Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mac at his best
A real treasure and highlight of my collection. Love the combination of classic McCulloch and new studio recordings although it's CD 1 (orchestral reworks) that will see the most spins for me.

CD 1 is a relative best of Echo and the Bunnymen with chilling new versions of highlight tracks like Rescue, Nothing lasts Forever, Killing Moon and Bring On The Dancing...
Published 18 months ago by AnnieG

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Is it just me?
I am a long time follower of both Echo & the Bunnymen and Mac's solo work but certainly don't fall into the sycophant bracket.
I find very little to like on either of these albums.
Pro Patria Mori seems a weak (even half-hearted) effort, the songs sound like rehashed versions of songs from The Fountain or Sliding (both of which I liked). I found the lyrics to be...
Published 7 months ago by Simon Levene


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holy Ghosts (Orchestral Reworks from Union Chapel / Pro Patria Mori) (Audio CD)
Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ian mccllouch, 12 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holy Ghosts (Orchestral Reworks from Union Chapel / Pro Patria Mori) (Audio CD)
I played this a few days ago I have lots of Liverpool music black cilla black cast coral china chrises Christians billy fury Gerry and the pacemakers billy j Kramer Frankie goes to Hollywood all the beatles cd`s George Harrison paul McCartney john lennon ringo starr and the real thing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 19 Jun 2013
This review is from: Holy Ghosts (Orchestral Reworks from Union Chapel / Pro Patria Mori) (Audio CD)
Was a little wary that the new album was being bundled with a live album. However, the album is good and the live album is nothing short of excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 29 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holy Ghosts (Orchestral Reworks from Union Chapel / Pro Patria Mori) (Audio CD)
Absolutely love this cd. Some excellent stuff here from ian mcculloch. Adore his bunnymen & solo stuff alike! Great listening material
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good., 3 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holy Ghosts (Orchestral Reworks from Union Chapel / Pro Patria Mori) (Audio CD)
well done ian
can not fault what you have done here,nothing more to on the bloke my hero you are so carnt write anything bad
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Holy Ghosts., 16 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holy Ghosts (Orchestral Reworks from Union Chapel / Pro Patria Mori) (Audio CD)
Great product and transaction. Why do I have to write all these words? Fab artist, music and cd. Was there when it was recorded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great New Album, 21 April 2013
By 
yangtze (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Holy Ghosts (Orchestral Reworks from Union Chapel / Pro Patria Mori) (Audio CD)
Pro Patria Mori ("to die for one's country") is a fine new album and gets all of the five stars. Great voice, great songwriting, great production, with 'Me and David Bowie' being my own personal favourite.

The live stuff I can take or leave; to be honest, some things are best left alone, and that includes stunning music that meant a lot to a lot of people in its original form. Live albums are difficult to carry off successfully anyway; the only one I really like is Thin Lizzy's Live and Dangerous, which to this day is electrifying, but even that was more than touched up in the studio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews