Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more

Customer Reviews

3.4 out of 5 stars10
3.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 September 2013
A long time fan of The Eden House, Bad Men does present a change of mood. Tony Petitt's bass still weaves its magic but there is a poppy, slightly reggae-ish feel to the track. It is catchy but still has the odd signature chord change for you to know it is The Eden House.

Survival Instinct is a revelation. Apparently performed live several times, it is not available on any album, even the new one Half Life. Amandine Ferarri's vocals burn slowly, then soar majestically over the signature Eden House soundscape. One of their best tracks that I can't stop playing and worth the price of the single alone.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2013
'Survival Instinct' is a masterpiece. Amandine Ferrari's voice is amazing on this track, which begins with an ethereal brooding then builds to an intense crescendo then suddenly gone, as if it was never there in the first place. An essential purchase for the Eden House fan.
'Bad Men' is a bit of a departure from the norm - glammed up guitars with attitude. Actually my least favourite track on the Half Life album but still good and suits Monica Richards' edgy vocals.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2013
sadly this is not TEH's finest hour, or two minutes approx. Although it is reminiscent of siouxsies peek a boo at the beginning, it dissolves when they resort to picking words from the dictionary ending in "tion", erection being the favourite that no matter how sultry the voice (you cannot question either the quality of the vocals or the proffesionalism of the musicians) ultimately it says nothing and comes over as a little childish. I still maintain that this is one of the best bands of recent times but sorry to say this is not a recomendation. Not the best example of their art (buy smoke and mirrors!!!) also not the worst youll ever hear.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2013
Great band and great single.
For most songs you can hardly tell that different singers are used.
Tracks 5 and 6 (The Empty Space and Butterfiles) are beautiful songs.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2015
cracking track, well rounded musicians. DO A TOUR IN ESSEX!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2013
Not sure what the others listening to but this CD single has two tracks of approx 5 mins each.

Sounds like The Eden House - What more do you want?
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2013
Unfortunately, this does not seem to be a developement. Looking at EH's past musical achievements, i expected this new single to be something that is a clear progression of those, but this single sounds like a step into a complete different direction, I dare to say almost pop music. Where is the epic and deep athmosphere that I am used to from most of the already published songs ? I sincerely hope that the album will be as strong as the others were from a music point of view, otherwise this was at least for me a disappointment.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2013
Excellent new single from the Eden House. A change from there earlier stuff, more electronic, but still good quality. The single is available as HD download from their website. This is the first CD single I've bought for about 3 years - collectors only? A new album is on the way apparently!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2013
Sounds great, but sadly at 10 mins 01 seconds its not even long enough to fall asleep to.

The songs are nice enough, its the Eden House doing what the Eden House do best and the music works for me, nice to see they haven't changed direction since the first album, but I can't understand why anyone would let their label get away with putting out a CD with only two tracks, its not the eighties any more - and this is not 7-inch vinyl.

Over all it has that feeling of being a teenager fumbling around on the back seat of a car for the first time, its great while it lasts, but its over too soon and leaves you with a glum expression on your face muttering "Was that it?"
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2013
I bought this cd because I like Eden House, but this CD is a complete waste of time - how dare anyone actually release something as short as this & actually expect people to pay good money for it. I feel ripped off & would have to think VERY carefully before buying anything from EH again. From what I've heard the music isn't that great either!!! So my advice would be don't bother & save your money.
33 comments|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.95
£6.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)