Customer Reviews


477 Reviews
5 star:
 (379)
4 star:
 (55)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


128 of 132 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!
The House of Cards Trilogy must surely be rated as one of the best contemporary dramas ever made. Ian Richardson's performance is simply breathtaking, and Andrew Davies' scripts the work of a true genius. As well as the stunning central performance by Richardson, the cast and crew as a whole deserve great praise.
And there's a bonus in the shape of commentaries...
Published on 22 July 2004 by Ms. S. Mail

versus
15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Total lack of information
This excellent series is marred by the fact that the three DVD's have no marking on them to indicate which is the first, second or third in the series. In addition I have discoverd that they are double sided, again with no indication to say so. How are we supposed to kjnow which DVD we need to load into the player if we have nothing to tell us on the DVD? Had I known this...
Published 14 months ago by Peter Blache


‹ Previous | 124 25 2648 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Top class, 11 May 2014
By 
Mr. L. Woolcott "lozza" (essex, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A brilliant story, well told, and has some very funny bits.
Ian Richardson is brilliant in the lead role... a male Maggie Thatcher.
Devious lot of liars, and manipulative people hell bent on power...a great watch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More BBC, more, 21 Aug. 2009
By 
Mrs. J. Challoner (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A look behind the scenes of government - can you believe all that you see? Fast moving story - excellent acting. Don't know how we missed it the first time round. Double-sided discs confused us - we started on side B!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great. Thoroughly enjoyed this., 21 Oct. 2014
Great. Thoroughly enjoyed this. Watched it for the first time years ago but had forgotten some of the detail. Engaging as the first time I saw it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BBC television at its best. Ian Richardson as FU is as good a ..., 2 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
BBC television at its best. Ian Richardson as FU is as good a performance as you will see. A production that will have you on the edge of seat throughout and impatient for the next episode. Would highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars House of Cards, 14 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Iain Richardson was tremendous in this trilogy. Although it was many years since the TV version, it was still fresh, and I always hope that television poducers will produce many more excellent series that this one.,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Journey of Deceit, 16 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A well-scripted cliffhanger with a superb principal actor - Ian Richardson - supported by excellent colleagues, which as soon as you view the first episode, you will want to continue watching until the finale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Engaging look at the inside of the political theatre, 11 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Within the limitations of time and space this gives an interesting view regarding the lack of ethics and morality in the political scene today - a clear insight into the sole objective of politicians - power.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars History repeating itself., 18 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent portrayal of the inside of politics. Believable and ruthless. Very exciting, very plausible. I shall watch this DVD set again and again in case I missed something. Ian Richardson at his very best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the house of cards trilogy, 23 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i received this quickly and in very good{new}condition,i really like this.im watching it now and theres no problems so i can reccomend this,its pure genius.im looking forward to the new american version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This trilogy is completely absorbing. The casting, direction ..., 11 Aug. 2014
By 
K. Hudson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This trilogy is completely absorbing. The casting, direction and script are outstanding. A very memorable performance and well worth keeping for subsequent viewings, possibly 2 years apart.
Keith
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 124 25 2648 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

House of Cards [DVD] [1990]
House of Cards [DVD] [1990] by Ian Richardson (DVD - 2013)
£6.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews