Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ... watched a show that had me popping in DVDs like meds when I have a cold
Rarely have I watched a show that had me popping in DVDs like meds when I have a cold......excellent sci-fi, and season 4 has started on the same track. Noah Wyle leads the fight with along with what remains of humanity in the U.S and does so with integrity and humility, these character qualities make the viewer think if we have been invaded we will always have a chance...
Published 11 months ago by scott mcbay

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Season 1 and 2 = great stuff!
Season 1 and 2 = great stuff!! Season 3 = OK, and might I not bother with season 4. They obviously had more money, they have 'aliens', but six months passed in two seconds... 'six months later'... and 'two months later' and on and on and on. After watching the almost daily struggle of characters as they stayed together and made their way to Charleston, I feel Season 3...
Published 10 months ago by matt and wife


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ... watched a show that had me popping in DVDs like meds when I have a cold, 27 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Falling Skies - Season 3 [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
Rarely have I watched a show that had me popping in DVDs like meds when I have a cold......excellent sci-fi, and season 4 has started on the same track. Noah Wyle leads the fight with along with what remains of humanity in the U.S and does so with integrity and humility, these character qualities make the viewer think if we have been invaded we will always have a chance as long as we still have representatives of our species like this. Great show and as compelling as the X-files used to be, we'll worth buying!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, 29 Aug. 2014
By 
Mr. S. Crook (Way out west) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Falling Skies - Season 3 [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
This season is much like the others, full of plot holes, inconsistency, borderline special effects and a love of gravel pits and forest last seen in Blakes 7. Just like Blakes 7 it doesn't really matter, it's all strangely watchable. I didn't feel defrauded after finishing the ten episodes that make up the season.
The feature alien sounds like Cryten from Red Dwarf. So much so it was difficult for me to take him seriously. Well, as seriously as the season demands to be taken. Which isn't much. But it's fun.

Thought the Blu-ray quality was actually better than the first two seasons and it looked like HD rather than SD warmed up. Had a bit more resolution, depth and dynamic range.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars JUST LIKE A GREAT BOOK THAT YOU CAN'T PUT DOWN !!!, 9 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an excellent series! Set in the future, but not distracting, from apocolyptic self-survival disbanded group of survivors who 'have to' come together in order to survive what comes their way against various groups of aliens, whom each have a different agenda for the Earth & the Human race.
I already have the box set of Season 1 & 2......so finding that Amazon Prime streamed Season 3 was brilliant! We watched the whole of the series back to back over 1 weekend! Both my 15 year old daughter & 12 year old son love it too!!
Shame Season 4 isn't released until Summer this year!!!! :(
It has the "what-if" factor with almost realistic story lines, non-predictive drama & enjoys following sagas-within-sagas with twists & turns within each episode.....just like a great book that you can't put down!.......you'll love Falling Skies!......all of them!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Depth, pace, twisty plot; who could ask for more?, 2 Nov. 2014
By 
Willy Eckerslike (France) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This season starts several months after the incredible cliff-hanger finale to season two. Tom Mason is now president of the fledgling democracy in Charleston but all is not necessarily good. Mistrust of the newcomers, the Volm, is rife and rightly so; do we believe their altruistic motivations? Many Charleston residents are still sceptical about aiding the skitter rebellion against the Espheni and to top it all there’s a spy in Charleston.

The various plot threads and relationship narratives are woven into a remarkable tale which never lacks pace; there’s neither time nor need for much deliberate character development as each of the main cast has already thoroughly grown into their role. The special effects are far superior to Season one’s clunky efforts while the costume, makeup, locations and superlative writing blend the show into an almost plausible whole (notwithstanding, of course, the general silliness of the underlying premise and the fact that while other resources are scarce, they have an inexhaustible supply of shampoo).

Season four has already aired in the US (with twelve rather than the usual ten episodes) and the show has been renewed for a fifth and final season. Splendid stuff; it’s just a shame there’s always so long between DVD releases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best season ever, 28 July 2014
This review is from: Falling Skies - Season 3 [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
The best season ever
They actually allow hope into the show.
far from the depressing and boring endless/pointless road show of the second series
this time they have a base a place to fight back from and hope of victory.
if you put aside the boring and convoluted traitor plot line ,
this is the best season since the first.
seeing them endlessly trudge across the Canadian wilderness is not entertainment at all
this season they improved everything
realising the obsession with American road movies is just awful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shifting to future, 29 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Constantly stable quality of the narration, from one story to another, from the cliffhanger to next one.

There is the tangible difference versus previous seasons, the atmosphere shift from daily desperate fight for survival, to more equalized struggle of insurgent challengers with extraterrestrial invaders.

While whole story remains interesting, in a nice SciFi-like style, Battlestar and Walking Dead cocktail, an attempt to spice up with political and conspiracy drama seems to be less successful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is one of the best Sci Fi series ever made, 18 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one of the best Sci Fi series ever made. It has great story lines, brilliant acting and the aliens are fabulously real and fabulously creepy. The only disappointing thing about this season is it only has 10 episodes. This season was equally as good as those before and equally as gripping. I love the introduction of another alien race with a completely different agenda
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great adventure!, 5 Nov. 2014
By 
Mr. Stephen Redman (York England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Falling Skies - Season 3 [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
A fantastic follow on to season 2, still great effects and acting. One or two real shocking turns in the plot this year will have you on the edge of your seat, but suffice to say humanity lives to fight another day (if not another alien race!)
You have to watch this from season 1 - it is a great adventure in the Spielberg tradition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed series 3 overall, 26 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Falling Skies - Season 3 [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
I enjoyed series 3 overall, and the continued struggles of the Masons, but I felt some of it was revisiting other Spielberg-esque movie moments, so in places it was a little too familiar for me. The embattled war weary survivors and their social strife and personal moral dilemmas were more interesting than the aliens, though the friendly aliens gave some of the story lines a lot of those dilemmas sometimes they were delivered with a sledge hammer which made me cringe a little. Still, I do enjoy good acting,so Noah Wylie kept my interest throughout, and he is supported by a strong solid cast who do well through out the cringe worthy bits and make the overall experience worth while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a brilliant TV show., 11 Jun. 2014
Family friendly, action packed, filled with intrigue and plot twists and a show that if you stick with it, you will be rewarded thoroughly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Falling Skies - Season 3 [DVD] [2014]
Falling Skies - Season 3 [DVD] [2014] by Noah Wyle (DVD - 2014)
£11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews