Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars76
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 May 2013
I bought this webcam to enable Skype on my Samsung smart television (EH5300 2012 model). I downloaded the Skype app on to the television first and then plugged the webcam into one of the USB sockets, the camera was recognised immediately and after logging in to Skype with my existing id I was confronted with a black screen, after a few seconds panic I discovered that there is a lens cover that needs to be opened for the webcam to "see". I carried out a Skype test call and was delighted with the sound clarity and quality so carried on and "Skyped" my daughter on her laptop up at Liverpool University, the call clarity was excellent (no echo) and my daughter reported first class video. The camera is actually much smaller than I expected but it gives excellent wide-angle HD video and the built-in microphone performs well. I know a few reviews have expressed dismay about the price (£63.00 incl p&p) but I have found this camera to be well made and able to give a good quality group video conference (not just talking heads) over our rural Welsh long line ADSL connection (2.5Mbps). Highly recommended for use with Samsung smart televisions and broadband.
22 comments|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2013
When looking to activate the Skype app on a 40" Samsung tv, ES6710, it was fortunate that a newer version camera had been released at a price that didn't make the eyes water. It is a neat and unobtrusive little gizmo that hangs from the top of the tv only requiring the usb lead to be plugged in after which the tv walks you through the final setup. For some reason the camera worked ok in test mode but did not display a picture when video calling but a change of usb slot cured that. Overall, nice display, reasonable price and pleased with this purchase.
0Comment|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2013
I bought this to use with a Samsung PS60F5500 Smart TV. The camera is dual hinged so it adjusts to fit any thickness of screen, or can fold to stand upright if you want to place it on a TV unit or shelf. It fits fine on the TV, although it's not possible to rotate the view because of the mounting method. It will always point in the same direction that the TV is pointing. This is not a major deal as the viewpoint is fairly wide, but you may find that the best position for the camera is not necessarily in the centre of your TV. Like I said, it's not a major thing, but something to be aware of!

Installation is very simple, start the Skype app on the TV and plug the camera into the correct USB port (the bottom one on my TV). Helpfully the TV does tell you if the camera is in the wrong port, although this may depend on your TV model. Once connected it just works. Skype can be configured to automatically log you in when the TV powers on, and it runs in the background while you're watching TV. Any calls will come up automatically and it also has pop up messages if people come online (I think you can disable these if you find them distracting).

As for the important part - sound and video quality - I found both to be excellent. The microphone does a great job of picking up voices around the room, even from a distance, and the sound is clear and echo-free. Video is also good, as you'd expect from a 720p camera. The camera has a blue light so you can see when it's active, and also has a manual shutter so you can close it if you're worried about being spied on!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2014
Very smart, sleek webcam, but a hell of a price to pay to get the inlaws on Skye once a week for the 5 year old. I don't really understand Samsung here - they can't be selling enough of these to make any real money and every time someone finds out they can't use a normal USB webcam and has to buy one at these prices, it alienates the brand. I would have thought it better to make it open, or at least work with an OEM partner to authorise a cheaper option (at about £15 max)
22 comments|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2014
This is a good camera which gives nice clear images. The automatic face tracking is nice - especially when your TV is wall mounted and you can appear "far away" without it.

The software on the Samsung TV's leaves a lot to be desired though. It's buggy and images can be mirrored without explanation. Mine is showing me a mirrored image whilst is right-way-round for those i skype with. No software settings for changing images etc. Very basic controls only.

You can get better cameras, with a 1080p output [this is 720p], for less money. Samsung have cleverly made sure that you have to have one of these cameras for their TV's. Shame really - says it all.

It works.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2013
Bought this product to enhance a 46"samsung smart tv and it certainly does.perfect Skype and interaction with fitness apps etc.The built in speakers seem v good quality also.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2013
It's inconspicuous and works well, vastly overpriced though considering non-Samsung similar products are 1/3 of their price but the sockets incompatible
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2013
very good and simple to install. very good picture and sound good price to saw it nearer in john lewis
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2013
Purchased to use with my new Samsung 32 inch ES 6710. Thought it would be better than using my Mac computer.
Sitting approx 10ft away from the TV the picture quality is very poor and not very bright to say the least, you have to get up close to the TV to get what I would say is only a poor picture, again not very bright. Will go back to using my Mac, it is much better.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2013
Plugged it in. It worked (well). Nothing more to say! It is possibly a little expensive, but it does what it says on the box.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 21 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)