Customer Reviews


543 Reviews
5 star:
 (328)
4 star:
 (105)
3 star:
 (46)
2 star:
 (32)
1 star:
 (32)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IM3
This is not the best of the trio, but a darn good movie none the less. Hot Pepper kicks some butt. Watch this if you have not done so already.
Published 4 months ago by derek timbrell

versus
14 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Deeply Flawed Film Which Decimates the Source Material
Iron Man 3 (IM3) is a somewhat tricky film to review, as, looked at in isolation, it's not a terrible movie, nor a great one, it's simply okay, but has some smart dialogue some decent action sequences and the odd good twist. However, you can't looked at it in isolation, neither what has gone before in the film franchise, nor, crucially, from the source material...
Published 7 months ago by Jon Rosenberg


‹ Previous | 1 255 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IM3, 3 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Iron Man 3 [DVD] (DVD)
This is not the best of the trio, but a darn good movie none the less. Hot Pepper kicks some butt. Watch this if you have not done so already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars IRON MAN 3 [2013] [3D Blu-ray + 2D Blu-ray] [UK Release], 18 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
IRON MAN 3 [2013] [3D Blu-ray + 2D Blu-ray] [UK Release] VISUALLY GORGEOUS! TRULY TERRIFIC!

Marvel Studios [Marvel Avengers Assemble] unleashes the best Iron Man adventure yet with this must-own, global phenomenon starring Robert Downey Jr. and Gwyneth Paltrow.

When Tony Stark/Iron Man finds his entire world reduced to rubble, he must use all his ingenuity to survive, destroy his enemy and somehow protect those he loves. But a soul-searching question haunts him: Does the man make the suit… or does the suit make the man? Featuring spectacular special effects, Marvel’s Iron Man 3 explodes with exclusive Blu-ray content, including Gag Reel, Deleted and Extended Scenes and never-before-seen Marvel short film.

Cast: Robert Downey, Jr., Gwyneth Paltrow, Don Cheadle, Guy Pearce, Rebecca Hall, Jon Favreau, Ben Kingsley, James Badge Dale, Stephanie Szostak, Paul Bettany (Jarvis voice), William Sadler, Dale Dickey, Ty Simpkins, Miguel Ferrer, Xueqi Wang, Thomas Roberts, Bill Maher, Joan Rivers, Serdar Kalsin, Joseph Velez

Director: Shane Black

Producers: Kevin Feige, Jon Favreau, Victoria Alonso, Stephen Broussard and Louis D'Esposito

Screenwriters: Drew Pearce and Shane Black

Composer: Brian Tyler

Cinematography: John Toll

Resolution: 1080p

Aspect Ratio: 2.40:1

Audio: English: 7.1 DTS-HD Master Audio, English: 2.0 Dolby Audio Description, French: 5.1 DTS-HD HR, Flemish: 5.1 Dolby Digital and Russian: 5.1 Dolby Digital

Subtitles: English, English SDH, Arabic, Bulgarian, Dutch, Estonian, Greek, Latvian, Lithuanian, Russian, Ukrainian and French

Running Time: 130 minutes

Region: All Regions

Studio: Paramount Pictures

Andrew’s Blu-ray Review – Probably the most powerful film for action addicts this year ‘IRON MAN 3’ blazes the screen in 3D. Robert Downey Jr. outdoes his last outing of the major action hero with his strong presence and tongue in cheek wit. Whether you are a fan of Marvel or just looking for a great adventure film, check this one out. It’s the film that keeps giving with chat way after you’ve left the theatre, but don’t give away the surprise ending and stay for a last word at the end of the credits.

In this 3rd sequel of ‘IRON MAN’ we find Tony Stark has invented a new way to don his impenetrable suit of armour and a room full of new fashions. He’s on top of the world living with Pepper Potts [Gwyneth Paltrow] the love of his life in his home and new headquarters at Stark Industries. Flash back to the 1990’s at a science convention and we are introduced to scientist Maya Hansen [Rebecca Hall], a previous girlfriend of Tony Stark’s. During an elevator ride inventor Aldrich Killian [Guy Pierce] jumps in wanting a meeting with Tony Stark to show him his new creation, but he gets sloughed off.

Flash back to today and Pepper Potts meets her romantic rival Maya and then gets led to a meeting with the now wealthy Aldrich Killian as he shows her his newest creation of developing the brain. In the meantime, an ugly Middle Eastern despot The Mandarin [Ben Kingsley] has reared up in defiance to the United States Government’s killing of innocent people in his county. He has vowed to kill the president and do the country mortal harm. When Iron Man swings into action and his side kick Colonel James Rhodes [Don Cheadle] gets caught up in an insidious plan to blow up America, the fate of the world hangs in the balance.

The excitement in this film, especially in the 3D version reaches new heights, but Iron Man has scouted to the top of my list for these comic book heroes. Director Shane Black who helped write this sequel, hangs it all out with some very creative scenes showing the dismantling of Stark Enterprises seaside building, an exploding set that includes huge cargo cranes, along with several bombing locations including the Chinese Theater in Los Angeles. Tony Stark is an uncontrollable child in a toy shop busting up everything he can get his hands on.

The computer graphics (CGI) is outstanding, especially combined with the 3D effect. Showing Stark Enterprises coming apart floor by floor, walls against walls and cement blocks breaking apart as they tumble into the sea (and that’s only one dramatic scene). We are treated to several unimaginable CGI scenes as director Shane Black turns his magic on the body suits for Iron Man, a visual of the inside of the brain showing the brain synapses and the neurotransmitters and receptors in all their glory, glowing antagonists and much more. ‘IRON MAN 3’ has one of the best uses of CGI to date with not much more that can rival this ‘Marvel’ous film.

There’s not much more I can say that hasn’t been said already about the excellent performance of Robert Downey Jr. in this role during his four (counting The Avengers Assemble) picture run and no one else will ever play the character better than he. For Robert Downey Jr. it’s that special look in his eyes when he sees danger and you can see his train of thought as he looks the situation over on how he’s going to avoid it. It’s also his quick intimidating stare followed by a witty glance and a knowing look of satisfaction that makes him the only important person in the room.

All the film’s cast is brilliant with character creations, adding another reason why you’ll be tell your friends and relations that this is a MUST see 3D Blu-ray disc. Guy Pierce is the top of his game with a character that changes over time and intimidates those who he knows are under his control. When Guy Pierce meets up with his equal however, there’s always a grudge to settle. Taking on the role of the mad The Mandarin Ben Kingsley makes this character vicious at first then despicable. About to meet his maker however, he’s not quite up for the fight. No one can play Pepper Potts except Gwyneth Paltrow with her sultry look, sweet as candy smile and a body to match. I’m hoping Gwyneth Paltrow will be returning for Iron Man 4 and especially of course Robert Downey Jr.

Blu-ray Video Quality – The encoded stunning 1080p image with the aspect ratio 2.40:1 transfer to Blu-ray is totally excellent. Colours are properly saturated and the CGI and physical effects were perfectly blended – in fact, the bonus features reveal how much of the film was made using physical sets and effects, and especially the stunning CGI effects.

Often, I use the original ‘IRON MAN’ Blu-ray for demos. It's hard to imagine that could be topped, but here we are. Overall, I found this film's palette to be a bit on the dark side sometimes, but that's not a bad thing. ‘IRON MAN 3’ is still an absolute feast for the eyeballs. There are multiple superhero suits to ogle and explosions happen both in the air and on the ground, all of which look great. Even during some of the film's most chaotic moments, the detail is superb and the colours sparkle. Those close-ups on Robert Downey, Jr.'s face show off a ton of detail, including pores and facial hair, that is why this 3D Blu-ray is something that will make your jaw drop with the amazing images you will experience.

Blu-ray Audio Quality – ‘IRON MAN 3’ delivers a no-compromise 7.1 DTS-HD Master Audio channel soundtrack. The film was originally mixed in Dolby Atmos for theatrical release, which is impossible to duplicate in a home theatre environment. However, the translation down to 7.1 channels for home release was done very well, capturing the spirit of the theatrical mix.

The centre channel dialogue was very well-balanced against the main and surround channels. The surround channels and subwoofer are definitely active throughout the film, providing both definitive directional cues as well as excellent sonic immersion with no detectable between-channel audio dips. Also, this film also features one of the best blending of effects on Blu-ray that I have heard - just the right amount of punch when needed, without being overbearing. If you are looking for a great 3D Blu-ray Disc to show off the capabilities of your home theatre system – then ‘IRON MAN 3’ is definitely the one to consider.

Blu-ray Special Features and Extras:

Audio Commentary with Drew Pearce and Shane Black: Director/co-writer Shane Black and co-writer Drew Pearce provide a complete and thorough rundown of all things ‘IRON MAN 3,’ with a rapid-fire, dryly funny commentary that slips humour amidst its insight to engaging, eventually revealing ends. The discussion that evolves is quite fascinating too, as it avoids shot-by-shot dissections in favour of broader thematic, philosophical, narrative and cinematic lectures that shed light on a more thoughtful, textural and explorative ‘IRON MAN 3’ than any of us may have realised.

Deconstructing the Scene: Attack On Air Force One: Jump into action with the stunt-team skydivers in this close-up look at creating one of the movie's most memorable scenes [HD] [9:00] It's hard to believe how much of the Air Force One scene was shot practically, and this scene breakdown documentary reveals just how much time, effort and ingenuity went into making one of the film's key action sequences as effective as it is.

Exclusive Behind-The-Scenes Look – Marvel's Thor: The Dark World: Experience the spectacular new worlds, unforgettable characters, and pulse-pounding thrills of the upcoming blockbuster movie [HD] 2:00] Short but sweet, this exclusive glimpse at Thor's upcoming sequel is a satisfying – albeit truncated – tease that left me begging for more. Don’t hole me back!

Marvel's Iron Man 3 Unmasked – Join cast and crew for a crash course in epic movie-making, Marvel style [HD] [11:00] A brisk behind-the-scenes documentary that offers a lot of great information before wrapping much too quickly. Still, it's well worth watching, and serves as a nice appetiser before digging into the disc's commentary.

Gag Reel [HD] [5:00] Robert Downey Jr. gets his Tony Stark on, Gwyneth Paltrow drops a few censored F-bombs, Don Cheadle cracks up, and the rest of the cast join in the hijinks in this semi-decent outtake montage.

Deleted and Extended Scenes [HD] [16:00] A rather lengthy laugh a minute package with cuts, extensions, improvisations, outtakes, and more traditional deleted scenes; some good, some hilarious, some wisely exorcised from the final film.

Finally, you have to hand it to Robert Downey Jr. The man owns the Marvel Cinematic Universe at this point, and it's hard to imagine it without him. Still, Tony Stark will live on being a really funny man, and if ‘IRON MAN 3’ is to go by any indication, there's plenty of room for more films, more stories, more villains, more iron-heroics and more Avengers-free missions to come. With Paramount Pictures Blu-ray release, sure steals the show here, with a perfect AV presentation born from a terrific transfer and a powerhouse 7.1 DTS-HD Master Audio surround track. Yes, the 3D experience is for my mind a terrific rollercoaster experience to make you totally drained and totally exhausted by what you view, and yes, some extra supplemental that has added even more value to the package. But with an audio commentary (one of the best I've heard in some time), two brilliant documentaries, sixteen-minutes of deleted and extended scenes, and much much more, so making ‘IRON MAN 3’ 3D comes highly recommended...especially in the 3D experience, to make it THE must have to add to your Marvel Collection release. I also hope more of these 3D films get released, especially anything with Robert Downey Jr., who is IRON MAN and we can believe a man can fly and so again I am honoured to add another 3D film to my Blu-ray Collection. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Andrew C. Miller – Your Ultimate No.1 Film Fan
Le Cinema Paradiso
WARE, United Kingdom
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Deeply Flawed Film Which Decimates the Source Material, 30 Jan 2014
This review is from: Iron Man 3 [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Iron Man 3 (IM3) is a somewhat tricky film to review, as, looked at in isolation, it's not a terrible movie, nor a great one, it's simply okay, but has some smart dialogue some decent action sequences and the odd good twist. However, you can't looked at it in isolation, neither what has gone before in the film franchise, nor, crucially, from the source material.

For the casual viewer what IM3 does in it's limping away from what has gone before on screen is uncomfortable. Yes, the film nods vaguely in the direction of the first two and at The Avengers, but it never truly handles them well. It's really just a cursory glance at what has gone before in order that it can tell it's own story. That would be fine, truly fine, if the story it wanted to tell was worth it. But it isn't the story of IM3 (nerd rage + vengeance = Tony's screwed) is poor. The jokes are okay, but hardly worth the cost by themselves. Indeed, without the brilliance in a can which is Robert Downey Jr. I suspect that it would have been a disaster.

The biggest problem is Shane Black's utter disregard for the source material. The very particular run of comics from which this film was hewn (the run of six following the extremis storyline by Warren Ellis) is one of the best in the whole of Iron Man. It combines excellent writing, fascinating political, philosophical and moral arguments and some quite brilliant action. It presents us with a different type of villain, one who's motivations make a whole lot more sense that that which Guy Pierce was given (Lord above I feel sorry for Pierce in this role). I mean why bother telling the Extremis story if you're going to do this with it? Why on earth do we need to use Extremis at all? Any macguffin would do. So why use Extremis which is so much more than that? It honestly saddens me, as if it had been done properly this would have been head and shoulders the best film in the franchise. Deeply troubling with an horrifically sharp edge, but brilliant.

It would seem though that Shane Black doesn't give a damn about any concept which the audience might find difficult to grasp so he gave us this meh-mess of a movie, with some sharp dialogue and a couple of decent action scenes.

It's sad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good!, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Iron Man 3 [DVD] (DVD)
I liked the action in this movie was better than I first thought, Managed to watch it all the way through so that in itself says something!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Desperate, 20 May 2014
By 
Dr. Michael J. Atkins (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Iron Man 3 [DVD] (DVD)
The first two films had good plot. This is just OK – borderline boring. It’s as if they wanted get this out just to make money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good., 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Iron Man 3 [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
It's a very good Blue-ray.
I like it very much.
Good material and cover.
I advise you to buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars DVD 3d, 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ok ironman film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, 2 Feb 2014
This review is from: Iron Man 3 [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I love all Marvel's home made films so I knew I would be getting it the extras are good too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cool Film, 17 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Iron Man 3 [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This is a great film and a must watch. If you enjoyed the first two films then you have to watch this, but that is my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Robert Downey Jr gives best performance ever, Gwyneth Paltrow is SMOKING hot, but it is Ben Kingsley who steals the show...))), 2 May 2013
By 
Maciej "Darth Maciek" (Darth Maciek is out there...) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Iron Man 3 [DVD] (DVD)
I think this is the best "Iron Man" until now! I liked it and, even more important (and quite incredible in fact), my wife liked it even MORE! Below you will find more of my impressions. This review in principle is FREE OF SPOILERS.

"Iron Man 3" is a merry, cheerful adventure, very fast paced, with excellent fighting scenes, but mostly relying on humor and excellent dialogs, full of typicall Tony Stark's jokes, half acid, half bitter but always pretty funny. Quite obviously this film has for only ambition to entertain us - and it succeeds in doing just that.

The story is mostly about Tony's past coming back to kick him in the butt with the maximum speed and strength, forcing him to visit places even more exotic than the wormhole in "Avengers", like deep ocean and rural Tennessee - and no more will be said. There are some darker moments, but general mood of this film is light - this is an amusement ride, not the voyage to the heart of the darkness.

Robert Downey Jr offers here to his public a spotless, brilliant performance, even better than in previous parts and "Avengers" - and honestly, I think here he is even better (funnier) than in his "Sherlock Holmes" franchise.

Gwyneth Paltrow is a very, very beautiful woman - but in this film she is much more than that. She is HOT, she is smoking hot, she is burning hot, she is lava hot, she literally bursts in flames so hot she is, in fact she is so hot that by moments she outshines the principal hero...))) No, for real, it is not an exaggeration - I will even hasard an opinion that in this film she reaches the degree of hotness never before attained by any other Hollywood actress...)))

Guy Pearce does well in this film. The character of Tony Stark's loyal bodyguard named Happy plays an important role. There are also some more hot bad guys and girls involved.

Dora the Explorer makes a short but remarkable appearance in her debut on the big screen - but nothing more will be said. And no, this is not a joke!

But it is Ben Kingsley, who plays the "Mandarin" who completely steals the show once we arrive to his evil den, which is a place of vile infamy, maleficent plots, decadent delights and rotten corruption so infamous on so many levels that it defies imagination! Believe me, in whole history of cinematographic villains, you have never seen a place so abominably unique as the horrifying hostile heretic hideous hidden hideout of "Mandarin"! And the lord and master of this place matches it in infect depravation!

Very exceptionally for a Hollywood super blockbuster, this film is not offensive to French or Muslims. No, really. I am serious.

As I already stated above, this film is so good, that my wife, who usually is not at all into comic books and/or superheroes almost died laughing and she actually thanked me for taking her to see it (and that doesn't happen often!). Therefore I recommend it without hesitation for a viewing with your wife or girlfriend - this should be a very pleasant common experience.

I will say nothing more here. Go see it in the cinema as long as it still plays - and me, I think I will definitely buy the DVD as soon as it is available! Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 255 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Iron Man 3 [Blu-ray] [Region Free]
Iron Man 3 [Blu-ray] [Region Free] by Shane Black (Blu-ray - 2013)
10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews