Customer Reviews


262 Reviews
5 star:
 (115)
4 star:
 (44)
3 star:
 (34)
2 star:
 (24)
1 star:
 (45)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


78 of 86 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Battlefield 4 Xbox One Edition Review!
Having Owned and played the Xbox 360 edition of this game I will be coming at this review from a slightly different direction having experienced the 360 version of the game for the past three weeks. If you were someone that waited for the next gen version of Battlefield 4 then you made the correct choice as the Xbox 360 edition had many problems and bugs. Essentially it...
Published 16 months ago by MrE

versus
17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Currently Broken, don't recommend
EDIT: As of 25th February, there still remains a huge bug list.

You still cannot complete the campaign without getting your save game deleted if you play multiplayer.

Annoying, as it is great if you get a few hours problem free.

---

As it has been widely reported in the news, Battlefield 4 is currently broken, certainly on Xbox...
Published 15 months ago by Gaz


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

78 of 86 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Battlefield 4 Xbox One Edition Review!, 22 Nov. 2013
By 
MrE (E Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Battlefield 4 (Xbox One) (Video Game)
Having Owned and played the Xbox 360 edition of this game I will be coming at this review from a slightly different direction having experienced the 360 version of the game for the past three weeks. If you were someone that waited for the next gen version of Battlefield 4 then you made the correct choice as the Xbox 360 edition had many problems and bugs. Essentially it was a mediocre game at best and didn't feel right in the way it played (see my xbox 360 version review to find out more).

To set out my standpoint I picked up my copy of BF4 Xbox One edition at the midnight launch last night and it was the first game I've been trying out, I've played through the campaign just like I did on the 360 version (takes 4-5 hours) and have played around 2 hours of online multiplayer.

This Xbox One version is a definite improvement although problems do exist that were in the Xbox 360 version of the game. Before I talk about any problems in this version (mostly linked to the Multiplayer side of the game) I want to talk about the campaign.

I said in my xbox 360 review of this game how the story in the campaign is nothing special and quite boring; in fact many friends have said to me they struggled to understand what it was all about. Well the campaign is identical on the Xbox One edition of the game to that I played on 360, the only real difference between the two is the graphics which I can confirm look dramatically better and sharper. The Xbox One version may only be running at 720p upscaled to 1080p output but I have to say you wouldn't notice the difference even if it was 1080p native.

I'm a computer technician but not a graphics expert but I was speaking with a friend who works for a big graphics card company, and he told me that upscaling software these days can actually do such a good job that it's unnecessary and sometimes too expensive and time consuming to create every game in 1080p native. Based on what I've seed in Battlefield 4 I have to agree because on Xbox One it looks pretty impressive!

Moving to the Multiplayer, everything works in the same way as it did on the Xbox 360 version but with dramatically improved graphics and far smoother gameplay. Maps are now bigger than their 360 counterpart and feature full 64 player matches, one of the biggest problems with the big scale maps and game types on the 360 version was there wasn't enough players and to be honest you sometimes got bored, meaning smaller game modes such as domination on smaller maps were played more. Rush mode is better in this version too, although I would still argue that the maps are far too open for rush mode, but that's a personal opinion and not fact.

The frostbite 3 destruction engine really does shine in this game and when you bring the skyscraper down for instance, everything renders perfectly on screen, one of the problems with the 360 version of the game is it suffered from bad screen tearing and lag every time something "busy" was going on in the map. Well in this those problems have gone and everything renders perfectly with no graphical defects. Now while graphically this game is a huge stride forward despite not being 1080p native it still suffers for many problems which I find unforgivable to be honest.

Hit detection, where by the game detects when you have hit an opponent just doesn't work! It was bad in the 360 version and it seems the same in this. The hit markers half the time don't appear even though you are plastering an enemy soldier at point blank range and it can take a whole magazine to kill someone while an enemy soldier can kill you with 1 bullet from a pistol. Medical packs disappear and half the time don't work. Quick scoping now exists as it did in the 360 version of the game (seriously, the amount of snipers that try and kill you at point blank is bordering on Call of Duty levels). The queue system still doesn't work so it's pot luck whether you get into a game or not. On the plus side I haven't had any server problems as yet (fingers crossed) and certainly on the bigger game types such as Rush and Conquest I am seeing more people play as support and therefore drop ammo (something nobody did on the 360 version, as everyone played assault classes).

Pros: Fantastic graphics and definitely a step up from the 360 version of the game * Proper 64 player maps (these maps were designed for 64 players) * 5 man squads * Rush mode works better on next gen with more players * seems to be stable online * The Campaign looks far better and the improved graphics really help it

Cons: Boring & Short Campaign Storyline * Hit Detection system is appalling just like the 360 version (which they still haven't patched) * Quick Scoping now exists * while you get use to the new controller layout it's not as good as BF3 * Safe spawning is a luxury and not a right in this game *Loadout menu could have been made easier to use * I've lost XP that was suppose to be saved

VERDICT: It's certainly a big visual improvement over the xbox 360 version of the game and some of the problems such as crashing at loading screens seem on the face of it to have been resolved. The game is automatically better with 64 players as opposed to 24 that was the limit on xbox 360, with game modes such as RUSH and CONQUEST being the biggest beneficiary. Sadly despite the improvement in graphics and indeed the smoothness at which the game goes about its business thanks to the extra processing power available, there are still many problems, bugs and glitches online that need patching.

It's been 3 weeks virtually since Battlefield 4 launched and time is running out for EA and DICE to patch current and new generation versions as there is only so long people will wait before they get peeved off and leave!

As for the Xbox One version of the game I'm going to RECOMMENDED it. It seems the next generation was worth the wait after all and as such this is getting an extra star compared to the 360 version but it still needs work!!!

UPDATE 12/12/2013: There has been a large patch designed for correcting stability issues, by and large things seem to be the same in that regards but i can confirm that hit detection has been improved. There still are issues and sometimes it is now too easy to kill someone but it's far better that the situation we had before where a whole magazine didn't count!!

UPDATE 02/01/2014: Hit detection has improve significantly but many issues remain, i can only hope they get resolved quickly before people give up.

UPDATE 06/02/2014: I have now stopped playing this game and it is only fair that you should know this. The reason being as the numbers of players online have reduced and the overall fun factor has gone. In essence, there are still many issues and EA and DICE evidently can't be bothered to deal with them! I stand by what i say regarding the Xbox One version being better than the 360 version but it's only fair for you to know that i think Battlefield has finally had its day and i say that with a sad heart!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superb Multi-Player Makes Up For Poor Campaign, 7 Mar. 2015
This review is from: Battlefield 4 (Xbox One) (Video Game)
Having just downloaded this from EA Access I couldn't wait to try it on my new Xbox One.

I started with the campaign which overall was a disappointment. While the graphics are great and it feels natural, the AI really lets it down. You have to tell your squad to attack the enemy which is completely flawed. It means at times a member of my squad would be standing right by an enemy, looking right at him but not attacking, while the enemy was ignoring him as well, shooting at me instead. This didn't go well alongside a couple of glitches. There are a couple of nice missions but I was glad I prefer multiplayer games anyway. I'd give the campaign around 1.5/5.

The multiplayer is absolutely fantastic. I've heard there were bugs and glitches soon after launch but whatever they were, I haven't experienced any so I assume they have been fixed. I've always been a huge COD fan buying them all since COD 3 and after briefly trying Battlefield 3, I went back to COD. The huge maps and the ability to choose where to respawn really combine well together and the vehicles are really cool to use, whether driving or shooting. There's a decent selection of game modes with plenty of what I like to think of as "serious" game modes such as Conquest, Rush etc. I do wish there were a couple of less "serious" game modes such as Infected from COD just to play for fun every now and then. However, I'm definitely a fan of this game solely due to the multiplayer and unless COD follows its lead, I doubt I'll be going back. I'd give the multiplayer overall 9/10.

The gameplay and graphics are both excellent. As mentioned earlier, everything about the game from moving to shooting to driving all feel natural and its especially good driving fast across open land with the draw distances going a long way back. The graphics are great, I love the destructible environment which almost always looks realistic and you can see a long way off with the large maps and great draw distances. Nothing is more satisfying than sniping someone from halfway across the map. Gameplay 9/10, Graphics 9/10.

PROS
+ Huge maps
+ Vehicles
+ Graphics/Draw Distance
+ Feels more like a battle than games like COD
+ Maps with varying landscapes (One map has an island which is always fun to secure)
CONS
- Bad Campaign
- No quick fun game modes (just a personal preference)

Overall I'd give it 4.5 stars but I'll round it down due to the poor single player. If you're just getting it for the multiplayer then it'd be 5 stars easily.

(Also thank you to EA Access as I wouldn't have played this otherwise).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Currently Broken, don't recommend, 10 Dec. 2013
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battlefield 4 (Xbox One) (Video Game)
EDIT: As of 25th February, there still remains a huge bug list.

You still cannot complete the campaign without getting your save game deleted if you play multiplayer.

Annoying, as it is great if you get a few hours problem free.

---

As it has been widely reported in the news, Battlefield 4 is currently broken, certainly on Xbox One and PS4.

It is an unstable, glitchy, disconnecting, crashing mess of a product at the moment. EA have stopped all new product development at DICE until they sort it, and EA's shares have gone down as a result.

In addition to it being broken, to be able to currently TRY to play ALL of the matches in multiplayer you have to spend ANOTHER £39.99 for battlefield premium, making the FULL game cost close to £100. If you don't do this, selecting those maps gives you a message asking you to buy expansions.

Oh, and if you plan to play single player whilst you wait for the dust to settle, it keeps corrupting save games and losing your progress.

Unfinished, do not buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ... way before the estimated date which I was very pleased about. The game itself is a great first ..., 28 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battlefield 4 (Xbox One) (Video Game)
Arrived way before the estimated date which I was very pleased about. The game itself is a great first person shooter, From being on foot to driving tanks to flying up in the sky with vipers and jets, Battlefield four came out on Xbox 360, which was the first platform I bought it on.. and it was terrible, from the rendering to the lag, it was not an enjoyable game. Now that I own it on the Xbox one and have played it for a couple of hours I can clearly see that this game was not meant for the xbox 360, but for the next gen consoles. The game runs smoothly and the sounds are so realistic. The graphics are very good for such a vast game, Every now and again you may see a graphical error when a wall collapses for instance or something gets blasted with an RPG.. but nothing that would ruin game play. Overall a great purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ballad of Battlefield 4, 31 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battlefield 4 (Xbox One) (Video Game)
Okay so first let me say that the shipment time was quite good as they shipped from America and it was expected for the 27th of January. However it came a month earlier than expected so a big thumbs up to Global Xpress.

Now onto the actual game. This game was a pile of junk at launch and I got the game last holiday season on the xbox 360 and it had bad net code and game breaking crashes for most of the year. But then came the September patch this year which largely fixed the game and now we're able to appreciate battlefield 4 in its full beauty. Now getting it for xbox one I can see the true beauty with the 64 player servers and beautiful graphics. Definitely a must buy for next gen console owners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic 64-Player Warfare!, 5 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Battlefield 4 (Xbox One) (Video Game)
Amazing, and Epic game. A big step up from BF3 and Warfare on an even bigger scale. Most of the bugs have been fixed and the remainder will be sorted in the big September patch. A must play!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Meh., 29 Aug. 2014
By 
Z. Newton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Battlefield 4 (Xbox One) (Video Game)
This game is just meh. Broken when released and only now just starting to actually work properly almost a year after it's release.

Levolution seems to have taken a backburner in some of the maps despite it being a major selling point for the game, especially in the Naval Strike map pack, which only has one Levolution on Wavebreaker where the submarine explodes.

Lots of peeves with the interface, the main being that you can't edit your loadouts when in the main menu, it has to be done either on a smart phone, tablet or computer via battlelog unless you are in-game which is very irritating because being in-game doesn't give you much time to really get into mixing up your loadouts.

A final minor thing, I find the battle packs really irritating because, since they are random and there are so many weapons, they rarely give you attachments for the weapons you actually use.

That being said the game is graphically beautiful even for a console and the destruction is as good and better than Battlefield 3, sounds are better and the maps are huge as per, with plenty of people playing (though I'm sure there would be a hell of a lot more if they hadn't released the game as a broken mess.)

tl;dr, The game is (now) okay. As far as sequels go: disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What I'm trying to say is this game allows you to CHOOSE how you play and gives you a stupid amount of weapons to play with, 25 Dec. 2014
This review is from: Battlefield 4 (Xbox One) (Video Game)
So you want to take the battle to the skies, tick, in a helicopter or a jet fighter? You choose.
Things getting a bit heavy on the battlefield then jump in a tank or choose from a variety of vehicles including gun boats.
Run round the battlefield as a medic, sniper, mechanic or lay down suppression.
Run round the multiplayer maps solo or use team work, again you choose.
What I'm trying to say is this game allows you to CHOOSE how you play and gives you a stupid amount of weapons to play with.
You can be that twitch muscle warrior, running and gunning or find a quiet spot some distance from the action to do a little sniping
but remember there is always someone looking for revenge. You may not be accurate with your gun sights but can still be useful to the team by laying down fire support. Heck the least you can do is fix my vehicle, that's useful.
Unlike some muliplayer shooters it's not one dimensional, not just about racking up kill streaks, it never presents you with the
same situation twice.
It gets an unfair bashing from those who have not got the patience to master a multi dimensional game, one where running and gunning is a choice but not the only one.
Well worth a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Only recommend if you're a pro-'run and gun'ner, 3 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Battlefield 4 (Xbox One) (Video Game)
From a technical aspect, I can tell this game is pretty solid, but it infuriates me when I try and play it. In Team Deathmatch you and thrown into maps that are too small with poor level layout. This is just a breeding ground for running and gunning, which is just no fun to play (for me anyway), especially when technical issues (i.e. connection, lighting, luck etc) play a major part in who comes out on top.

Conquest is better than BF3 as the Xbox One allows for more plays in a single game than the 360, so the map is not a big empty space. This is going to have to be the game type I stick to due to the flaws of TDM, but some of these do carry over into Conquest.

The killer for me was when I discovered that unlocks are exclusive to the game type that they are unlocked in (i.e. unlock a gun in TDM and it will still be locked in Conquest). I can't understand how someone thought this was a good idea as it means you just repeatedly starting from scratch within the same game, therefore there is little sense of progression.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Soon gets boring, 20 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battlefield 4 (Xbox One) (Video Game)
After playing BF3 on my xbox 360 for over two years, high expectations were held for Battlefield4.
How sorely disappointed I was.
At first run through of the campaign the game seemed to be much alike 3 with a few minor improvements and a different story, truth be told I thoroughly enjoyed the story as it poses quite a challenge.
Once I had finished the campaign I soon went to play online, this is where the game let me down so much, it was just completely different to what I liked about battlefield three. It was so incredibly repetitive, I was sniping at 1000+ meters and getting killed by an assortment of AR's at that range, the maps are far too big for my preference, this cancelled out the 64 player matches for me, I was looking forward to more soldier on soldier combat and got quite the opposite.
This game may be for some, but it is not for me.
Two stars for the huge disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Battlefield 4 (Xbox One)
Battlefield 4 (Xbox One) by Electronic Arts (Xbox One)
£21.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews