Customer Reviews


449 Reviews
5 star:
 (354)
4 star:
 (54)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


126 of 130 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!
The House of Cards Trilogy must surely be rated as one of the best contemporary dramas ever made. Ian Richardson's performance is simply breathtaking, and Andrew Davies' scripts the work of a true genius. As well as the stunning central performance by Richardson, the cast and crew as a whole deserve great praise.
And there's a bonus in the shape of commentaries...
Published on 22 July 2004 by Ms. S. Mail

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Total lack of information
This excellent series is marred by the fact that the three DVD's have no marking on them to indicate which is the first, second or third in the series. In addition I have discoverd that they are double sided, again with no indication to say so. How are we supposed to kjnow which DVD we need to load into the player if we have nothing to tell us on the DVD? Had I known this...
Published 11 months ago by Peter Blache


‹ Previous | 1 245 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

126 of 130 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 22 July 2004
By 
Ms. S. Mail "possibly comment" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The House of Cards Trilogy must surely be rated as one of the best contemporary dramas ever made. Ian Richardson's performance is simply breathtaking, and Andrew Davies' scripts the work of a true genius. As well as the stunning central performance by Richardson, the cast and crew as a whole deserve great praise.
And there's a bonus in the shape of commentaries over the first episode of each of the three series by Richardson, Davies and Producer Ken Riddington, which are both enlightening and at times amusing.
Would I recommend the purchase of this DVD set? You might very well think that...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


160 of 166 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellence in television, 15 April 2006
By 
Jason J. Wood - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The House of Cards saga is a tremendous achievement in television: expert direction including the use of 'piece to camera' monologues, beautifully constructed tension and an acting triumph by the main player, Ian Richardson. If shows like the West Wing capture our ideal politics, then House of Cards drenches it all in filthy water.

It is the story of naked, ruthless ambition in British politics that shows a staggering realism whilst at the same time allowing for dramatic flights of story. Richardson's Urquart is beautifully played, and the character makes me uneasy in the same way that the Shield's Vic Mackey does: you absolutely know he's a villain, he has done despicable things but damn.

My only wish for television these days is that they invest in drama like this: it is a thoroughly watchable drama, and gets the full five stars for being so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Post Hoc Ergo Propter Hoc, 25 Oct. 2008
Sorry about the title but it seems so apt - "After it, therefore because of it". I first saw this series when first broadcast way back when and I remember it being brilliant. However I have, in similar fashion, bought other series and programs from my dim and distant past released on DVD and been bitterly disappointed when I watched them (testament to a fading memory or a desperate attempt to cling on to my childhood). One or two exceptions (Edge of Darkness and Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy being most notable) kept my faith. So, I bought it, unwrapped it, placed it in my DVD player and instantly lost the next 4 hours of my life! It is quite simply the best British TV drama the BBC has ever produced! Forget period time pieces (yes, ladies, even Mr. Darcy climbing out of a lake) this is the most engaging TV I have ever seen. Ian Richardson inexorably draws you in to his spider's web of intrigue, you become complicit when he confides in you directly through the camera and you end each episode feeling vaguely guilty and you're not sure why! If you remember HoC first time around, buy it! If you didn't see it first time around, buy it! If you simply appreciate first class, gripping drama and first rate acting, buy it! Otherwise, buy it anyway!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


93 of 98 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the best, 20 July 2004
Everything has been said about the artistic merits of this series. Yes, the acting is fantastic, yes the dialogue is sharp, sarcastic and very eloquent and the characters are just wonderfully entertaining to watch. But there are three main reasons why this series is legendary. First, the actual events overtaking the original broadcast with the resignation of Margaret Thatcher, second, the fantastic Ian Richardson, and third, the direct-to-camera acting of the main character, dragging the audience into his evil deeds. I taped the series when it was broadcast over here in Germany, I bought the tapes from the BBC and finally I own the whole thing on DVD. I know it by heart anyway, because I must have seen it a thousand times, and I'm still not tired of it, because Richardson alone makes this so entertaining.
Although the first installment is widely regarded to be the best, i agree with the first two episodes. They are the best of the whole series, and the finale on the rooftop is just shocking, but the overall best series for me always has been "To play the king" because Michael Kitchen is just fabulous as the monarch and strong opponent to Urquhart. The last series "The final cut" has this air of sadness all through it, and is basically a farewell to Urquharts character. He gets what he deserves for sure, but the viewer is left oddly unsatisfied with the end. It's just sad in my view. Overall it is almost eleven hours of high quality political satire with shocking moments, unforgettable bonmots and the best British acting has to offer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It doesn't get much better than this!, 28 Oct. 2007
By 
Sophie Masson (Armidale, New South Wales Australia) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
We watched this astonishing series over three white-knuckle days, drawn immediately into the corrupt, cynical, ambitious, frightening, murderous, elegant world of Francis Urqhuart as easily as flies drawn into a spider's web! This is so beautifully plotted, magnificently performed and brilliantly scripted that you run out of superlatives. It also has a marvellously intriguing ''alternative history'' feel that works really well because it evokes both the distant past--the trilogy is stuffed full of Jacobean allusions and atmosphere--but also the less distant past, like the post-Thatcher era, and the present. Political thrillers don't get much better than this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Total lack of information, 8 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: House of Cards [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
This excellent series is marred by the fact that the three DVD's have no marking on them to indicate which is the first, second or third in the series. In addition I have discoverd that they are double sided, again with no indication to say so. How are we supposed to kjnow which DVD we need to load into the player if we have nothing to tell us on the DVD? Had I known this was so badly presented I would not have bought it. Shame on you BBC!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You might say that I couldn�t possibly comment ..., 4 July 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
House of cards is a classic (real old school bbc)
It details the rise and rise of Ian Richardson character through the houses of Parliament, a dark and dangerous place that has a lot of sharks and predators waiting for the unwary. As the story unfolds thought his interaction with Susannah Harker's character you find out the he is the biggest predator of them all.
The acting of the two main stars is fantastic, as is the dialog. Giving us such memorable lines as
"You might say that, I couldn't possibly comment" which deserves to go down in history with such lines as "Broadsword calling Danny-Boy"
A great series, of political goings on, a lot darker and griping than The West Wing and the likes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Original & Best, 26 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
PLEASE don't confuse this superlative production with the 2013 US version. The story, plot, players & production was one of the reasons that British TV had such an admirable reputation (alas this reputation has been severely soiled in the last few years as the programme commissioners search JUST for audience ratings of the couch potato generation. These 3 TV series capture all the vileness latent in politics, the dishonesty in business & power brokers & though it catches the era succinctly is also a timeless comment on life. Should be part of the curriculum for anyone studying modern history, business, journalism or politics
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good show, but this release is rather poor quality., 23 Jun. 2011
By 
A. Hosking "A" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I would give this series 5 stars, but unfortunately this DVD is based on the original early '90s telecine, now I wasn't expecting a HD scan akin to what they did with Pride and Prejudice, but I wasn't expecting a transfer from the original telecines either, so rather than going back to the original film reels, it looks to me like they just did a transfer from the broadcast tapes.
This could be to get people to buy it again when they do decide to go back to the original negatives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What excellent drama !, 28 Oct. 2007
By 
Mr. Mg Reynolds "Carry On fan" (Oxfordshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was very well written & the cast did a superb job of depicting the characters from the novel . It is pure Shakespeare the way that Urqhurt talks to the camera and despite how the fact he is so very wicked one cannot help but like this political survival artist . The late Ian Richardson certainly had his finest hour in this season with House of Cards & To Play The King being an interesting critique of the political class , the Royal Family ( more so in To Play The King ) and their relationship with the press barons . The editing is of a high standard and the theme tune catches the powerfull nature of the series admirably . The Final Cut while being above average as a drama is found wanting as it was never going to beat the first two in the trilogy in terms of quality and the stroyline is a bit fantastical and not as true to the novel as House Of Cards or To Play The King . Perhapes by the time The Final Cut was filmed we had all got a little too used to Francis Urqhurt and the threat he posed anyone who stood in his way . Be that as it may this is a fine bit of work from the BBC drama department and Ian Richardson steals the show without a doubt !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 245 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

House of Cards [DVD] [1990]
House of Cards [DVD] [1990] by Ian Richardson (DVD - 2013)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews