Customer Reviews


347 Reviews
5 star:
 (198)
4 star:
 (67)
3 star:
 (41)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (23)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OZ has never looked so good in 3D!
Having missed this at the cinema I was looking forward to getting the 3D DVD. After weeks of waiting for the price to drop I finally made my purchase, and was glad I did!

The film, a prequel to 'The wizard of Oz', tells of the magician (played magnificently by James Franco) and his journey to Oz and how he came to be the wizard. It is a great tale and fun for...
Published 19 months ago by Mr. L. Moreland

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Style over substance? Maybe
I'd like to start by saying this is the first film I've watched on DVD and been annoyed I didn't bother seeing it in 3D at the cinema.
Visually it is stunning and you can see how the 3D aspects were built into the story not just tacked on. Unlike other visual show pieces, like the god-awful Avatar, this does have some charm beyond its looks.
Story wise the film...
Published 20 months ago by Jakeisthecoolest


‹ Previous | 1 235 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OZ has never looked so good in 3D!, 5 Sept. 2013
By 
Mr. L. Moreland (Winnersh,Berks, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having missed this at the cinema I was looking forward to getting the 3D DVD. After weeks of waiting for the price to drop I finally made my purchase, and was glad I did!

The film, a prequel to 'The wizard of Oz', tells of the magician (played magnificently by James Franco) and his journey to Oz and how he came to be the wizard. It is a great tale and fun for everyone, although as a PG may be too scary for the little ones. The effects and top notch as is the acting and the 3D if terrific!

There are tons of special features and also comes with standard Bluray disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Style over substance? Maybe, 31 July 2013
By 
Jakeisthecoolest "Jake" - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Oz: The Great and Powerful [DVD] (DVD)
I'd like to start by saying this is the first film I've watched on DVD and been annoyed I didn't bother seeing it in 3D at the cinema.
Visually it is stunning and you can see how the 3D aspects were built into the story not just tacked on. Unlike other visual show pieces, like the god-awful Avatar, this does have some charm beyond its looks.
Story wise the film is in a difficult place as it tries to find a place in the vast landscape of the Oz cannon, from Frank Baum's original novels to the 1939 film classic, from the recent Gregory McGuire books to the stage musical of said books. The problem is that we have too many per-conceived ideas of what should happen in the story, and while it does well to tie all the threads together satisfactorily, it means it fails to spread its own monkey wings and fly.
Still a great film but maybe not the classic it could of been.
Decent extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Oh God,they keep on doing it....., 19 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Oz: The Great and Powerful [DVD] (DVD)
The development of digital special effects in cinematography marks the beginning of a new era.The era where the imagination of the producers and directors can really ran wild.They realised that they have in their possession a magnificent tool which enables them to work visual miracles.
How they use this tool is another matter altogether.
Brilliantly,as they did in Avatar or The Lord of the Rings.
Pointlessly,as in this one and so many others.
What is the one thing that makes the whole difference ?
"Elementary,my dear Watson".The script.
In the 1939 masterpiece,"The wizard of OZ",the use of characters was truly inspired as well as inspiring.Dorothy was ,by no means,the deciding factor.It was the three brilliantly conceived "sidekicks",the Scarecrow,the Tin Man,and the cowardly Lion that did the trick.Three characters full of interest,depth and emotion ,three symbols of what can be achieved if one is willing to fight his demons and triumph over adversity.Aye,Judy Garland was great,the yellow brick road dreamy,and the music swept one away.But it was the heroes that gave the movie the character that made it an all time classic.
What did they "invent"to replace that magic with in this"modified version" ?
Crap.Insignificant crap.
A leading actor who could not be less likable if he tried.Two sidekicks that are nothing but two meaningless zeros.A flying monkey dressed as a bellhop (!) and a living porcelain girlie doll.Which they "pluck out of nowhere",as they have no peers,no purpose,no origins,no character ,nothing.They mean nothing.Sure we have three witches(the evil witch,the beautiful Rachel Weisz is always a pleasure to watch)of which the good witch is as insignificant as the sidekicks.And how does mr.Sam Reimi "directs" his actors? I don't think he really bothers at all.He's got his special effects and he is happy as a child in the womb with them.
The only possible excuse I can think of is that the movie's main audience "target group"was from 4 to 12 years of age.I fail to see why adults should bother watcing this movie.If for no other reason,at least as a sign of respect for the 1939 classic the producers/director have so blatantly disrespected in making this parody.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars We're off to see how the Wizard came to be, 2 July 2013
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oz: The Great and Powerful [DVD] (DVD)
A few decades back now, Disney tried a new Oz movie, in the shape of Return To Oz [DVD] [1985]. Now they've brought in Director Sam Raimi to have a go at a prequel.

The story of this movie takes place before the Wizard of Oz. It's all about the Wizard himself. And how he came to be there.

Therefore fans of the Frank L. Baum books will not find much they'd recognise from those in here, aside from the setting and certain characters, since this is an all new story that tries it's best to fit the style of the world Frank L. Baum created. If you're a literary purist then whether or not this succeeds at doing that will be a matter of individual opinion.

The Wizard is actually Oscar Diggs [James Franco]. When we meet him it's in America in 1905, and he's a small time carnival magician, with somewhat dubious ethics and dreams of making it big.

Like the original Wizard of Oz movie, this has all the scenes in our world filmed in black and white. It also adopts a few of the technical tricks and styles of much older cinema in these moments. Which is a very nice touch.

James Franco does manage to carry the film very well and makes for a decent lead right from the off.

Fate conspires to bring him to Oz. Which is where it goes into colour and more modern cinema styles. Making the acquaintance of two witches [Mila Kunis and Rachel Weisz] and a flying monkey, he finds that everyone is expecting the arrival of a great wizard. And that Oz is a land with problems.

Setting out to deal with these, he picks up another travelling companion along the way. But who can he trust? And he can take this opportunity to be the great man he's always dreamed of becoming?

The story of this is obvious from the start. A few movies have done the story of a would be great man who gets into a situation where they can become one, boasts, lets people down, and then comes back and saves the day. But this doesn't follow all the story beats from that style, so that does give it points for originality.

The supporting cast are all pretty good. Some of the cgi creations work extremely well. And there are enough twists and turns in the plot and character development to keep it all moving along very nicely, all in time for a decent finale.

It's definitely worth it for the visuals, though. Which make Oz every bit the colourful and eye catching land that it should be. There's always something new coming along on screen to capture your attention.

Certain things and characters can't appear in this due to copyright reasons [the fact that a studio other than Disney holds the rights to the Wizard of Oz movie] but you might get into this enough to not miss them too much.

Any great fantasy should keep you spellbound all the way through and leave you appreciative by the end. When I saw this in a rather crowded cinema, most of the audience burst into - genuine - applause at the end. So this would certainly seem to do that job. There may be one or two moments that very young viewers might find scary, but not too many. This is a very good effort at creating a magical and fantastical cinema experience. Which makes it worth 4/5.

Older viewers who are familiar with the Director's work might wonder if a few of the actors whom he usually uses crop up in here. Just keep your eyes peeled and listen carefully....

The dvd has the following language and subtitle options:

Languages: English, Russian, Ukranian.

Subtitles: English, Estonian, Greek, Latvian, Lithuanian, Russian, Ukranian.

The disc begins with quite a few trailers. These can be skipped by pressing the next button on the dvd remote control. You can see all of them in the sneak peeks section of the dvd main menu anyhow.

There are just two extras:

A four minute long reel of outtakes. The sound quality on some of these isn't great. But a few are quite funny.

Walt Disney and the Road to Oz. A nine minute long feature about Disney's original attempt to make an Oz movie back in the 1950's. This is absolutely fascinating hitherto generally unknown movie history. If you're into that, it's well worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent prequel, 31 Mar. 2014
By 
Mr. Stephen Redman (York England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oz: The Great and Powerful [DVD] (DVD)
An excellent prequel that sets up the Wizard of Oz. A genuine story in its own right, this plot is good and well acted. I cannot imagine why you wouldn't enjoy watching this, especially if you like the original. This isn't a musical though(!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IF THIS WAS EASY WE WOULDN'T NEED A WIZARD, 28 April 2013
This review is from: Oz: The Great and Powerful [DVD] (DVD)
This is a worthy prequel to the "Wizard of Oz." As of now there has yet to have been a film worthy to its sequel or prequel. The production starts out in black and white as the original film and switches to color. Aspects of Kansas are carried over into Oz so pay attention. The film has some early twists, which you may already know if you read any review, but it is nothing complicated.

James Franco stars in the title role. He reminded me of Edward Norton in "The Illusionist." Oz is a phoney and a bit of a womanizer. His magic consists of flash powder, glue, and determination.

The best was Mila Kunis. She owned Theodora. Clearly a People's Choice Award. Her performance alone was worth the price of admission. The movie meshes neatly into the film we all know and love. Rachel Weisz shined in her performance as well. The on screen chemistry between Franco and Michelle Williams could improve.

The flying baboons are far more fierce and scary than the flying monkeys in the original. Indeed, if your child has trouble with nightmares from horror films, you might think twice of taking them, but go yourself. Better than the "Snow White and the Huntsman."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oz-some!, 10 April 2013
This review is from: Oz: The Great and Powerful [DVD] (DVD)
I unapologetically loved this film! I've never been a friend of Dorothy, however the sheer spectacle, joyous performances, and sense of fun that exude from Sam Raimi's latest offering must surely be appreciated by all but the most cynical viewer. James Franco's leering con artist is transformed into an honest man through his bizarre experiences in the magical Land of Oz, after being whisked there by a freak tornado. Mila Kunis has to be the sexiest witch ever committed to celluloid - for the first part of the film anyhow, and Rachel Weisz and Michelle Williams are both perfectly cast as her fellow enchantresses. Add in Zach Braff's lachrymose flying monkey, a sentient china doll, and a host of nefarious Emerald City guardians, and you have a movie that warms the heart through and through, whilst also having plenty of tongue-in-cheek humour to lessen the inherent cheesiness of the script; great stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great scenery, great film!, 3 Sept. 2013
By 
Philip Ion - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Oz: The Great and Powerful [DVD] (DVD)
I really enjoyed this film. As a general rule, prequels can be quite tricky to make, with the outcome effectively already being known from the previous work, but this ties in quite well with it. The way the Wizard appears in a cloud of smoke towards the end is just how he appeared to Dorothy and her friends in the old film, while him presenting gifts to his friends at the end also provides an excellent cross-reference to the items he gave to Dorothy's companions.

If I have one criticism of The Wizard of Oz, it's that the scenery looks very artificial due to it having been filmed indoors with physical sets, given the limited technology of the time. However, thanks to modern advances and CGI, the landscape in this film is much more convincing whilst still looking like a fantasy world. (Return To Oz looked more realistic, but probably a bit too so in that it didn't look much like a make-believe land). The Emerald City in particular looks much more like a proper city than in the old film and the effects really are amazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 9 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic in 3D totally love it and its such a well thought out film. Totally watch it again. Such a great family film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a return to form, 5 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I`ve always been too old to appreciate the sweetness of 'The Wizard Of Oz',so I just watched this because there was nothing else on.And was pleasantly surprised.This is not only a film aimed at children,but also at imaginative older Sam Raimi types.The silliness and pantomime elements are restricted to a short musical scene and the cackling of the Wicked Witch,who seems out of place in this modern take on the story.The cast is well chosen,the scenery beautiful and the witty dialogue is occasionally a little too elaborate for many children to understand.
I`ve never been impressed with James Franco until this film-Not only is he the lead but he`s playing a character whose moral compass is often trying to point in several directions at the same time.Mila Kunis is also very impressive,even though her character could be less silly-It`s my one real gripe-I suppose it has to pay homage to the original-but she nearly makes it work.The monkey and china girl are the best but they do get the best lines.
The Wizard is a trickster and those expecting big fight scenes,or a film like the Judy Garland original are likely to be disappointed,but this film is about brains and not brawn,and an attempt to recreate the original would only appeal to the biggest fans.With all those preconceptions and expectations maybe this film was never going to be a runaway success,but this is Raimis best film since Evil Dead 2.And that was 30 years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 235 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Oz: The Great and Powerful [DVD]
Oz: The Great and Powerful [DVD] by Sam Raimi (DVD - 2013)
£2.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews