Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars434
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 November 2014
The whole family enjoys the dvd, delivery was quick!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2016
Really enjoyed this film on dvd, beautiful colours.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2013
A good film and James Franco is excellent as are the rest of the cast. An interesting insight into hoe he becomes the Wizard of Oz.
Good set pieces and lovely to look at with references to the original film although the obligatory smaltzy American ending does let it down a bit.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2014
Oscar is blown away to the vibrant Land of Oz. At first he thinks he's hit the jackpot-fame and fortune are his for the taking.

That all changes, however, when he meets witches Theodora, Evanora, and Glinda, who doubt that he is the great wizard everyone's been expecting.

Reluctantly drawn into the epic problems facing the Land of Oz and its inhabitants, Oscar must find out who is good and who is evil before it is too late.

Putting his arts to use though, transform himself not only into the great and powerful Wizard, but into a better man as well...

Raimi really hits an all time low with this, and like Alice In Wonderland (2010), its all style and hardly any substance.

But at least it tries to tell a story, and the 3-D is sufficient in parts. The big problem with this movie is the whole second act. The Black and white segment is great, and the last ten minutes is okay, but the rest drags and drags, and the moment we hit Oz, it just maunders around With the story until the end.

The cast are good, but the characters are a big problem. The titular character, even though the film urges him to be a better person, is just selfish through out, and it made me smile at the end, when he gives gifts, and he tells the china doll, you have us. It was supposed to be touching, but because of his trait, fell to deaf ears.

Then there's the China doll. Take away the girl in the wheel chair, and the china doll, you could cut a good twenty minutes out of the film, making it a little more fluid and less boring. The scenes with Oz and the doll were the worst things about the film, they dragged it to a halt.

Munis looked like The Mask when she had her big transformation, and the whole film looked too diabetic for me.

Raimi was asked on Radio 5 if this was like an autobiographical piece to him, hike starting out small and now being like the titular character.

I very much doubt it.

It feels like he's sold out, and its doesn't have the soul of your typical Raimi movie.

A huge disappointment.
22 comments|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2015
Is what it is, I personally enjoyed the film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2015
love this film acting really good must watch
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2015
Bought as a gift. Recipient was very happy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2015
Not bad film kids loved it worth the money
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2014
A little odd, I prefer the Wicked story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2013
This arrived today in the morning. I have bought it for my Daughter's Finace' for Christmas. I hope he likes watching this film. As it is a sequel to The Wizard of Oz then he should enjoy this one too.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)