Customer Reviews


506 Reviews
5 star:
 (301)
4 star:
 (99)
3 star:
 (43)
2 star:
 (32)
1 star:
 (31)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IM3
This is not the best of the trio, but a darn good movie none the less. Hot Pepper kicks some butt. Watch this if you have not done so already.
Published 2 months ago by derek timbrell

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not so good
I am great fan of Iron Man, but this film kinda of damaged the goodness of the series. The storyline was not as a good as the other two.
Published 2 months ago by ACE


‹ Previous | 1 251 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not so good, 4 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Iron Man 3 [DVD] (DVD)
I am great fan of Iron Man, but this film kinda of damaged the goodness of the series. The storyline was not as a good as the other two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IM3, 3 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Iron Man 3 [DVD] (DVD)
This is not the best of the trio, but a darn good movie none the less. Hot Pepper kicks some butt. Watch this if you have not done so already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Iron Man, 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Iron Man 3 [DVD] (DVD)
time to call it a day with Iron Man...the first one was so good...2nd good but this one ...scraping the barrel now..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Deeply Flawed Film Which Decimates the Source Material, 30 Jan 2014
This review is from: Iron Man 3 [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Iron Man 3 (IM3) is a somewhat tricky film to review, as, looked at in isolation, it's not a terrible movie, nor a great one, it's simply okay, but has some smart dialogue some decent action sequences and the odd good twist. However, you can't looked at it in isolation, neither what has gone before in the film franchise, nor, crucially, from the source material.

For the casual viewer what IM3 does in it's limping away from what has gone before on screen is uncomfortable. Yes, the film nods vaguely in the direction of the first two and at The Avengers, but it never truly handles them well. It's really just a cursory glance at what has gone before in order that it can tell it's own story. That would be fine, truly fine, if the story it wanted to tell was worth it. But it isn't the story of IM3 (nerd rage + vengeance = Tony's screwed) is poor. The jokes are okay, but hardly worth the cost by themselves. Indeed, without the brilliance in a can which is Robert Downey Jr. I suspect that it would have been a disaster.

The biggest problem is Shane Black's utter disregard for the source material. The very particular run of comics from which this film was hewn (the run of six following the extremis storyline by Warren Ellis) is one of the best in the whole of Iron Man. It combines excellent writing, fascinating political, philosophical and moral arguments and some quite brilliant action. It presents us with a different type of villain, one who's motivations make a whole lot more sense that that which Guy Pierce was given (Lord above I feel sorry for Pierce in this role). I mean why bother telling the Extremis story if you're going to do this with it? Why on earth do we need to use Extremis at all? Any macguffin would do. So why use Extremis which is so much more than that? It honestly saddens me, as if it had been done properly this would have been head and shoulders the best film in the franchise. Deeply troubling with an horrifically sharp edge, but brilliant.

It would seem though that Shane Black doesn't give a damn about any concept which the audience might find difficult to grasp so he gave us this meh-mess of a movie, with some sharp dialogue and a couple of decent action scenes.

It's sad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too little Iron Man? Beg to differ!, 15 Mar 2014
By 
Comic Guy "C" (Wolverhampton England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Iron Man 3 [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Didn't see this one on the big screen, so trawled the online reviews to see if it was worth buying on Blu-ray. Lot of comments from disgruntled fans who wanted to see more of Tony in the armour.

I agree the film was very funny in parts but my major gripe was TOO much Iron man! Towards the end of the film I was getting heartily sick of the number of different versions of his armour popping up left right and centre.

The thrill of watching this sort of fantasy is knowing your hero has one or maybe two ways out of a situation but they are going to have to rely on their 'power' courage and intelligence to get out of danger / save the day, not 1960's Batman TV series style have yet another 'handy gizmo in my utility belt' updated to handy suit of armour in secret location A, ...oh and secret location B...and yet another location C.. and another in my back pocket!! ARRGH!

The suspension of belief that might lead me to feel Tony Stark / Iron man is in real danger of losing his life had gone by halfway through the film.

Loved the laughs, missed the drama, got fed up of the armour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What a missed opportunity !, 2 Feb 2014
This review is from: Iron Man 3 [DVD] (DVD)
I always found Iron Man to be one of the most interesting Marvel superheroes.For,contrary to most,his only "superhuman"ability is his intellect.In fact he is an ailing man,surviving only thanks to his "electronics"ingenuity.His "complex"character,his high intellect ,combined with pointed humour,the playboy / business magnate amalgama, provide an excellent background for stories to be built upon.
I fully enjoyed I.M.1 and I.M.2 .No masterpieces,but extremely entertaining movies ,in more than one ways.A singularly contributing factor was the use of excellent actors to portray very interesting villain characters in both movies.
When I saw that in I.M.3 the great actor Ben Kingsley would portray "The Mandarin",arguably the most interesting enemy of Iron Man,I prepared myself for a treat.
I was wrong.I failed to factor in my "calculations"mr.Shane Black.Writer AND director of this movie.
Still,this makes things easier.There is no need to look around much to establish who is responsible for this "disappointment".
Even if I choose to neglect the superficial approach to all characters-no one is portrayed "in depth"-and the tottally unnecessary complexity of the story in some points of the plot,even if I pretend that I did not notice that perhaps a dosen schenes could be drastically shortened,or even deleted,without affecting the movie at all,I cannot tolerate total absurdity.For instance ,Tony Stark actually INVITES the Mandarin to attack him at his Malibu beachhouse without taking the slightest measure to protect his residence from a"military"type attack !!! On top of that he keeps his beloved girlfriend with him (plus his ex girl friend)exposing them to mortal danger!!!He acts like a moron,not like the 'superbrain"he is.Please........
But what is truly unforgivable ,as well as illogical,is the reduction of the dreaded Mandarin character into a clown!!! I cannot even begin to imagine what Ben Kingsley would have produced had he been given the opportunity to portray Mandarin as a villain .A memorable performance,at minimum !
Mr Shane Black is a third rate actor,but purportedly a good scriptwriter.At least if we ignore what he,himself,has admitted,that most of his scenarios were so much altered(by producers and directors) prior to being filmed that he could not recognise them.
Judging by this,his second movie(I never saw the first one),one thing is painfully obvious.He is not a good movie director.Not even a passable one.
Unless,of course,you really like this string of missed opportunities.
I expected more,Much more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not good condition when noted as very good, 22 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Iron Man 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Ordered a second hand iron man 3 DVD which was noted as very good condition...it keeps jumping...very disappointed with the quality
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars THE IRON MAN'S ARMY?!, 15 Oct 2013
This review is from: Iron Man 3 [DVD] (DVD)
The moral question of the film, if we want to call it so, is what makes the real essence of Ironman, especially after the traumatic events happened in the previous Avengers movie. Thus it's a pity that such an interesting (even if not too original) idea about the meaning of being a true superheroe at heart, the link to the machine & Tony's very human limits, is treated in such a superficial way in the end...as usual the important thing is HOW you handle it, & that is a mess, especially thanks to the weird script & direction/editing.

Moreover instead of developing deeply this aspect, this side is intertwined with other subplots that made me lose interest at one point: especially I don't forgive them for not having kept the focus on such an iconic villain the Mandarin (& the smart wink to the terrorist angle, a bit like in the first film of this saga), also having at hand such a great actor as Bin Kingsley is!
Even the potentially engrossing storyline with sidekick/love interest Pepper could have been done so much better (particularly when you see how this leads to the finale, it happens so much as plot, but somehow the pathos is not there): & besides the tone of it as a whole is always uncertain, like if they tried to become darker somehow (DC movies' style) while at the same time keeping their usual Marvel's comedy approach (see the role of the kid)...lame.
My impression is that they tried to imagine a good plot but then they have literally lost themselves in the middle of the *videogame-action* execution of the movie (or probably in this film they also wanted to hint to a possible post-Robert Downey Jr's scenario).

-Damn even the usually entertaining post credit scene was such a let down, at least for me, plus no extras apart a little technical action scene & a trailer (besides I bet that Thor 2, which was promoted here will be better than this).
So watching this disappointing # 3, I was just thinking that it had been more fun Ironman 2, even if it's been criticized so much back then...well the first movie of the series still remains on top of my list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Too much Downey is too much, 7 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It was ok, I think RDJ is taking his weirdness a bit too far and the director is allowing it.

I wasn't a fan of all the autonomous iron men as it seemed a bit rubbish.

All in all, good fun but not as good as the first. Faveau needs to take back the helm and direct 4 so we get back to the original ones style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Iron Man 3, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Iron Man 3 [DVD] (DVD)
I have been hooked on Iron Man since Number 1. The stories, actors and the way the films are directed are excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 251 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Iron Man 3 [Blu-ray] [Region Free]
Iron Man 3 [Blu-ray] [Region Free] by Shane Black (Blu-ray - 2013)
9.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews