Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant
We'll worth watching keeps you going right to the end I don't want to give anything away so just watch and be kept glued to the tv
Published 8 months ago by kevin

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The very definition of `slow burner'
Actually, a `slow burner' denotes something that takes a while to get going. Sadly, `The Echo' goes so slowly through most of the film, that you're probably asleep by the time the last act (and by `last act' I mean `last few minutes') comes along (either that or turned it off).

The film follows a man recently released from prison, who returns home to find all...
Published 14 months ago by Albatross


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The very definition of `slow burner', 14 Jun 2013
This review is from: The Echo [DVD] (DVD)
Actually, a `slow burner' denotes something that takes a while to get going. Sadly, `The Echo' goes so slowly through most of the film, that you're probably asleep by the time the last act (and by `last act' I mean `last few minutes') comes along (either that or turned it off).

The film follows a man recently released from prison, who returns home to find all sorts of spooky goings on in his apartment. The film start predominantly with him wandering from room to room, trying to work out where various noises are coming from. It is nicely shot, which does give it a suitable creepy atmosphere and, every now and again, there is the odd eerie scene.

However, it's all too little and not often enough. Whatever spookiness is too sparse to really be bothered about. The ending isn't bad. There's the obligatory `twist' (or should I say `explanation'?) regarding what's going on, but, by the time it happens, will you care?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 26 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Echo [DVD] (DVD)
We'll worth watching keeps you going right to the end I don't want to give anything away so just watch and be kept glued to the tv
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Echo, 30 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Echo [DVD] (DVD)
Gripping atmospheric ghost story on the possession theme which builds slowly to a dramatic finish. Well acted and enjoyable movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars scary and suprisingly, suprising!, 12 Jan 2014
This review is from: The Echo [DVD] (DVD)
I was expecting this film to just be a really low budget cheap thriller, but I was really surprised really exceeded my expectations.
Good scares, good plot, good acting, recommended to any horror fan in need of a good scare.
All on all a substantial film that will Echo in your mind for days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars BOBBY, I NEED YOU, 23 July 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Echo [DVD] (DVD)
Bobby (Jesse Bradford) is out on parole for manslaughter. He is on his best behavior as he tries to get his life together. He starts to see his ex-girlfriend (Amelia Warner) on a friend basis. He has moved into the apartment that his mother lived and died in. The other tenets are not receptive to him. Bobby is haunted by dreams of his dead mother and hears strange noises no one else hears except for Joseph (Pruitt Taylor Vince) who, like the rest of the tenets, seems a bit off.

The movie finally escalates when he intervenes in a domestic issue that takes place in the adjacent apartment. The film has a haunting "Juon" quality about it. My biggest complaint is that the build-up is too slow. I got bored waiting for this film to take off. Jesse Bradford plays a rather lame Bobby.

F-bomb, No sex, or nudity. Violence to women.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 19 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Echo [DVD] (DVD)
i really enjoyed this film tension right from the start to finish and scary i loved it kept me glued and tensed all the way thorugh and i knew it would be good as it was from the producers of the ring and the grudge
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not to great, 18 Feb 2014
By 
Miss B. D. Harris "Bernie H" (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Echo [DVD] (DVD)
A bit dated, stayed up late to watch this, should have gone to bed!!!
Film predictable, acting not so good. I watch quite a few horror and ghost film's, this one I would not recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Scary and thoughtful haunted horror, in equal measures, 6 Aug 2013
By 
Mr. J. Ryden (In your mind, in the part you've forgotten about.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Echo [DVD] (DVD)
I knew The Echo would be worth a watch with Jesse Bradford in the lead; an impressive filmography already under his belt. Bobby newly released from jail for a yet unknown crime, goes to live at his since-departed mother's apartment as per his parole conditions.

Before we even get to the horror film proper, The Echo does well from the outset of depicting a man whose life has been put on stasis while everything around him has changed beyond recognition; discovering his stigma as old-friends no longer want to associate with him, and employers wanting to give him a wide berth. In this regard it's definitely one-part social commentary, exploring crime and punishment (or rather the effects of on the perpetrator).

Of course, once Bobby moves in, things begin to go awry as things go bump in the night. What I liked about The Echo was an indistinct air of things not being quite right, even in the scenes where nothing scary actually happens; mainly down to some terrific camerawork which borders on the surreal at times. What it lacks in out-and-out gore it more than makes up for in chilling scares.

Likewise, the music is effective yet minimal. The Echo eschews the use of a loud, discordant score to cue-card the bits where the audience is supposed to jump. Here it used to provide a subtle otherworldliness to compliment the deft cinematography.

In essence, it's more of a spooky whodunnit; first to find out what actually happened to the mother, and to uncover the secrets that lurk within the apartment block before he himself falls victim.

'The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother, 4 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Echo [DVD] (DVD)
I watched it right to the end and thought, why did I bother. It just didn't do it for me. Started off promising, then just petered off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars "Echo",as it entered the trash can?, 25 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Echo [DVD] (DVD)
This is going to be of actually no help at all,but when I i fall sleep watching a movie theres gotta be a reason?"bored"..Im one for giving a movie a chance,ill give it an hour at least,but,this was just bumps and knocks on the walls for going on an hour,sorry,but,it got the bin treatment!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Echo [DVD]
The Echo [DVD] by Yam Laranas (DVD - 2013)
2.16
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews