Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars95
3.5 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£3.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 March 2013
As a "taster" at no cost, assuming you are interested in Heavy Metal, this is worth down loading. There is only one track that I dislike and one I like so much that I am exploring their other works.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2013
What utter bilge, no wonder it's being given away for nothing although to be honest they really ought to be paying compensation for the pain my ears have endured listening to this rubbish. You cannot justify crap music just be saying it's free, if that was the case then go and smack your head against the wall until your head pounds and your ears ring; save on the electric required to download and play this.
It's truly awful and none of these bands can hold their heads up high after their contributions to this embarassment of glitches. The first warning sign is the truly awful album sleeve design - and from there the only way is down. Most of it is just noise, and i am a rock fan so i was doubly disappointed. This does nothing but give rock and metal a bad name, there is nothing on here that will make me seek out any of the artists unless it is to incarcerate them for crimes against my eardrums. I hope this is vol 1. in the same way that listen without prejudice was vol.1 (ie there is no vol.2 planned anytime in the next couple of millennia).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2013
Don't understand all the negative comments. The album is free!!!
If you don't like it don't download it.
This is not to my taste at all but how can I complain?
I know my son will absolutely love it.
Great that Amazon produce a little treat for those that like it.
Even those that don't cannot complain.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2013
If there is one track you like on here, then it must get 5 stars because you're getting it for free....
As an ageing rocker there's stuff on here I've not heard before. Check out the Epica track for something different. Yes, it can be a bit formulaic, but that's what each style of music is - Metal conforms to a formula with minor variations to that basic theme. If you want something truly different try Apocalyptica - Heavy Metal played on Cellos (and very good it is too). To return to this album, if you like your rock hard, fast, heavy, slow, melodic - there's something here for you, for free. Download it, enjoy it and maybe buy someone's album as a result. My son shakes his head at my taste in music - but hey, that's all it is - individual taste. Go on, have a listen. If you don't like it, bin it - you've lost nothing in the process. A cracking metalhead's album.

The Captain.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2013
Firstly, Sylosis are the greatest modern band, period. Unique sound, with amazing musicianship and creative songwriting.
Anthrax, Kreator and Testament are still writing thrash metal masterpieces some thirty years into their careers.
Even with some questionable new additions to their roster, ala Bury Tomorrow etc, NB still have a brilliant, diverse line up of some of the greatest metal bands of this era. And hey, there's still worse metalcore out there.
People rating one star cause they were surprised to hear metal from a metal label make me cry.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2013
It was good to hear some different types of metal music.Anthrax have always been a favourite of mine, but I will check out more from all the other artists
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2013
Except for Anthrax not my cup of tea.
What is with all the growling, even on ballad based tracks.
Too much of the same, not enough variety.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2013
you cant go wrong with a free download of your own kind of music. most of the tracks are not my type of rock music.
I really like the anthrax track that kicks off the album. The second track is ok then the epica track.
the only other track for me is the last track by threshold.
I am not keen on growlers or speed vocals so if you are looking for new bands and want to try before you buy its a good idea to download and have a few listens first
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2013
As a 'Metalhead' of almost 40 years standing, i thought this free download would be a good way to check out some new artists @ the more extreme metal end of my taste. As usual i found some of the more gutteral vocals a little off putting but looking past that found this compilation very interesting. Especially intrigued by the technicality of Messhuggah. Some of the acts also had a pretty 'old school' sound too, Grand Magus for one. Better than expected
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2013
Nothing here will change your life, but neither will it offend or bore you.
A range of rock and metal styles, from a range of bands on the Nuclear Blast label.
Energetic tracks from familiar names such as Kreator, Hatebreed and Anthrax, with a number of lesser known bands providing sturdy support.

A thorough overview of current NB acts, good fun, and a free download!

Thanks, Nuclear Blast and Amazon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)