Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars11
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
2
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Vinyl|Change
Price:£20.81+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 September 2013
I was very pleased that I was able to buy and instantly play this album in the Amazon Cloud player.

The album is heavy and enjoyable, however it suffers from the same epidemic that almost infected the music industry nowadays: compression at all costs, to make the sound bigger and louder. Because of this reason, "The last spire" is a frozen spire, compared with the warm trees from the Forest of Equilibrium.

"This body, Thy tomb" is my favourite track.

I have all their albums and EPs, I know they said will disband, but I look forward to a pleasant surprise in 10 years time! It would probably be the heaviest, most bizarre and unapologetic album in doom history. Something that... "The last spire" is not. So this cannot be the end, take a break for a decade, but come back guys!

I cannot give less than 5 stars to Cathedral for a memorable career in doom metal.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2014
The last aldum from Cathedral is far better than expected. Actually it hasn't left my cd player yet. An addictive record. Item is in great condition. and well packed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2013
Unfortunately Cathedrals' last effort, after this release they quit.

Doom metal with heavy riffing the spirit of early Sabbath in mind.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2013
This comes as a very good surprise! I wasn't expecting a new record from Cathedral since I thought "The Guessing Game" was to be their last studio release. But, as a matter of fact, it's a good thing that they decided to go for one more, as the two previous studio efforts were quite patchy and were lacking the dynamics, the cohesion and depth of the "Carnival Bizzare/ Ethereal Mirror/ Caravan Beyond redemption" period.
The Last Spure is a clear return to DOOM in all its glory. This is clearly "Forest of Equilibrium"'s little brother. The guitar sounds are amazingly "fat" and "dirty" and the vocals and lyrics instantly bring you to a time when plague was around every corner.
It is a solid album that concentrates on "heaviness" and darkness even if there are a couple of -more than welcome- psychedelic moments.
Cathedral was one of the Doom pioneers/ post Sabbath along with Witchfinder General and St Vitus, and the big difference with those bands and the newer wave (Kadavar, Orchid, Uncle Acid,...), is that they really have a sound of their own and don't just go "stealing/ borrowing" Sabbath riffs.

A very very good album that wipes away the deception of "Guessing Game" and the rather poor offering that was "Anniversary".

Thanks guys for that Last Spire!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2013
received the order, I am very pleased, enjoy the music, thank you very much!Greetings from Russia, and until we meet again!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2015
Not my thing but worth it for the first track!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2013
Such a shame to be reviewing the last Cathedral album, but they've certainly gone out on a high.

Would highly recommend to all the old time Cathedral fans out there.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2013
The last and not my favourite but a very good album. A must for all fans go buy it today.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2016
Excellent lp
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2016
Oooh YEAH!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)