Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, entertaining & useful. A unique guide to the USA
While this isn't a guide book in the traditional sense, the author's stories and adventures in the USA can certainly be used as a source of inspiration if you're looking for travel destinations a little off the beaten track. Paul's writing style is witty and dry, his experiences and little known facts he digs up about the places he visits are told with ease and you can't...
Published on 24 Feb. 2013 by Kieron

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as expected
I felt this book could have delivered so much more if it wasn't for the way that the author chose to travel. As an idea, it sounded great, America by train, but because of the difficulties he encountered with the service we mostly ended up reading about him trying to find something to do in some godforsaken waiting room. There were glimpses of small town America, and I...
Published 6 days ago by book sponge


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, entertaining & useful. A unique guide to the USA, 24 Feb. 2013
This review is from: Tales From the Edge of America, Part 1: New York to Montana (Kindle Edition)
While this isn't a guide book in the traditional sense, the author's stories and adventures in the USA can certainly be used as a source of inspiration if you're looking for travel destinations a little off the beaten track. Paul's writing style is witty and dry, his experiences and little known facts he digs up about the places he visits are told with ease and you can't help but to laugh along as you read. Whether you're looking for inspiration for places to visit in the USA or you just enjoy good storytelling, you will love this book. I can't recommend it enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Stuff, 25 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales From the Edge of America, Part 1: New York to Montana (Kindle Edition)
In the space of half an hour, I'd wiped a tear from my eye, annoyed my wife several times by reading out the lines that had made me snort with laughter and learned approximately 17 things about New York that I didn't previously know. I believe that's called "a result".

As a previous reviewer suggests, there's a risk that, even at the current price, this book will get expensive as you plan your own rail journey across the US. That's partly down to it being one of those dreams that's been lurking at the back of my mind for years but mostly due to Smith's good humour, charm and way with words: as good as Twitchhiker was, this is so much of an improvement, I suspect Smith met the Devil at a crossroads part way through this journey and struck a deal for his soul.

It's not often I complain that a book is too short, but that's my only moan about this one. Still, part two's coming - soon I hope - and you can hardly argue about any book that costs less than the average Sunday paper, let alone one that's better written, that teaches you considerably more and is very, very funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alt USA travel-logue, 26 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales From the Edge of America, Part 1: New York to Montana (Kindle Edition)
Ah that difficult second book...But this is fun read by a writer whose love of the States shines through. There's some stories in here that just make you laugh out loud. Worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anticipated, and delivered, 27 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales From the Edge of America, Part 1: New York to Montana (Kindle Edition)
After closely following Paul's progress with the Twitchhiker. project, and loving the resulting book i eagerly looked forward to this release when he made it public he was going to be writing a second. The night he posted it was available I rushed over to Amazon and bought a copy immediately, but only got a chance to review now.

Paul's character shows through wonderfully in this book, which manages to be both personally touching and hilariously funny in equal measure. Paul's love for all things American shines through and he gives a uniquely British take on the life, people and places he encounters.

I thoroughly recommend this book to anyone, and can't wait to read the next installment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great writing & great telling, 25 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales From the Edge of America, Part 1: New York to Montana (Kindle Edition)
This book is a far more than just a travelogue, it's an opportunity to be introduced to some of the most interesting people you'll never meet and see the most interesting places you'll never visit.

The author manages to combine insights into the more obscure corners of America with humour and personal stories that keep you fascinated throughout.

Highly recommended - it should come with a warning that once you've read this book you'll have itchy feet and find yourself planning your own trip to the edge of America!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales From the Edge of America, Part 1: New York to Montana (Kindle Edition)
Really liked this book. Have visited lots of the places he writes about. Look forward to reading Part 2 when it's available
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Erudite, entertaining and enigmatic, 24 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales From the Edge of America, Part 1: New York to Montana (Kindle Edition)
After the Twitchhiker adventure I was keen to read more of Mr Smiths writing and Tales From The Edge did not disappoint. Whilst trying to read it after my girlfriend has fallen asleep I was sniggering so much I woke her. Worse still, she assumed such shaking and mirth was being caused by private moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Witty, descriptive, thought provoking and highly informative. - plus travel tips!, 27 Feb. 2013
By 
Emilia Flockhart "Em" (Em) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales From the Edge of America, Part 1: New York to Montana (Kindle Edition)
Brilliantly written. Witty, descriptive, thought provoking and highly informative. It bought a tear to my eye when (I won't include the spoiler) and made me laugh out loud on several occasions such as picturing a sun burnt head and blistered feet... ouch!

However there is one thing that Paul Smith as a semi professional traveller seems to have misunderstood. When it comes to packing light, you don't bring brand new but cheap underwear and socks, you bring your oldest most trustworthy threadbare pairs that have served you well and that you know are comfy, but as their days are nearing the end, it is ok for them to make their final rest in the paper basket of a motel room. (Bonus tip: It's a bit like toothpaste, don't buy a brand new small overpriced "travel" tube, just leave a bit in your regular sized one to take).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 23 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales From the Edge of America, Part 1: New York to Montana (Kindle Edition)
Very interesting. However, it ended abruptly which was disappointing. Will look out for the follow-up. This only felt like half a book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth a read., 11 Jun. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales From the Edge of America, Part 1: New York to Montana (Kindle Edition)
I was lucky enough to grab a copy of this while it was free and I have to say I thoroughly enjoyed it. Paul gently guides us through his travels and the people he meets along the way and I found it an easy and engaging read. As a big fan of Bill Bryson there are some parallels here in creating the right blend of detail humour and humanity. My only complaint is that it ended too quickly, but as this only part one that's entirely forgivable. I only hope that part two is not too far away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews