Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well paced gripping yarn
I dashed through all ( to date) of the Marius' Mules series and if you like me are partial to historical action plots with plenty of detail and spice, you'll love this one as much as I do.
Published 9 months ago by J. S. Slaughter

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not to bad a read
its not realy a book you can not put down,you can tell whats coming,maybe next one could be better than this
Published 11 months ago by Mr. T. Fallon


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well paced gripping yarn, 20 Nov 2013
By 
J. S. Slaughter (east sussex , uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thief's Tale (The Ottoman Cycle Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I dashed through all ( to date) of the Marius' Mules series and if you like me are partial to historical action plots with plenty of detail and spice, you'll love this one as much as I do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another winner from SJA Turney, 26 Feb 2013
By 
Parm (A bookshop near you) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Thief's Tale (The Ottoman Cycle Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Review

This latest title from the fantastic SJA Turney felt like a bit of a double edged sword to begin with. I don't read very many books set in
that part of history, there is just to much religion for my liking. That part of history and its events mainly controlled by the church or religion. But I'm starting to change that opinion, finally some writers are making it different. Jack Hight, Simon Scarrow
and now SJA Turney.

The Thief's Tale follows the trials and tribulations of two Greek brothers, brothers caught up in the compulsory conscription of the Ottoman Janissary's. Their lives take a dramatic divergent difference on entering the great city of Istanbul/ Constantinople. Skiouros the youngest, vanishing into the underbelly of the city to become live by his wits and speed. His brother Lykaion conditioned into one of the deadly Janissary's that helped make the Ottoman Empire one of the biggest the world had seen.
The 2 brothers find themselves through a singular incident caught up in the power play for the empire and their lives are soon under threat. Can they run fast enough? should they run, where do they go? what do they do?

Simon Turney once again weaves a fantastic fast paced well researched atmospheric tale that sucks the reader back in time into the mix of the dirty streets and dangerous politics. His skill is always in educating whilst entertaining and this book does it in spades.
I'm very much impatient for book 2 and shall be haranguing him to get it written (once he finishes Marius Mules 5. If you have not read that series you have 4 amazing books awaiting you.)

Highly Recommended.

(Parm... Yes as in Capt Parmenio... read the book you will see. and it still makes me smile now writing this review)

full author Q&A on my blog
parmenionbooks(DOT)wordpress(DOT)com/2013/01/26/sja-turney-the-thiefs-tale-review-and-qa/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Thief's Tale, 31 May 2013
This review is from: The Thief's Tale (The Ottoman Cycle Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I read a lot of historical fiction and because of my interest in ancient Greece and Rome most of my reading is from those genres. So it was with some trepidation that I ventured out of my interest zone and picked up SJA Turney's The Thief's Tale, a tale that takes place in 15th century Istanbul. This trepidation was tempered by the fact that I have read other books by Mr. Turney; most notably the Marius Mules series, and was confident that he could write an excellent story no matter the historical time frame involved.

The story is a fictional account of a power struggle between two brothers vying for control of The Ottoman Empire and how another pair of brothers, one of them a Muslim Janissary, the other a Christian(at least nominally) street thief who find themselves irrevocably involved in a plot to assassinate the current ruling brother. The characters, both main and ancillary, are meticulously crafted as the author has done his research on not only the time period but also of Constantinople/Istanbul. The story flows seamlessly to its exciting climax which ironically involves a true historical fact; a lightning strike that hit Istanbul in 1491.

One of the major story lines reflects one of our foremost contemporary problems, the religious or ethnic intolerance between Muslim, Christian and Jew. Istanbul in 1491 could easily be Teheran or Jerusalem in 2013. The thief often finds himself dwelling on the paradox of three religions that worship the same God and yet are continually at each other's throats competing for supremacy. The author, while offering no insight or solution to this worldwide threatening issue does inject the story with enough ironic situations that made me once again ask the question, why?

As with any good story that has sequels in mind, The Thief's Tale leaves the reader turning the last page and hoping that the sequel has already been written. The Thief's Tale is well worth leaving your genre comfort zone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good and original, 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thief's Tale (The Ottoman Cycle Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Some excellent twist's and turns in this book. Difficult to put down, sad as well. A story of survival that endures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A twisting tale., 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thief's Tale (The Ottoman Cycle Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This is a twisting tale of two brothers taken together by the occupiers of their land. They respond to their plight by following different paths before eventually coming together amidst great danger with a common purpose to right a wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A very enjoyable read, 13 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thief's Tale (The Ottoman Cycle Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
A most interesting and enjoyable read. Both fast paced and informative. Obviously the result of a well researched subject. Another good tale from S J A.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Engaging story, 31 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thief's Tale (The Ottoman Cycle Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Not my normal period of history but the story seemed well researched. Some parts of it however didn't seem to hang together as well as they could and some escapes for the 'hero' were a bit contrived but an enjoyable read never the less.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 25 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It is easy to see why SJ Turney is top of the pile in ancient historical fiction. The book contains rich detail of the times and the narrative pulls you along easily so you become part of the story.
The two initial parallel stories, merging towards the end of the book are superbly done and there is plenty of action, suspense and pleasure in this book one can only say it is a tip-top read. Truly excellent!
Highly recommended historical fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Turney changes direction and did not dissapoint., 25 Mar 2013
By 
Mr. Ray. Brown (Arbroath Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thief's Tale (The Ottoman Cycle Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Simon Turney has produced another gripping story, This time about Istanbul in 1480. The story about two boys one forced to become a janissary the other absconds to become a thief really grabs the imagination,
The eventual plot that they become embroiled in carries one along at a fast pace and gives the reader a sense of the great changes that took place in the Ottoman Empire in the 15th century
Like Turney's other series Marius Mules, he gives a great slant to the period. A Well Recommended Read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Change of time and place but not quality, 6 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thief's Tale (The Ottoman Cycle Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Not a period I am interested in . Not a place Im interested in . So I was somewhat reluctant to read this,any other author and I would have passed it over . Glad I didnt I think he could write about an argument in a trapist monastry and make it thrilling. I ended caring about the charecter and having learnt a bit about the history of the period. Great fast paced read .

Hes now undisputedly up there with the best. Roll on the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews