Customer Reviews


242 Reviews
5 star:
 (114)
4 star:
 (72)
3 star:
 (34)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a good read
I really enjoyed this book, which would make perfect sun lounger reading. It tells the story of Alice, who is a very normal, ordinary woman. She is shy, kind, caring and unassuming but compared with her sister Stella, who is beautiful, flighty, flirty, selfish, egotistic, shallow, manipulative and totally self absorbed, she always seems to fade into the background...
Published 24 months ago by ElaineG

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good holiday read
This book is tosh from start to finish, but enjoyable tosh that will fill in the hours as you laze by the pool.
Published 23 months ago by Janie S


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a good read, 12 May 2013
By 
ElaineG (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wish You Were Here (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book, which would make perfect sun lounger reading. It tells the story of Alice, who is a very normal, ordinary woman. She is shy, kind, caring and unassuming but compared with her sister Stella, who is beautiful, flighty, flirty, selfish, egotistic, shallow, manipulative and totally self absorbed, she always seems to fade into the background.

The story starts when they go on holiday together to the sun kissed Greek island of Kethos and Alice meets gorgeous Greek gardener Milo. Without giving anything of the story away, it is safe to say it is a bit of a cautionary tale, the moral being "be careful what you wish for, because it might just come true".

It is a nice, fun, read which is entertaining with a twist that makes it just that little bit different. It flows at a nice pace and never seems rushed, with an ending that is satisfying.

I did, however, have a couple of niggles. The character of Stella is just a bit too one dimensional, almost like a cartoon character. Whilst she is fun to read about, she doesn't have any saving graces at all, she is just self, self, self. It would have been nice to scrape beneath that expensively made up surface at some point, and find a genuine person, but it didn't happen.

There are also one or two annoying little timeline inconsistencies, but not enough to spoil what is, in effect, a darn good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The PERFECT summer read! xxx, 20 May 2013
By 
Megan ReadingInTheSunshine (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Wish You Were Here (Paperback)
I've been a huge fan of Victoria Connelly and her novels for some time now, so I was really looking forward to Wish You Were Here!

The cover in particular is stunning, and as soon as I saw it I immediately started longing for a holiday somewhere in the sun, with a beautiful view of the sea in front of me. As the cover had put me in a holiday mood, I was keen to get started!

When Alice Archer is given the opportunity to go on holiday to the Greek island of Kethos, she decides that a week in the sunshine is definitely what she needs! The only downside is that she will have to put up with her sister Stella's attitude and tantrums, but it is worth it to go on a lovely holiday with crystal-clear sea and blue skies. On holiday, Alice meets Milo, a very handsome gardener, and something inside her awakens, for the first time Alice feels beautiful, confident and happy in herself. But is it just holiday feelings or perhaps something more?

I really loved Wish You Were Here! I had a feeling I would like it because I've always enjoyed Victoria's other novels, but I was really swept up in this story and I genuinely think it might be my favourite of hers so far!

The setting of Kethos was delightful! Everything was described so beautifully that I was caught up in the words and completely lost myself in the story, dreaming of being on this truly stunning island. Victoria has a real talent with settings, and she brought the island of Kethos to life for me. I could picture every scene clearly in my mind, I could almost feel myself walking along the streets, looking at the views and hearing the sounds around me. After finishing this wonderful book I really want to fly away for a holiday!

Alice and Milo were fantastic characters. I warmed to Alice straight away, she is so easy to like and as a reader I genuinely wanted everything to go right for her, so I was really rooting for her throughout the book. I think there will be more than a few readers out there who will fall in love with the gorgeous Milo! I particularly enjoyed Milo's parts in the story, and I enjoyed learning more of his background story, reading about what makes him him and his interests in life.

I don't want to spoil anything but Wish You Were Here is such a fun read! This book cheered me up and had me smiling, and I was so pleased to have read it. Wish You Were Here is the PERFECT summer read, so take it on holiday, to the beach, read it in the garden, and just relax with this fantastic novel. I would thoroughly recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magic and True Romance, 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wish You Were Here (Kindle Edition)
The perfect holiday, a wonderful romance with a little magic thrown in.

Wish You Were Here is what I would call a real romance, where the connection between two people is about love rather than lust, however strong their attraction. There is plenty of humour but for the most part the characters have a realistic feeling to them, (I'm not sure I believe that anyone as perfect as Milo exists, but I'd like to.) Either way this book will leave you smiling.

Victoria Connelly has a lovely style that is easy to read and hard to put down and her latest novel definitely does not disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another brilliant victoria connelly novel, 19 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wish You Were Here (Kindle Edition)
such a brilliant book, Victoria has done it again. so unputdownable!!!

its a story of 2 sisters who go on holiday to Greece , and what happens to their characters.

the book is so well described you really feel like you are there with them!

I really highly recommend this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wish I Could Go There, 13 May 2013
This review is from: Wish You Were Here (Kindle Edition)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book and read it on a particularly rainy afternoon which made the island of Kethos even more appealing for me. I easily imagined the villa that Stella and Alice stayed in and wanted to stay there myself. I could picture myself on the back of Milo's bike, with the wind in my hair seeing the spectacular views and could definitely see myself wandering around and smelling the amazing aromas coming from the flowers in the gardens of Villa Argenti.

Victoria's style of writing is so descriptive, expressive and colourful and it is these qualities which make her books so easy to read. This story flows really well and you become very quickly deeply immersed in the world that she writes about. This is a book that shuts you away from everything that is going on in your life and you are transported to the island of Kethos enjoying all the delights that Alice experiences.

This morning, I'm still thinking about Kethos. I feel like booking a holiday to this gorgeous island and exploring it myself. I will definitely be looking out for Milo and Alice around every corner. I think most of the ladies who read this book might just fall a little bit in love with Milo!

I always look forward to reading a Victoria Connelly novel, she is a wonderful author who totally and utterly brings her books to life! This is such a feel-good romance novel that I would definitely recommend to brighten up your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Summer read, 1 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wish You Were Here (Kindle Edition)
Great light hearted read, perfect for the beach. Although the happy ever after ending is predictable, I love a book when I'm sure that all will be ok in the end. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good holiday read, 31 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wish You Were Here (Kindle Edition)
This book is tosh from start to finish, but enjoyable tosh that will fill in the hours as you laze by the pool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice, 29 May 2013
This review is from: Wish You Were Here (Kindle Edition)
Simple but very readable cheered me up could just feel the warmth of the Sun on me .good holiday read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wish You Were Here by Victoria Connelly, 20 Oct. 2013
This review is from: Wish You Were Here (Paperback)
Alice Archer is a shy and plain single twenty-eight year old woman, who is out shined by her over confident sister Stella. Who treats poor dormouse Alice like a doormat, always running Alice down. When the chance comes for Alice who has never done anything adventures in her whole life to spend a week on the Greek island of Kethos with Stella, she puts it out of her mind how difficult her sister could be with her demanding ways and instead looks forward to the chance to do something different and to spending some time by the sea and in the sun.

While on holiday Alice meets handsome gardener Milo who notices Alice straight away, in fact Alice starts to notice that since she has arrived on the island normally invisible to men Alice seems to have become most desirable to men, turning heads wherever she goes. Alice had always wondered what it felt like to be beautiful and now on this small island it would seem her dream had come true.

Alice and Milo get close, but is it something more than a holiday romance? And once the holiday is over will the spell be broken?

I am a huge fan of Victoria Connelly's books, they never disappoint and are the sort of books you can just get lost in. Pure escapism. I loved travelling to Greece in the book and reading Alice and Milo's story, picturing all the scenic and beautiful pictures views and places on the small island of Kethos, creating the perfect setting for this wonderfully warm romance novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Reading it was like a holiday from real life, 27 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wish You Were Here (Kindle Edition)
Ever since I read the lovely and quirky Molly’s Millions, I’ve tended to keep an eye out for Victoria Connelly’s contemporary romances.
Wish You Were Here follows terribly sensible Alice Archer on her holiday to one of the Greek islands, where she makes a wish on an Aphrodite statue. She meets Milo Galani, the gorgeous and almost too lovely to be true Greek gardener and falls in love. Alice is so straight laced and sensible, you can’t help liking her. Her sister is so blooming awful, you can’t help hating her. Milo is really sweet without being two dimensional. His relationship with his little sister is very sweet.
Dialogue is something Victoria Connelly does very well (always). The descriptions of Greece were incredibly evocative and a good antidote the weather outside. Both Milo and Alice are fully believable characters who have their own problems. Their plot lines move along independently of each other for a while and they both find solutions by the end. The two storylines come together beautifully at the end.
I can’t think of anything to criticise about this book. Reading it was like a holiday from real life. If well written, absorbing holiday reading is your thing – this, ladies and gentlemen, is how it’s done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wish You Were Here
Wish You Were Here by Victoria Connelly
£2.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews