Customer Reviews


440 Reviews
5 star:
 (254)
4 star:
 (90)
3 star:
 (39)
2 star:
 (28)
1 star:
 (29)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars May contain spoilers
So Phase two of Marvel's Avenger films kicks off and first out of the stable is the almighty Iron Man 3.

Iron Man has long been the front runner for The Avengers. Often mixing sly humour with some great action. Iron Man 3 is no different in its tone. It is a bit sharper and the script is more character focussed than the previous outings, but the bare bones are...
Published 6 months ago by T. Cosens

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Deeply Flawed Film Which Decimates the Source Material
Iron Man 3 (IM3) is a somewhat tricky film to review, as, looked at in isolation, it's not a terrible movie, nor a great one, it's simply okay, but has some smart dialogue some decent action sequences and the odd good twist. However, you can't looked at it in isolation, neither what has gone before in the film franchise, nor, crucially, from the source material...
Published 2 months ago by Jon Rosenberg


‹ Previous | 1 244 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Deeply Flawed Film Which Decimates the Source Material, 30 Jan 2014
This review is from: Iron Man 3 [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Iron Man 3 (IM3) is a somewhat tricky film to review, as, looked at in isolation, it's not a terrible movie, nor a great one, it's simply okay, but has some smart dialogue some decent action sequences and the odd good twist. However, you can't looked at it in isolation, neither what has gone before in the film franchise, nor, crucially, from the source material.

For the casual viewer what IM3 does in it's limping away from what has gone before on screen is uncomfortable. Yes, the film nods vaguely in the direction of the first two and at The Avengers, but it never truly handles them well. It's really just a cursory glance at what has gone before in order that it can tell it's own story. That would be fine, truly fine, if the story it wanted to tell was worth it. But it isn't the story of IM3 (nerd rage + vengeance = Tony's screwed) is poor. The jokes are okay, but hardly worth the cost by themselves. Indeed, without the brilliance in a can which is Robert Downey Jr. I suspect that it would have been a disaster.

The biggest problem is Shane Black's utter disregard for the source material. The very particular run of comics from which this film was hewn (the run of six following the extremis storyline by Warren Ellis) is one of the best in the whole of Iron Man. It combines excellent writing, fascinating political, philosophical and moral arguments and some quite brilliant action. It presents us with a different type of villain, one who's motivations make a whole lot more sense that that which Guy Pierce was given (Lord above I feel sorry for Pierce in this role). I mean why bother telling the Extremis story if you're going to do this with it? Why on earth do we need to use Extremis at all? Any macguffin would do. So why use Extremis which is so much more than that? It honestly saddens me, as if it had been done properly this would have been head and shoulders the best film in the franchise. Deeply troubling with an horrifically sharp edge, but brilliant.

It would seem though that Shane Black doesn't give a damn about any concept which the audience might find difficult to grasp so he gave us this meh-mess of a movie, with some sharp dialogue and a couple of decent action scenes.

It's sad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 11 Dec 2013
By 
This review is from: Iron Man 3 [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I felt this film needed far more work on the dialogue and screenplay which was fundamentally weak.
The director seems to think they can cover up the cringe worthy performance of Robert Downing Jr with
way too much CGI effects. Normally Mr Downey Jr is a fine actor but I guess he can only do so much if
handed a poor script. Very much of a let down.
I do so hope that IF they make an Iron Man 4 they do not carry on further downhill.
I'd give it a D and add "Must try harder!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor movie, 4 Dec 2013
This review is from: Iron Man 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Two stars for the CGI.... poor movie story, the second one was rabbish but this one its even worst. only robert jr charisma and cgi ...nothing more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre film saved (a bit) by Downey Jr, 2 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Iron Man 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Tony Stark/Iron Man - as played by Robert Downey Jr - is fallible, engaging and humorous, and that just about saves this film as far as I'm concerned. But the story didn't really "click" with me and I found the action scenes to be overdone and ludicrous (even for the superhero genre where ludicrous action scenes are the norm). There are some good (and funny) moments but the whole thing just didn't seem to meld together all that well. Iron Man 1 is, in my opinion, still the best of the three.

I think it's worth watching if you have nothing better to do and serves as a reasonably entertaining 90 minutes or so, but it's no great shakes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor, hardly watchable, 2 Nov 2013
By 
Alexey Stepanov (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Iron Man 3 [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
The series has gone from great to average and now to utterly poor. The only thing that saves it from getting 1 star is the 'twist' in the middle. Other than that - another mindless and soulless flick over-filled with boring special effects, that ultimately is disrespectful to the 'mythology' of the first two movies. Iron Man film with no 'Iron Man' in it, but an 'Iron Suit' instead, really?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars May contain spoilers, 1 Oct 2013
By 
T. Cosens (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Iron Man 3 [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
So Phase two of Marvel's Avenger films kicks off and first out of the stable is the almighty Iron Man 3.

Iron Man has long been the front runner for The Avengers. Often mixing sly humour with some great action. Iron Man 3 is no different in its tone. It is a bit sharper and the script is more character focussed than the previous outings, but the bare bones are recognisable. The first half of the film is absolutely brilliant and showcases what can really be done with these characters. We have a fragile Tony Stark struggling to come to terms with his recent battle with Loki and his alien army. He is paranoid and sleep deprived and spends all his time tinkering with his armour.

Its only when a new terrorist is the guise of The Mandarin threatens the American government and injures his life-long friend that he decides he can't sit around and wait.

The story is well written and the action comes thick and fast. Tony Stark is a broken soul in the film and Robert Downey Jr hits all the right marks. Successfully being his normal cocky self, whilst maintaining some vulnerability. Never before has it been so essential that the balance of a character is correct when the majority of this film focusses on Stark out of his suit!

Whilst the first hour is amazing the second drops the pace a little. This is mainly to do with its choice of villain. Marvel has proven it isn't afraid to take risks and likes to play around with some of the history of the comics. However this may have been a slight step too far. The Mandarin is to Tony Stark what The Joker is to Batman. He is an iconic villain and Iron Man's biggest foe. Here he isn't treated as such and the twist is hollow and downright tragic. It feels like a twist in order to show off rather than thrill and it is a completely wasted opportunity. The most gutting part is that Ben Kingsley perfectly evoked the tyrannical Mandarin to the point where it is difficult to see how they could ever use the character again.

So it is lucky that the rest of the film more than makes up for this mistake. The action set pieces are an absolute joy and push the boundaries of what we have seen so far. A stand out being the attack on Stark's home. The next step in Iron Mans armour is also a joy to watch with Stark being able to summon the suit to his location just by concentrating. Also Guy Pearce's character is worth a mention and he does become a worthy adversary in the end even though his performance is slightly tarnished at the thought of what could have been.

This film will divide die hard Iron Man fans, but as a film fan and a fan of the output that Marvel have been giving us, this is a great start to a new Phase. The best of the three but also the riskiest. By the time we get there, Avengers 2 will have a lot to live up too which is a tantalising thought. In the meantime it looks like we will be treated to some pretty decent blockbuster films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars iron man 3, 2 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Iron Man 3 [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
not as good as the other two, i think i bought it thinking it was as good as the other,s
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars THE IRON MAN'S ARMY?!, 15 Oct 2013
This review is from: Iron Man 3 [DVD] (DVD)
The moral question of the film, if we want to call it so, is what makes the real essence of Ironman, especially after the traumatic events happened in the previous Avengers movie. Thus it's a pity that such an interesting (even if not too original) idea about the meaning of being a true superheroe at heart, the link to the machine & Tony's very human limits, is treated in such a superficial way in the end...as usual the important thing is HOW you handle it, & that is a mess, especially thanks to the weird script & direction/editing.

Moreover instead of developing deeply this aspect, this side is intertwined with other subplots that made me lose interest at one point: especially I don't forgive them for not having kept the focus on such an iconic villain the Mandarin (& the smart wink to the terrorist angle, a bit like in the first film of this saga), also having at hand such a great actor as Bin Kingsley is!
Even the potentially engrossing storyline with sidekick/love interest Pepper could have been done so much better (particularly when you see how this leads to the finale, it happens so much as plot, but somehow the pathos is not there): & besides the tone of it as a whole is always uncertain, like if they tried to become darker somehow (DC movies' style) while at the same time keeping their usual Marvel's comedy approach (see the role of the kid)...lame.
My impression is that they tried to imagine a good plot but then they have literally lost themselves in the middle of the *videogame-action* execution of the movie (or probably in this film they also wanted to hint to a possible post-Robert Downey Jr's scenario).

-Damn even the usually entertaining post credit scene was such a let down, at least for me, plus no extras apart a little technical action scene & a trailer (besides I bet that Thor 2, which was promoted here will be better than this).
So watching this disappointing # 3, I was just thinking that it had been more fun Ironman 2, even if it's been criticized so much back then...well the first movie of the series still remains on top of my list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Iron Man 3 DVD, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Iron Man 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Cool action film, Robert D.Jnr. is great as ever and a rollicking good film for all!! I highly recommend this DVD..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just Love Iron Man, 16 April 2014
By 
wicket2005 (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Iron Man 3 [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I love all the super heroes films and Iron Man is one of my favourites, just love his character. Excellent story and reproduced beautifully on blu ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 244 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb110a804)

This product

Iron Man 3 [Blu-ray] [Region Free]
Iron Man 3 [Blu-ray] [Region Free] by Shane Black (Blu-ray - 2013)
13.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews