Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The voice is just sublime!
Moray West's voice is just pure heaven. The clarity of his tone is sublime on each an every track. The album has a broad spectrum of genres so there is something here for everyone. If you like to listen to choristers, then Moray West has to be up there as one of the world's best schoolboy choristers. The fact that the album is for charity makes it even more special.
Published 15 months ago by feelinefine

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Scotland Boy
Quality of singer VG
Content disappointing. Perhaps I should have listened to an extract before purchasing.
Lesson learned for future purchases.
Published 15 months ago by T. Whitton


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The voice is just sublime!, 7 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scotland Boy (Audio CD)
Moray West's voice is just pure heaven. The clarity of his tone is sublime on each an every track. The album has a broad spectrum of genres so there is something here for everyone. If you like to listen to choristers, then Moray West has to be up there as one of the world's best schoolboy choristers. The fact that the album is for charity makes it even more special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the best you have ever heard, 6 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scotland Boy (Audio CD)
This is pure sound. An incredible recording. Musically it is perfection. Forget Scotland - this is international excellence. Moray's voice is unbelievable. Tone, pitch, precision - I have never heard better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great music!, 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scotland Boy (Audio CD)
This is my first review on Amazon, even though I have bought many many other items, but I really feel that this product deserves a glowing review.

This boy's voice is unbelievable and the choice of songs is superb.

My 11-year-old daughter and I listen to this CD all the time.

If you want to inspire young people to love music, buy this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars unique, 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scotland Boy (Audio CD)
There is no affectation or melodrama here, just pure,exquisite, unadulterated sound combined with incredible breath control, silky, sensitive phrasing and emotional sincerity. GET THE CD NOW.There will never be another as by this time the singer is probably a husky baritone.Let us hope that he will be sufficiently confident in his adult voice to come back, as the overriding impression is the sheer musicianship and, unlike the voice that should never change.Sparkling in the upper range and velvety in the lower there is something for everyone on this disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars tops topping!, 15 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scotland Boy (Audio CD)
A stunning album. The beauty, clarity and power of Moray's voice is immense. Having bought a couple of albums for Christmas, I have to say that this one is by far the most moving and authentic. The musical arrangements and orchestral accompaniment are flawless. If you are going to buy one schoolboy chorister album this christmas then make it this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 10 Oct 2013
This review is from: Scotland Boy (Audio CD)
Without any doubt of the best voices I've ever heard.
Do yourself a favour and grab a copy of this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ethereal voice, 4 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scotland Boy (Audio CD)
This album is absolutely beautiful, an audio experience! Moray's voice has such a pure, melodic quality to it, and such a lovely mix of traditional Scottish and classical tracks. My favourite is Miss you which had tears streaming down my face.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moray West Scotland Boy, 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scotland Boy (Audio CD)
This is a type of music which I would not normally have picked out, but having it recommended to me I would recommend it to others. It shows the range of Moray's voice well and it is only a pity that his voice will have changed and so there will be no more showing the versatility of his voice. Maybe he will continue with his singing and if he does I would look forward to hearing it. Also this CD has been produced to raise funds for a young friend of Moray's who was seriously injured in a rugby game. So great music and a great cause!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Talented singer., 28 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scotland Boy (Audio CD)
Moray's voice is something special. A beautiful timbre and his intonation is spot on!
He deserves to go far and I hope we hear a lot more of him.
The selection of songs is very varied and there is something for everyone here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scotland Boy, 17 April 2013
By 
Mr. J. Horan "jamesoboe" (Glasgow, Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scotland Boy (Audio CD)
With this cd, Scotland Boy joins, and adds to the great tradition of the Boy Treble phenomenon, stretching all the way back to the much loved recordings of Ernest Lough in the early part of last century. Indeed, there are several tracks on this album where he matches, and perhaps even surpasses the greatness of Lough. I direct ones attention to the extraordinary singing in the Queen of the Night's aria. Here he demonstrates an absolutely astonishing command of the hugely demanding coloratura, possessing flawless intonation and breath control rare in most boy trebles! Equally exquisite, too, is his heartfelt reading of 'Hear Ye, Israel, from Mendelssohn's Elijah. For those amongst you of eclectic tastes, there is a varied selection of styles of music on this recording to appeal to everyone, from the Baroque, Classical and Romantic, through to Scottish folk songs and beyond. I am impressed how effortlessly, the solo treble, Moray West adapts to each change of genre, bringing a freshness to each track.
Recommended to me by a friend, I found the whole album a great pleasure to listen to, and, if the purity of the Boy Treble is something you enjoy, then I am certain you will find much to admire here. I highly recommend this cd!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Scotland Boy
Scotland Boy by Moray West with The Orchestra of Scottish Opera (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews