utterly ruined my day. The big, fat, weighty emotions on the screen litterally suffocated me, made me feel quite sick and all the time I knew there was something very powerful happening there: two people, marvelously acted, caught up in a web of ugly dependance, eating at each other, until only one is left, the other ultimately assimilated into an unhealthy symbiosis-subordination.
More recently, I had the chance of seeing "The Servant" on the big screen and my hopes were very highly set. I could at last see the whole of the film and understand what had lead to the situation I knew and expected.
My impressions were somewhat different this time. There is undoubtedly a difficult claustrophobic feel about the film, but there is also comedy - a dark, bleak and grotesque comedy - that makes this work all the more richer for the ambiguity it instores. One shifts between extremes, between the heaviness and unhealthiness of the interlocked lives of the protagonists, the staleness and decadence of the house, the perverse demonstration of strength throttling weakness, of the servant inversing roles and finally taking the upper hand against his master, who ends up crawling very low indeed; and on the other hand, the numerous comic dialogues, the very funny situations bred out of the master's ineptitudes to live independently...
The homosexual element is also of great (and grave) importance. It is constantly slipping about in undertones (one must not forget that homosexuality was not legal in Britain at the time), seeping in at the fringes and thriving at the very core of what is going on between the two characters.
Aesthetically, the film is perfect. The use of mirrors and inhabitual camera angles, the display of the house, the black-and-white media so well suited to the dark subject matter... All this combines to produce an impressive (if intimidating) whole that leaves you feeling quite unwell.
If you believe the role of movies is to entertain, this might not be a film for you; but if delving into the depths of human relationships (however horribly uncomfortable this may be) and leaving the film different for having seen it is what you expect from this form of high drama, then you simply must see "The Servant". But beware! You won't come out of it untouched.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Seamy Side of the Swinging '60s, 24 Mar 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Servant [DVD] (1963) (DVD)
'The Servant' used to be shown on telly - a lot. It seemed to crop up just about every school holiday - on BBC2, where it was shown at a 'respectable' hour when young minds could not possibly be corrupted by it.

As I child, I loved it. I knew it virtually off by heart, without really understanding a word of it.

Thirty years later, and rather more grown up, I rejoiced at its release on dvd. Douglas Slocombe's stunning black and white photography looks infinitely finer than it ever looked on telly, and the nasty little world that Joseph Losey and Harold Pinter have created from Robin Maugham's novel is compelling viewing.

There are some magical moments of pure Pinter, both tragic and very amusing, and for my money this film is vastly superior to the rather tedious 'Accident'. The performances are remarkable, with the crown of course going to Dirk Borgarde, whose creepy Barratt manages to act everyone off the screen without upsetting the balance.

'The Servant' sums up an era, and the hard winter of 1963 is shown to great effect. The rain and snow over a bleak London are obviously the real thing - and every bit as chilly as the emotions of the characters portrayed.

This film is one for the collection. Enjoy (if that's the right word!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Fatales - Homme & Femme., 18 May 2013
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
The Servant is directed by Joseph Losey and adapted to screenplay by Harold Pinter from the novelette of the same name written by Robin Maugham. It stars Dirk Bogarde, Sarah Mles, Wendy Craig and James Fox. Music is by John Dankworth and cinematography by Douglas Slocombe.

When well-to-do Londoner Tony (Fox) hires Hugo Barrett (Bogarde) as his manservant, he gets more than he bargained for. Especially when Hugo's sister Vera (Miles) also arrives on the scene...

The Servant remains as enigmatic today as it was back on its release in the early part of the 1960s. It's a film that defies classification, that rare old cinematic treat that continues to cause debate about not only its worth as art, but also its very meaning(s). A head bothering delight that revels in toying with your perceptions as much as Hugo Barrett enjoys toying with his supposed master. Lets play master and servant - indeed.

Set predominantly in the confines of Tony's swanky Chelsea abode, there's a disturbing claustrophobia that pervades the narrative, and this before we even begin to ponder the power of man, his ability to dominate and manipulate, or the reverse side that sees another's lack of ability to not succumb to the downward spiral instigated by a supposed lesser man.

Sprinkled over power issues are sexual desires, obtained, unfulfilled or simmering away unspoken. As the literate screenplay comes out in sharp dialogue snatches, breaking free of Pinter's other wise cement ensconced writing, there's evidence that this is a psychological study as opposed to the class system allegory that many thought it was way back then. This really isn't about role reversal, the finale tells us that.

Visually it's a box of atmospheric tricks as well. Losey and Slocombe use deep angular black and white photography to enforce the chilly dynamics at work in the story, the longer the film goes on, as it gets to the nitty gritty, the more jarring the camera work becomes - delightfully so - the house no longer an affluent person's residence, but a skew-whiff place of debauchery and mind transference. And mirrors - reflections, important and used to great effect.

Some scenes are striking and rich. Hugo at the top of the stairs standing in the bedroom doorway, in silhouette, an overhead shot of Hugo and Tony playing a childlike ball game on the stairs, a sex scene on a leather chair that we don't see but understand totally. And many more as Losey finds the material that allows him to show his skills.

Cast performances are across the board terrific, particularly Bogarde who gives a visual acting master class, and Fox who beautifully shifts a gear from toff twit into dependant dead beat. While Dankworth's musical accompaniments add flavour to the unfolding machinations. 9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Servant [DVD] (1963) (DVD)
A real treat. It is an arresting depiction both of the original novella and of aspects of 1960s London; decadence and challenges to the social order. The acting is tremendous. Tip: watch after the novella which is really excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Losey studies the British like an alien life form, 10 May 2009
By 
William Cohen (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Servant [DVD] (1963) (DVD)
Cyril Connolly said of the British: "the greater part of the ruling class remains adolescent, school-minded, self-conscious, cowardly, sentimental, and in the last analysis homosexual." Joseph Losey was a shrewd enough observer of the British to see evidence of Connolly's observation.

There's a moment when Tony, (Edward Fox) says how much fun it is to be in Hugo's (Dirk Bogarde's) company, "it's like being back in the army." It's the closest any too characters get in the film (much closer than the men get to any of the women.)

The power play is exquisite, as is Bogarde's acting. It's a great allegory of the 1960s. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Intriguing and dramatic chamber-piece...", 14 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Servant [DVD] (1963) (DVD)
Sixteenth feature film by American director Joseph Losey (1909-1984), an adaptation of a novel from 1948 by British novelist and playwright Robin Maugham (1916-1981), which was written by screenwriter and playwright Harold Pinter (1930-2008), tells the story about Tony, a young and wealthy man who hires a man named Hugo Barrett to work for him as a servant at his house in London. Even though his girlfriend Susan acts with pointed prejudice towards Tony`s newly hired servant and questions his character, Tony ignores this and continues his trusting friendship with the charming Hugo Barrett.

This brilliantly written and directed British production, a character-driven, dialog-driven and rigorously structured study of character which portrays a fierce power struggle between a man from the upper-class and a man from the working-class, is a tense, intriguing and dramatic chamber-piece and a poignantly atmospheric Film-noir from the early 1960s with a underlining jazzy score by English Jazz composer John Dankworth (1927-2010). The noticeable black-and-white cinematography by British cinematographer Douglas Slocombe, the sarcastic humor, the pivotal use of light, the quick-witted dialog and the stellar acting performances by James Fox as the shallow and gullible Tony, Dirk Bogarde as the dutiful and articulate Hugo Barrett, Sarah Miles as the enigmatic and seductive Vera and Wendy Craig as Tony`s loving and suspicious girlfriend Susan are crucial aspects which characterizes this interior thriller about the darkest sides of human nature.

This BAFTA Award-winning film from the British New Wave is an internal psychological drama with an efficient shifting pace and artful milieu depictions which provides a detailed examination of the British class system. An ardent, acute and captivating masterpiece from the director who was blacklisted by Hollywood during the McCarthy Era in the 1950s for supposedly having attachments with the Communist party and exiled to England where he made most of his films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars STUDIOCANAL EDITION IS THE BEST FOR THIS CLASSIC!, 8 Feb 2014
By 
HAN XIAO "heaven851102" (CHINA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Servant 50th Anniversary Special Collectors Edition [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
ALTHOUGH IT WAS NEARLY IGNORED AT ITS TIME, "THE SERVANT" CONTINUED TO SHINE DURING THE FOLLOWING YEARS AND EVERYTIME I WATCH IT, I ALWAYS FIND MORE DETAILS AND FEEL GREAT ABOUT THE CAST AND CREW'S ACHIEVEMENT. I BEGIN TO MISS THAT TIME WHEN EVEN UNKNOWN FILMS SPARKLED BRIGHTLY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ignore the nonsense written in the official Amazon "review", 28 Jan 2014
By 
SJT (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Servant 50th Anniversary Special Collectors Edition [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
It tells you that a) "the only extra feature is the theatrical trailer", and that there's b) "No sign of remastering on either sound or vision"

I have this Studio Canal release. Fact: it has over 3 and a half hours of extras on it, including umpteen interviews and several documentaries. And it has been exhaustively remastered frame-by-frame, so that it bears not a speck of print damage or instability, and in all likelihood never looked this good in cinemas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pinters best., 4 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Servant 50th Anniversary Special Collectors Edition [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Harold Pinter brought to the big screen with a classic cast. Show the power play in a household - whilst it is fun in parts it is also a tough watch which will polarise modern viewers liking or dislikening of the movie. There are substantial bonus content that makes for interesting viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bogarde at his evil best, 24 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Servant [DVD] (1963) (DVD)
Bogarde is fantastic in this movie.
Would recommend for viewing by Bogarde fans. The story line is wickedly contrived.
Nothing more to add.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb3ff5258)

This product

Servant 50th Anniversary Special Collectors Edition [Blu-ray]
14.54
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews