Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (61)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PRICELESS..
Its not often you find an album that works perfectly from beginning to end as a complete body. Hearing this for the first time, i was so very concious of the outright 'sensitivity' of the music lyrics & voice- I found it thouroughly engaging. Upon the 2nd & 3rd listen i was gobsmacked at just how beautiful these arrangements were & just how ridiculously talented this...
Published on 30 Jan. 2004 by Melissa House

versus
4 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sorry to be controversial
It is heresey to be critical of Nick Drake's music but having been entranced by Five Leaves Left I found Bryter Later a touch disappointing. Any album with the majestic Northern Sky is in no way bad. At the Chime of a City Clock is also worth the purchase price but the rest feels over produced and a little schmaltzy with one or two fillers.
Published on 14 Jun. 2011 by P. N. I. Jeffrey


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

53 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PRICELESS.., 30 Jan. 2004
By 
Melissa House "melski" (Perth Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bryter Layter (Audio CD)
Its not often you find an album that works perfectly from beginning to end as a complete body. Hearing this for the first time, i was so very concious of the outright 'sensitivity' of the music lyrics & voice- I found it thouroughly engaging. Upon the 2nd & 3rd listen i was gobsmacked at just how beautiful these arrangements were & just how ridiculously talented this person was. Technically-the musicianship is outstanding, acoustic guitars, flute, piano, strings etc.. There is a fairly big orchestration compared to his other 2 albums, the difference being that all of these tracks stand up in their own right. Its an original sound - sort of folky & jazzy at the same time. They set a romantic - reflective mood that is somehow tinged with the slightest bit of sadness- but is ultimately totally uplifting!
Its hard to comprehend someone so young being so developed in his art, 20 - 21 i believe- really! - to be able to articulate his vision & express himself in such a way so as it can be universally experienced; this is what sets him apart from so many.
I cant say that there is a stand out track in particular, with catchy hooks that reel you in- this music doesnt work that way- all i know is that i dont mess around with the 'skip' button at all- but by no means is this just 'background fodder'. The lyrics are beautiful & reflective without being trite or cliched, & reveal a sense of vulnerability & a sense of wonder of himself & the world around him. Its powerful in its understatedness, beautiful & heartfelt. Some may prefer PMoon- a much more sombre minimal affair, withjust Nicks breathy vocals & acoustic guitar- some with a Robert Johnson bluesy feel. Five Leaves has some outstanding tracks but fails to be as consistent as BLayter- my favourite.
If you want a gentle uplifting album to make you reflect the hours away, i cant reccomend this enough. An album i know ill always connect with & for that .. well... its priceless!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gentle Masterpiece, 19 Nov. 2002
By 
Peter Uys "Toypom" (Sandton) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bryter Layter (Audio CD)
The cinematic instrumental, Introduction, opens this treasure trove of an album, and is followed by Hazey Jane II, a lilting dreamy pop number. At The Chime Of A City Clock has its jazzy moments with lovely sax, while One Of These Things First, with its lively piano, is the closest Drake comes to happiness. The wistful and spacious Hazey Jane I is followed by the title track, an elegant breezy instrumental, and the sublime Fly. This version, with its fuller instrumentation, is my top favorite Nick Drake song, displaying the man at his best in its exquisite spirituality. Poor Boy is a jazzy/R&B song with soulful backing vocals, while John Cale's celeste, piano and organ contributions on Northern Sky make this track a classic. Like two of his collaborators, Richard Thompson and Cale, Nick had his own poetic voice from the beginning, and his legacy is being rediscovered by a new generation of musicians. This album is the perfect entry point to investigate Drake's magic. So many styles, but so coherent. Bryter Layter's variety, sympathetic production and breathtakingly beautiful songs make it my favorite by this gifted artist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A spell I happily live under, 26 May 2010
By 
J. A. Harvey (Lincolnshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bryter Layter (Audio CD)
Of the three albums he made in his short life there has always been debate among fans about which is the better, this, or the debut FIVE LEAVES LEFT. As English folk songstress Linda Thompson put it, "Received wisdom is that that BRYTER LAYTER is Nick's best record but Five Leaves Left is equally fantastic". Personally I'm a Five Leaves man, but then I regard that as the best album ever made, and one of life's rarest of things, a straight ten. I often wonder if I would have been so spellbound by his music and the dark mysteries that come with it if he had only made Bryter Layter and PINK MOON. I prefer to think I would, they are still remarkable albums.

You get the feeling from listening to this that the people around Nick were so surprised at the failure of the debut that they decided to put some weight behind the follow up. Manager Joe Boyd once said he didn't have a plan B in the event that Five Leaves didn't break Nick as an artist. The twin plan B strategy they did eventually come up with for this though was brass and backing singers, at least on a couple of the tracks. There is still a mainstay of orchestrated strings and Nick's guitar and voice, and though I prefer the other two albums, it's still completely Nick Drake, and the songs are still earthmoving, and it contains some of his best songs like FLY and NORTHERN SKY.

The Drake trilogy of albums were recorded and released between 1969 and 1971, and then within a few years he was gone. None of the records sold more than 5000 copies apiece during his lifetime. In the generations that followed, millions of us would gradually discover his music and wonder how the hell we had come so far in our own lives without stumbling over it sooner, and why this enigmatic genius had not known success in life. I admit to being forever under his spell, but of all the spells that may possess you, there are none that you would be so blessed to be held captive by as the music of Nick Drake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Six Stars, 13 May 2005
This review is from: Bryter Layter (Audio CD)
I have owned this record for over 30 years and still rate it as one of the most satisfying pieces ever made by anyone, JS Bach included! Northern Sky is achingly beautiful but I can't pick out just one track.
Every time I listen, it is with a sense of occasion. If you don't own it you have a huge, gaping omission in your musical life. No recommendation is too high.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The pinnacle of his short career., 3 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Bryter Layter (Audio CD)
Nick Drake's second album is probably his best, with a greater variance in the style of the numbers and a greater floating quality to the vocals than the first. The musical contributions, including a couple from John Cale, and the arrangements by Robert Kirby are exemplary.
This album has three instrumentals on it, which persuade you into listening for the details and there is a flirtation with jazz on a couple of tracks including 'Poor Boy', but the best track for me is 'One Of These Things First' with its unusual chord progression, mournful lyrics and floating vocals. There is even some optimism on the exquisite 'Northern Sky'. It's not party music and it won't drown out the noise of your neighbour's dog, but for the thoughtful listener this is pure gold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just a unique album., 8 Sept. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Bryter Layter (Audio CD)
This is Nick Drake's most balanced, beautifully played and sung and thus,best work. Whilst'Five Leaves' has some great stuff (and is highly recommended) I feel that as a whole it is quite cloyingly meloncholic.On the other hand I feel this album is very diverse, and is therefore never depressing. 'Pink Moon' could have been his masterpiece but the songs are still rough diamonds, like sketches rather then the finished article. It is also-lets be honest-very very bleak. 'Bryter Layter' is book-ended by instrumentals that give this an album an extra sheen. The album can be viewed as one piece rather then 10 songs. Nick's singing is at it's most alluring, his voice floating rather then forced. I particulary like the vocals on 'One of these things First'; soothing to suit the music. The playing is awesome and the combination of the said voice and the orchestra is a marriage made in heaven. I just feel that everything is beautifully understated. Imagine the album to be like a Seurat, the dots merging into an unforgettable image. A bit of flute here, a piano there. And what image does this album convey? This is why the albums a classic; everyone has their own opinion on why the album is so powerful. I listened to this album before I knew anything about Nick Drakes'tragic life; and it blew me away. How can someone have such a beautiful vision of the world? And convey it through such beautiful music? So the image I had of Nick was that of someone so at odds with the cynical world. Sadly naive. I was not suprised when I learnt about his downfall because hopeless romantics are often undone by a society which can't live up to there dreams. Nick wanted a better world and certainly the superlative 'Fly' and 'Northern Sky' take us to a place far far away, the sort of place you used to dream could happen to you oneday. This work sort of takes you back to the magic land of your innocence. Let it uplift you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfection, 3 Jan. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Bryter Layter (Audio CD)
`Bryter Layter` is the second of Nick Drake's three studio albums and on the face of it seems like his least substantial. 1969's `Five Leaves Left` has more classic tracks while 1972's `Pink Moon` best showcases Nick's melonacholic depression which, rightly or wrongly, is what attracts many people to his legacy as we enter the new Millenium. But careful listening reveals `Bryter Layter` to be a more varied and more complete album than the other two. `Five Leaves ...` is more a collection of ten songs than a complete album while `Pink Moon`, for all its brilliance, is rather limited in theme. `Bryter Layter` is also his most likeable record. The instrumental `Introduction` leads us into the jazzy warmth of Hazey Jane II`. It is by far the most positive track on the album and it is interesting that, when sequencing the album, he chose to follow it with its bleakest track, `At The Chime Of A City Clock`, Nick's tale of dropping out of Cambridge to become a musician. This song contains the morbid but haunting line, `The sunny boy/ With smokes for sale/ Went to ground with a face so pale`. However the mood soon lifts with two of Nick's finest melodies, `One Of These Things First` (also one of his best lyrics) and `Hazey Jane I`. After the instrumental title track we have the shortest vocal track on the album, `Fly`, a stunningly simple boy meeting girl song which is in my opinion shamefully neglected by those compling Nick's epitaph. `Poor Boy`, by contrast is something of an acquired taste. A biting story of a moaning, sorry for himself, street urchin - the `poor boy` of the title. At six and a half minutes it is rather too long and if I had to lose one track from the album it would be this one. It's not bad, it's just not my favourite and I find the backing vocals slightly grating. There are two more tracks on the album but the final instrumental `Sunday` feels something of an anticlimax after the gorgeous, soaring `Northern Sky`, `Bryter Layter`'s most widely acknowledged masterpiece. Put simply, it is one of the greatest love songs ever written. To summarise, `Bryter Layter` is one of the most loved records in my large collection. And if you have put up with my ramblings so far, let me leave you with four final words on `Bryter Layter`. Buy it, buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 13 May 2006
This review is from: Bryter Layter (Audio CD)
I'd never listened to any Nick Drake before, but I'd read glowing reports in Total Guitar magazine's look at his life and work. I bought this album out of curiosity, and what a good choice it was.

From Introduction's simple guitar riff to Poor Boy's choral backing, this album never fails to impress. Nick Drake's true, unique style in terms of both his voice and guitar playing really have a great impact, even in the 35 years since his tragic death.

This album impressed me so much that I eventually bought his final album, Pink Moon, as well. Pink Moon was equally impressive.

Classic, timeless, folk perfection. You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Drake's most upbeat recording, 18 May 2001
By 
Huck Flynn "huckleberry" (northern ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Bryter Layter (Audio CD)
While I prefer Drake's other 2 CDs (Five Leaves Left deserves 6 stars) this contains possibly his best (and most optimistic) love song Northern Sky and an altogether more positive mood typified by "One of these Things First" so that you wonder what went wrong when you listen to "Pink Moon". His poetic sensibilities are as strong as ever and while his brilliant guitar work takes a back seat for much of the time, his voice is excellent especially on Fly and City Clock. The arrangements are confident and inventive - Poor Boy with it's female backing singers, the minor to major key change on City Clock and the superb string, piano and wind accompaniment which is light, jazzy and creative. The instrumentals are very nice but you really miss Drake's wonderful voice and lyrics, so vulnerable and plaintive and yet never self pitying. Northern Sky alone is worth the admission price and it is work like that from Drake which will ensure that another 30 years on, unlike David Gray, good though he is, people will still be listening to him. Timeless magical poetical music. Essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A five star album by all measures., 24 July 2010
By 
Mr. M. L. Hawes "Mitchmusic" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bryter Layter (MP3 Download)
I came upon the work of Nick Drake by accident, having picked up a copy of this album in Fopp records sat nicely in the bargain basement area. I'd found the cover a kind of curiosity and had heard some positive reviews, so thought what the hell...

What then followed has been a kind of gradual realisations that Nick Drake is one of the most important song writers of our times. This album is a perfect example, which, like all of his work is to be taken as a whole rather than a collection of outstanding tracks.

Basically it's Nick, his guitar and some session musicians playing some of the most sublime, dark folk music that you will ever hear and it just flows like a dream from the beginning to the end.

I have a compilation of his work, which is fine and of course, faultless, but in truth, you need, and I mean need all three of his studio albums. No one bought them at the time through Nicks perpetual stage fright and a lack of coverage at the time. But that is no excuse now.

Buy all three albums, stick them on your ipod and listen to them through in a quiet setting with a bottle of wine. I guarantee you'll smile, be transported to a calm and beautiful place and will find the odd tear in your eye, knowing that we may never see the likes of Nick Drake again.

Beautiful is nowhere near close to describing this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bryter Layter [VINYL]
Bryter Layter [VINYL] by Nick Drake (Vinyl - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews