Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


129 of 133 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!
The House of Cards Trilogy must surely be rated as one of the best contemporary dramas ever made. Ian Richardson's performance is simply breathtaking, and Andrew Davies' scripts the work of a true genius. As well as the stunning central performance by Richardson, the cast and crew as a whole deserve great praise.
And there's a bonus in the shape of commentaries...
Published on 22 July 2004 by Ms. S. Mail

versus
15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Total lack of information
This excellent series is marred by the fact that the three DVD's have no marking on them to indicate which is the first, second or third in the series. In addition I have discoverd that they are double sided, again with no indication to say so. How are we supposed to kjnow which DVD we need to load into the player if we have nothing to tell us on the DVD? Had I known this...
Published 16 months ago by Peter Blache


‹ Previous | 128 29 3049 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Classic BBC at its best, 13 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
They don't make them like this any more.. actually they do but in Denmark (Borgen, the Killing etc) You may think that I couldn't possibly comment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Political Fantasy, 25 Mar. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If the intention was to provide dramatic impact in this trilogy it certainly succeeded, murder, explicit sex the venality, ambition and dishonesty of political life all combined to produce a very watchable if rather contrived storyline. What rescued the series for me was the superb acting of the late Ian Richardson supported by a truly talented supporting cast. Richardson's portrayal of Francis Urquart as a politician driven by a lust for political power and his cool unemotional pursuit of that power was truly enthralling television.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best series ever made, 8 July 2013
Fantastic! I'm not sure how I've managed to not watch this series until now. Brilliant stuff. Watch it, watch it now. Wait a day, watch it again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Politics dont change!, 2 May 2009
By 
J. R. Ely (Lincolnshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really enjoyed the 1st series of this, but never got to see the last two. Well worth the wait. probably a bit to near the truth for polititions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars State of Play owes alot to this gem!, 14 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: House of Cards [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
Fantastic, still love it and Richardson is positively reptilian.Love the way he talks to camera. Also the 80's vibe still feels relevant today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining and thought provoking with brilliant acting by Ian Richardson, 29 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: House of Cards [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
Entertaining and thought provoking with brilliant acting by Ian Richardson. We already have this collection and bought this one for a friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent - One of the best, 17 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant series. Keeps you interested all along with twists and turns when you least expect them. Ian Richardson gives a masterly performance
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As brilliant as I remembered it., 2 Jan. 2015
By 
Aunty Anne (Cumbria England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The headline says it all. This is compulsive viewing at it's best. But this man is so evil. And so is his very schemeing wife. Lady Macbeth?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You might think that, 13 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent series which has stood the test of time. How little changes, particularly the morality of politicians. Terrific entertainment. Buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great story, 18 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm sure everone buying this will have seen it already, so you know what a gripping plot and fantastic characters await. Indulge yourself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 128 29 3049 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

House of Cards [DVD] [1990]
House of Cards [DVD] [1990] by Ian Richardson (DVD - 2013)
£7.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews