Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I've got a song in my head and its driving me mad
Nick Hemming has crafted another set of beautifully melodic, intriguingly lyrical songs. Lovingly produced by Christian Hardy at friend of the band Ray Davies' Konk Studio.

The instrumental flourishes and arrangements created by the band are wonderful and surprising, as we expect from a Leisure Society album. The lovely flute on the beautiful "Sober Scent of...
Published 16 months ago by Johnny Mel

versus
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Clever enough
They are a great band and have written some brilliant songs over the last few years. However, I can't escape a sense of disappointment about this album. Hopes are high after the first two tracks which are great and as clever as usual. After that though, the songs become a little samey and or are trying too hard to be clever, different and witty. Sometimes the melodies...
Published 16 months ago by E. R. Hartley


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I've got a song in my head and its driving me mad, 1 April 2013
This review is from: Alone Aboard The Ark (Audio CD)
Nick Hemming has crafted another set of beautifully melodic, intriguingly lyrical songs. Lovingly produced by Christian Hardy at friend of the band Ray Davies' Konk Studio.

The instrumental flourishes and arrangements created by the band are wonderful and surprising, as we expect from a Leisure Society album. The lovely flute on the beautiful "Sober Scent of Paper", the horns and retro synth sound on first single "Fight for Everyone", the spooky 50s sci-fi opening to "Tearing the Arches Down", harmonica or is it harmonium on "Another Sunday Psalm", the opening catchy vocal "doo doos" and closing jazzy finish to the standout "All I have Seen".

This sounds like a band enjoying themselves, confident in the joy of making music and in their ability to do so, long may they continue.

I cannot wait to hear these tracks live. The snow is melting and the sound of summer is here!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another gem, 19 April 2013
This review is from: Alone Aboard The Ark (Audio CD)
On this, their third album, the Leisure Society explore a more diverse range of influences whilst never straying from the hooks and melodies that have become their calling card. The pastoral pop and folk-with-a-tune of their earlier albums is still here (and good thing too), but Alone Aboard the Arc also gives us a taste of soul with "All I Have Seen", whilst "Tearing the Arches Down" could have been spawned by the pen and plectrum of Carl Barat. The clever and intriguing lyrics that are so characteristic of the Leisure Society are in plentiful supply as always, and the end result of all of the above is an album that more than matches their back catalogue.

I recently went to see the Leisure Society supporting Beth Orton. No disrespect to a talented lady, but boy, did someone get that billing the wrong way round! This band are surely one big break / TV appearance / play list inclusion, away from being household names. Until that day I'll continue to be grateful that I'm one of the select (but growing) band who know of and cherish their work. Hear this album and spread the word!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful melodies + gorgeous arrangements = a brilliant album, 22 Nov 2013
By 
A. Sweeney "I don't care what you call me" (Brighton, East Sussex) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alone Aboard The Ark (Audio CD)
I thoroughly enjoyed The Leisure Society's debut "The Sleeper", but the follow-up "Into The Murky Water" didn't quite hit the same heights, so this third album is a very welcome release indeed, as it is excellent. It's one of those albums that keeps the listener's interest throughout, doesn't contain any filler and has more than a handful of stand-out tracks that keep you coming back to the album again and again. It is actually quite difficult to categorise the type of music that The Leisure Society produce. I would hesitate to call it "pop" of any description because it's the type of music that, whilst it could easily make the playlist of a station like Radio 2, simply wouldn't trouble the singles chart. You couldn't call it "easy listening" either (although it is certainly very gentle on the ear) because it is miles away from the likes of Michael Buble (thankfully!). They remind me of Belle and Sebastian without the lofty tweeness, or, perhaps, The Beautiful South without the pithy lyrics. Some songs are reminiscent of Noah and the Whale's later material ("Fight For Everyone", for example), only much better, but their eclectic nature in terms of instrumentation and arrangements are one of their strengths and the fact that it is so difficult to categorise the music can only be a good thing.

Although this is an excellent album overall, my favourite tracks on "Alone Aboard The Ark" are plentiful. "Tearing The Arches Down" (although it reminds me a little of Queen's "Drowse") is absolutely superb, disjointed guitar solo and all, "All I Have Seen", is a dreamy little waltz-time gem, with a beautiful string section, a melody-line reminiscent of The Housemartins and a gorgeous climax to the track and "Everyone Understands" is a jaunty number that could easily have come from the pen of Neil Hannon. Echoes of The Divine Comedy can also be heard on the excellent "One Man and His Fug", a catchy baroque pop delight, the dramatic "Forever Shall We Wait", with a slight Latin lilt almost sounds like a piece from a musical and the wonderfully hazy "We Go Together" is a perfect end-of-the-evening anthem, complete with a lovely vocal theme to sing along to. Recorded in Konk studio in London, thanks to their friendship with Ray Davies, they have managed to release an album just as strong as their brilliant début which is beautifully arranged and performed, features Nick Hemming's wonderfully crafted songwriting throughout and is a rather pleasurable experience from start to finish. If the lyrics has just a little bit more of an edge to them, they'd probably become one of my favourite bands, but, quite honestly, they're rather good as they are and I'd recommend this one highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another gorgeous album from TLS, 1 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alone Aboard The Ark (Audio CD)
Fast becoming a national treasure to those in the know, The Leisure Society deliver once more. If you haven't yet discovered the band and are partial to beautiful, bittersweet songsmithery then do you ears a favour and buy this immediately. Yes they are that good and you will not be sorry :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alone Aboard The Ark (Audio CD)
Excellent service. Brilliant album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars English pop/rock with wit and understated style, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alone Aboard The Ark (Audio CD)
Good album from a thoroughly unpretentious band. The songs throughout are well structured and occasionally memorable. This album sounds as though it could have been made at any point in the last 30 years. So, unfashionable but still worth of listen and worthy of respect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely album, 28 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alone Aboard The Ark (Audio CD)
Bought this for my parents; very lovely sounding tracks. First time I've heard of this band and I really like their music. Very chilled out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding!, 23 Oct 2013
By 
Scott Wallis "thirdbrother3" (Burton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alone Aboard The Ark (Audio CD)
The Leisure society never fail to impress, and this just builds on previous work. If they visit a town near you, make sure you see them live; Simply fantastic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 27 May 2013
By 
D. V. Oakes (Forest of Dean UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alone Aboard The Ark (Audio CD)
Seriously could be the best Leisure Society album yet. Not a duff track on it. The blend of musical instruments is sublime
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Leisure Society, 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alone Aboard The Ark (Audio CD)
If you like the first two albums , you will like this . Great lyrics , great tunes. Can't wait to see them live in December .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Alone Aboard The Ark
Alone Aboard The Ark by The Leisure Society
Buy MP3 Album7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews