Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars32
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 September 2013
I read this book due to the fact that i had never read any of her work before, but i kept on hearing about her.
I saw an interview on Youtube where she briefly spoke about Ghana. Being Ghanaian it was only natural for me to read this.
A fantastic book detailing her stay in Ghana. Written in simple to read & humourous character standpoint.
There were powerful moments placed all over the book. I particularly enjoyed the moment she described Muhammad Ali & Malcom X almost fighting, due to Malcom X leaving Elijah Muhammad & The Nation...... Great bit of History on Ghanaian Soil.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2011
The books of Maya Angelou are a joy written with humour sympathy and some very understandable anger.
Why can't everyone write like her wonderful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2011
bought for my mum, she loves the series - this book met her expectations and probably exceeded them too :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2016
I can only give praise to her works an excellent writer. A very good read,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2015
Bought for my mother's birthday. A great book from an author we'll miss.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2013
A unique perspective on a very interesting part of Ghana's history, incredibly well written and very readable. But as a mixed race, multicultural person I found the author's expectation that she somehow wouldn't feel like an outsider in Ghana, just because she had the same colour skin...........bizarre and perhaps a little masochistic.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2015
Totally amazing woman with a great life story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2014
The books are very readable and well written. They have an historical value as well, which is why i gave a five star rating. I have read all but the last so far.

My opinion about injustice remains the same; I hate it.

The book bears out my opinion about the various races of people around the world also remains the same: there are good, kind and decent people in all the races and cultures of the world. There are also bigots and bad people from all races of the world. I hate racism and persecution from any quarter.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2015
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2014
I'm a fan of Maya Angelou and this book didn't disappoint! You feel caught up in a really gripping way when she chooses to live in Africa for a while. Admittadly she wanted to be with her son who was recovering from an accident but she was able to live and, indeed, work there. I am not strong on politics but some important issues were touched on and it did not put me off. A great read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)