Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ATTENTION! ALL LOVERS OF QUALITY MUSIC
This great value collection is a wonderful showcase of the mega talented Ultravox frontman's solo output.
All the hits are here...plus many more classic album tracks that highlight just what a remarkable musician this likeable Glaswegian truly is.
Mainly known as a "synth" star of the 80's "The Works" provides undeniable proof that Midge is also one of the...
Published 17 months ago by G. S. Perry

versus
12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stars docked for faulty pressing
Whilst the quality of the music on these discs is unquestionable, has no-one else noticed the skip after 26 seconds of 'Fields of Fire'? I've returned my initial copy to Amazon and the replacement received today has exactly the same fault.
Published 18 months ago by Mr. M. Townshend


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ATTENTION! ALL LOVERS OF QUALITY MUSIC, 26 May 2013
By 
G. S. Perry (Gosport, Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Works (Audio CD)
This great value collection is a wonderful showcase of the mega talented Ultravox frontman's solo output.
All the hits are here...plus many more classic album tracks that highlight just what a remarkable musician this likeable Glaswegian truly is.
Mainly known as a "synth" star of the 80's "The Works" provides undeniable proof that Midge is also one of the finest exponents of an electric guitar...witness the brilliant solo in "Dear God".
Fantastic stuff from a true icon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great collection, 9 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Works (Audio CD)
Recently caught Midge Ure live & forgot how many great 'solo' songs he had. This is a great collection of his post Ultravox work with some added 12" mixes (remember them). I took a star off rating because the version of "Fade To Grey" is a live version. All in all a great album....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars midge ure at his best, 9 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Works (Audio CD)
All midges finest solo work from his chart topping debut album to breathe.

This is such a great collection of midge on fine form not only do you get his single releases but choice tracks from his first four albums plus extended versions of the singles sadly after a fashion 12" version is not here WHY?

There are obviously a lot of tracks from midges first solo outing with the brilliant She Cried and his cover of Jefro Tulls classic Living In The Past his great version of Fade To Grey which when I bought That Certain Smile way back in the 80's this was on the b side I love it and couldn't stop playing it.

Midge over the years has produced and created some well crafted songs which stand the test of time and show what a versatile song writer he is.

This for me is the best collection at such a great price if you love Midge's solo work this is a must have for your cd collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good, 10 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Works (Audio CD)
I do like this album a lot I love ultravox so I am pleased I brought this album it does not disapoint
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Album, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Works (Audio CD)
This album is truly amazing and i haven't stopped listening to since i bought it. Between this and Ultravox the albums boxed set, i just can't get enough of these guys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Met all expectations, 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Works (Audio CD)
Fast Delivery, great value to have all the cd's that were only on lp's in the past all the best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Midge Ure., 13 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Works (Audio CD)
I have always loved listening to Midge Ure and together with Ultrawox it's great too, but these songs from Midge Ure gives me pleasure, fantastic melodies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great compliation, 19 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Works (Audio CD)
Having been to see Midge live recently I thought it was time to invest in the back catalogue. All the classics are here, cleaned up and remastered. This is a great selection of his hits across the years with some great and rare live tracks including his contributions to Ultravox and Visage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Midge Ure The Works, 1 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Works (Audio CD)
A collection of Midge Ure's solo tracks from his solo albums (not Ultravox) as well as his work with Visage and Thin Lizzy.A very good and comprehensive collection of songs on two CD's. I just love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stars docked for faulty pressing, 6 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Works (Audio CD)
Whilst the quality of the music on these discs is unquestionable, has no-one else noticed the skip after 26 seconds of 'Fields of Fire'? I've returned my initial copy to Amazon and the replacement received today has exactly the same fault.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Works
The Works by Midge Ure (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews