Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not Cillit
BBT had been flagging over seasons 5 and 6 - this season definitely picks up the pace, and has some great episodes.
The theme of the season is "change" and every character faces changes in their lives.
Some great episodes, especially the bitter-sweet Star Wars episode, which we get to see a different side to Sheldon - if only for a minute.
Published 10 months ago by A. J. Alldis

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars as the season was not a full great season to me as a creative of this show ...
as the season was not a full great season to me as a creative of this show seemed to go back on the same plot with howard going back to space again which never happend and some episodes just felt rushed overall it is ok but is the weakest season so far if your die hard fan buy it if not wait till the price to drop. people will ague oh its amazing but its not everyone cup...
Published 8 months ago by ben


‹ Previous | 1 238 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars State of change, 25 Jan. 2015
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Big Bang Theory - Season 7 [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
A three disc dvd box set containing all twenty four episodes of the seventh season of popular sitcom the Big Bang Theory.

If you're reading this, you almost certainly know what the programme is about.

If you don't, then this season is not a good jumping on point. Start with season one.

Regular viewers, read on.

As usual, all episodes run seventeen to twenty minutes. And once again see all the main characters juggling life and work issues with nerdy pursuits. Steadily developing relationships. And Raj desperately trying to get into one. People grow and change. Whether they like it or not.

If you're a viewer who wants the show to remain the way it was in years one to three, and for the characters to never change, then you still might not be entirely happy with this season. Which would be a pity. Because this is a very consistent season throughout, and probably the strongest since year three.

It manages to get all the seven main characters into every single episode. Those who want more science and nerdy stuff rather than relationships will find plenty of the former. But it balances all that with the latter.

It has some good guest stars. Who are used very well. A couple of character who haven't been seen in a short while. It uses Stuart and Mrs. Wolowitz sparingly, but they do work better that way. And all in all it's about a group of characters who we have come to like getting on with their lives. Which are always changing.

Whether they - and you - like it nor not.

That's the whole point of the season. So If you can go with that and embrace it, then you'll have fun. There aren't any weak episodes - although the fifth one does end a bit abruptly - and there aren't any particularly stand out ones, but there's not one I would rate lower than 8/10. And there's a fair few 9/10 shows. So this is a very consistent batch.

The dvds have the following language and subtitle options:

Languages: English, Castilian Spanish, French.

Subtitles: English, Castilian Spanish, Danish, Dutch, French, Finnish, French, Norwegian, Swedish.

There are two to three extras on each disc:

2013 comic con panel. Runs for twenty five minutes. The writers discussing the season [before it aired] and taking questions.
Johnny Galecki crashes the BBT writers panel. Four minutes about a key moment in the above.
String theory serenade. Seven minutes on how a song in one episode was produced. By two familiar faces.
James Earl Jones: the un-conventional guest star. Seven minutes on his guest appearance. With some interesting trivia.
The Big Bang Theory's May the 4th: Fourteen minutes on the Star Wars day episode. Mostly about the visual effects in it.
The big Cendrowksi: Fourteen minutes showing a day in the life of the show's director.
BBTea time: Four minutes about a tea party scene in one episode.
Gag reel: Eight minutes of outtakes.

All are fun. Entertaining - especially the gag reel, as these can often look forced, but this cast do make just forgetting lines funny - also very informative. So all are worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This show will be forever funny, 10 Sept. 2014
This review is from: The Big Bang Theory - Season 7 [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
I can tell this series is well made, because I've grown to care about the characters, and I'm interested to see what is going to happen to them next. This show still hits on all cylinders, and one of the few comedies that actually can make me laugh out loud, not once, but several times during each episode. It's nice to see a comedy doing so well that appeals to the higher side of human nature, rather than most of the garbage that is on the tube these days.

Soft kitty, warm kitty, little ball of fur....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as ever, 14 Sept. 2014
By 
M. Williams (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Big Bang Theory - Season 7 [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
This series is very funny and has made me laugh out loud several times which is not usual for a TV comedy. The characters have developed - but this is a good thing. I wouldn't want everything to remain the same. Keep it up for the next series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another great series for a great show, 15 Sept. 2014
This review is from: The Big Bang Theory - Season 7 [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
Season 7 marks another strong entry in The Big Bang Theory which further develops the relationships between Leonard and Penny and Sheldon and Amy, while Raj finds himself trying to choose between ex girlfriend Lucy and new girlfriend Emily, and Howard and Bernadette continue with the struggles of married life. Season 7 is definitely one of the strongest series of the show and indicate that the show is still on a high.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars as the season was not a full great season to me as a creative of this show ..., 25 Nov. 2014
This review is from: The Big Bang Theory - Season 7 [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
as the season was not a full great season to me as a creative of this show seemed to go back on the same plot with howard going back to space again which never happend and some episodes just felt rushed overall it is ok but is the weakest season so far if your die hard fan buy it if not wait till the price to drop. people will ague oh its amazing but its not everyone cup of tea
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not very good at all really.......BAZINGA, 29 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Big Bang Theory - Season 7 [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
Funny, clever, well acted, well written and as all great comedies do, dotted with bits of pathos. This seventh season hits all the right notes from Raiders of the lost Arc being disected to the legend James Earl Jones sending himself up brilliant it hits all the right notes.

Sheldon, Lenard, Penny and the gang deliver the lines with such assurance that while the words, out of context may not be funny, the way they are said and who says them, make it so. With the growth of formally periferal characters like Amy, Bernadette and now Stuart (comic book guy) over the years, the cast has fleshed out to a healthy size which gives it more scope to grow and spread.

The best comedy on TV for many years, roll on season 8.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "How Did She Get You to Do Yoga?" "Well, To Be Honest, I Thought She Said Yoda.", 20 Jun. 2015
By 
Mark Baker - Carstairs Considers (Santa Clarita, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Big Bang Theory - Season 7 [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
At some point, every show that is on TV for a long time declines in quality. (Heck, some short lived shows fall off in quality, too, which is why they are short lived.) Frankly, I’m still waiting for that to happen to The Big Bang Theory. It just finished its seventh season, and the show is still as strong as ever.

This season picks up exactly where the last one left off. Leonard (Johnny Galecki) is on a ship in the middle of the Atlantic Ocean on a research trip. Back at home, the gang must learn to deal with his absence, especially his roommate Sheldon (Jim Parsons) and his girlfriend Penny (Kaley Cuoco-Sweeting). However, when he comes back, his desire to spend some time with Penny over Sheldon shows the beginnings of the first changes in the group, a theme that actually echoed through the season.

What do I mean? Well, following up on the sixth season finale, Raj (Kunal Nayyar) is now able to talk to girls even when he’s sober. What didn’t change there is that he still isn’t a lady’s man, although it does open up a few new relationship possibilities for him. Speaking of relationships, Sheldon and Amy (Mayim Bialk) wind up taking what for them is a huge step forward in their relationship on a romantic train ride up to the Napa Valley. Penny makes a huge change to forward her career as an actress and finds herself in a less than desirable roll opposite a surprising co-star. I would argue that the only main characters not to have major changes this season are Howard (Simon Helberg) and Bernadette (Melissa Rauch), but since they adjusted to married life last season, maybe that’s for the best. They still get some great stories, like Howard’s drastic change after trying to help out his mother and how they deal with having Raj has a house guest for a week. They also have to deal with Howard's mother (voiced by Carol Ann Susi) when she breaks her leg.

Now I know some argue that the addition of Amy and Bernadette have actually harmed the show. I will certainly agree it has changed the show (there’s that word again). Penny spends more time with them than she does the guys, and Penny's dynamic with the guys was always fun. However, the show is just as funny as it always has been. How do I know? I regularly watch reruns any time I find it on TV, and I laugh at the old episodes just as much as I do these new ones. Heck, how can you not have fun with a city wide scavenger hunt or an old fashioned murder mystery game (both compliments of Raj)? Or Howard wearing an itchy sweater to prove a point to Sheldon.

And the geekiness continues. Stuart (Kevin Sussman) and his comic book store regularly appear in the series. When the guys don’t get into Comic Con, Sheldon decides to start his own, leading to a day with James Earl Jones. Speaking of which, the show finally celebrates Star Wars day in what is a touching and funny episode featuring the third appearance of comedy legend Bob Newhart.

My big complaint with the show continues – it often goes of the sex joke. It can be just as funny with clean jokes when it wants to be.

But make no mistake about it, this show is hilarious. They definitely still use the awkwardness of the characters for humor, but it is a loving kind of humor that is never too mean. It does not matter how many times I’ve seen an episode, I still laugh the entire way through it. And yes, I will watch these reruns just as much as I will watch reruns from previous seasons.

As always, Jim Parsons gets the majority of the praise and awards for his work here, and it is well deserved. Sheldon is the most awkward of the characters, and I’m sure he isn’t easy to play, but he gets so many of the best laughs. However, the entire cast shines as they bring their characters to life each week. It is a shame that the rest don’t get the praise they deserve.

As with the last couple of seasons, this season is being released in a DVD set and a combo Blu-Ray/DVD/UltraViolet combo pack for just $10 more. That's the set I'd recommend. In addition to the 24 half hour episodes, the set has several bonus features including one on James Earl Jones's guest spot, highlights from the 2013 ComicCon panel, Johnny Galecki crashing a writer's panel, and of course a gag reel.

For pure laughs, there is no better comedy than The Big Bang Theory. If you are new to the show, you’ll be glad you discovered why it is so popular. Season seven is just as funny and as much fun as what has come before, so sit back and get ready to laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Still Funny - A Solid Season, 28 Sept. 2014
This review is from: The Big Bang Theory - Season 7 [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
After the weak season 4 and awful season 5, I was pleasantly surprised by season 6.
Season 7 continues that trend, with another solid run of 24 episodes that are very funny and easy to watch.

THE GOOD:

Some episodes are genius - jokes are thrown at you consistently and more often than not, hit the mark.

The characters have more heart and warmth than ever and their are some very touching moments that are well handled.

Raj and Amy continue to grow in my opinion, from my two least favourite characters to two of my favourites.

Easy to watch - roughly 19 minutes an episode, its a fun way to unwind in the evening

THE BAD:

Howard being married is showing cracks. The shows funniest character is still funny, but feels neutered.

Too many episodes are fine or good rather than excellent. 24 episodes a year is a bit much. Its more consistently good than consistently excellent, but there are very few 'bad' episodes

Bernadette.

Weak finale.

A FEW DVD NOTES:

DVD seems to have plenty of features on each of the 3 discs, but I have yet to dig into them.
DVD release has no UV copy this year.
DVD spine for season 5 and 7 are different than the other 1-4 and 6. This bugs me more than you realise.

OVERALL:

I really enjoyed it - and I'm glad Big Bang's season 4/5 slump is well behind us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not Cillit, 18 Sept. 2014
By 
A. J. Alldis (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Big Bang Theory - Season 7 [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
BBT had been flagging over seasons 5 and 6 - this season definitely picks up the pace, and has some great episodes.
The theme of the season is "change" and every character faces changes in their lives.
Some great episodes, especially the bitter-sweet Star Wars episode, which we get to see a different side to Sheldon - if only for a minute.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The bang is as big as ever.., 29 Nov. 2014
By 
Katie85 (Northamptonshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Big Bang Theory - Season 7 [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
This may be Season 7, but it is still as funny as ever and keeps going from strength to strength. The show and characters may have evolved but in many other ways it stays true to its roots, so the show stays fresh without losing anything. Every episode has laughs aplenty. There is more focus on the characters' relationships in this series but there are also episodes such as Sheldon questioning whether string theory is the right career path for him which reminds us of why this series is different from most of the other sit-coms out there. I have really come to care about the characters and I can't wait to find out what they get up to next and it has become easy to emphasise with them during the good and bad times. The characters all offer something different about them.

I rarely buy TV series on DVD, but The Big Bang Theory is one that I buy without hesitation and gets plenty of play. The beauty is that episodes are typically 20 minutes long so I can watch as much as I want (or get the chance to) at any time. I know that every time I play this, I will get a good laugh no matter which episode(s) I watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 238 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Big Bang Theory - Season 7 [DVD] [2014]
The Big Bang Theory - Season 7 [DVD] [2014] by Johnny Galecki (DVD - 2014)
£8.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews