Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
468
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£9.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

A three disc dvd box set containing all twenty four episodes of the seventh season of popular sitcom the Big Bang Theory.

If you're reading this, you almost certainly know what the programme is about.

If you don't, then this season is not a good jumping on point. Start with season one.

Regular viewers, read on.

As usual, all episodes run seventeen to twenty minutes. And once again see all the main characters juggling life and work issues with nerdy pursuits. Steadily developing relationships. And Raj desperately trying to get into one. People grow and change. Whether they like it or not.

If you're a viewer who wants the show to remain the way it was in years one to three, and for the characters to never change, then you still might not be entirely happy with this season. Which would be a pity. Because this is a very consistent season throughout, and probably the strongest since year three.

It manages to get all the seven main characters into every single episode. Those who want more science and nerdy stuff rather than relationships will find plenty of the former. But it balances all that with the latter.

It has some good guest stars. Who are used very well. A couple of character who haven't been seen in a short while. It uses Stuart and Mrs. Wolowitz sparingly, but they do work better that way. And all in all it's about a group of characters who we have come to like getting on with their lives. Which are always changing.

Whether they - and you - like it nor not.

That's the whole point of the season. So If you can go with that and embrace it, then you'll have fun. There aren't any weak episodes - although the fifth one does end a bit abruptly - and there aren't any particularly stand out ones, but there's not one I would rate lower than 8/10. And there's a fair few 9/10 shows. So this is a very consistent batch.

The dvds have the following language and subtitle options:

Languages: English, Castilian Spanish, French.

Subtitles: English, Castilian Spanish, Danish, Dutch, French, Finnish, French, Norwegian, Swedish.

There are two to three extras on each disc:

2013 comic con panel. Runs for twenty five minutes. The writers discussing the season [before it aired] and taking questions.
Johnny Galecki crashes the BBT writers panel. Four minutes about a key moment in the above.
String theory serenade. Seven minutes on how a song in one episode was produced. By two familiar faces.
James Earl Jones: the un-conventional guest star. Seven minutes on his guest appearance. With some interesting trivia.
The Big Bang Theory's May the 4th: Fourteen minutes on the Star Wars day episode. Mostly about the visual effects in it.
The big Cendrowksi: Fourteen minutes showing a day in the life of the show's director.
BBTea time: Four minutes about a tea party scene in one episode.
Gag reel: Eight minutes of outtakes.

All are fun. Entertaining - especially the gag reel, as these can often look forced, but this cast do make just forgetting lines funny - also very informative. So all are worth a watch.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2014
I can tell this series is well made, because I've grown to care about the characters, and I'm interested to see what is going to happen to them next. This show still hits on all cylinders, and one of the few comedies that actually can make me laugh out loud, not once, but several times during each episode. It's nice to see a comedy doing so well that appeals to the higher side of human nature, rather than most of the garbage that is on the tube these days.

Soft kitty, warm kitty, little ball of fur....
11 comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2014
This series is very funny and has made me laugh out loud several times which is not usual for a TV comedy. The characters have developed - but this is a good thing. I wouldn't want everything to remain the same. Keep it up for the next series.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2014
Season 7 marks another strong entry in The Big Bang Theory which further develops the relationships between Leonard and Penny and Sheldon and Amy, while Raj finds himself trying to choose between ex girlfriend Lucy and new girlfriend Emily, and Howard and Bernadette continue with the struggles of married life. Season 7 is definitely one of the strongest series of the show and indicate that the show is still on a high.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2014
BBT had been flagging over seasons 5 and 6 - this season definitely picks up the pace, and has some great episodes.
The theme of the season is "change" and every character faces changes in their lives.
Some great episodes, especially the bitter-sweet Star Wars episode, which we get to see a different side to Sheldon - if only for a minute.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2014
Funny, clever, well acted, well written and as all great comedies do, dotted with bits of pathos. This seventh season hits all the right notes from Raiders of the lost Arc being disected to the legend James Earl Jones sending himself up brilliant it hits all the right notes.

Sheldon, Lenard, Penny and the gang deliver the lines with such assurance that while the words, out of context may not be funny, the way they are said and who says them, make it so. With the growth of formally periferal characters like Amy, Bernadette and now Stuart (comic book guy) over the years, the cast has fleshed out to a healthy size which gives it more scope to grow and spread.

The best comedy on TV for many years, roll on season 8.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2014
This may be Season 7, but it is still as funny as ever and keeps going from strength to strength. The show and characters may have evolved but in many other ways it stays true to its roots, so the show stays fresh without losing anything. Every episode has laughs aplenty. There is more focus on the characters' relationships in this series but there are also episodes such as Sheldon questioning whether string theory is the right career path for him which reminds us of why this series is different from most of the other sit-coms out there. I have really come to care about the characters and I can't wait to find out what they get up to next and it has become easy to emphasise with them during the good and bad times. The characters all offer something different about them.

I rarely buy TV series on DVD, but The Big Bang Theory is one that I buy without hesitation and gets plenty of play. The beauty is that episodes are typically 20 minutes long so I can watch as much as I want (or get the chance to) at any time. I know that every time I play this, I will get a good laugh no matter which episode(s) I watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2015
As funny as ever. I was sent this one as a present and its two language options, other than English, were a Spanish dialect and French. As a linguist, I thought it would be amusing to listen to the characters speaking in a foreign language. I actually felt kind of disappointed: Sheldon just didn't seem anywhere near as "Sheldon" as he does in English! ;) Anyway, the series is as funny as ever and just keeps going from strength to strength - looking forward to the next one already! :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2014
I love Big Bang! So obviously I was bound to like this. It's very funny! Jim Parson's character 'Sheldon' - the eccentric genius with obsessive routines is an essential character in this. I also like 'Howard', played by Simon Helberg. He is a great actor, quick witted and quite frenetic in character. My favourite Character is Amy, played by Mayim Bialik - she's such an original character, with complexity and intelligence, yet very funny! I admire Mayim Bialik a lot as she has a degree in Neuroscience in reality, yet has the creative side to her shown in her acting. I also loved Blossom as a kid.
If you have never seen The Big Bang theory before, I highly recommend!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2015
The laughs keep coming. Series seven is every bit as sharp and witty as the rest. I'm not sure how they manage it as most series get a bit naff after about four seasons. This is not true of BBT.

If your'e a fan buy it. If you haven't heard of it, buy the full box set, you won't be dissapointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)