Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stellar cast & Beautifully shot Western
Just watched ' Sweet Vengeance ' and loved it , this movie was a blind buy for me as I had not heard of it until I seen it for sale here on Amazon , it was the cast and the story that really attracted me to it ,and also the fact that I love a good western , Ed Harris and Jason Issacs are always good value for money ,and they do not disappoint in this film ,they both give...
Published 13 months ago by XANDER

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting
Ed Harris, as usual is superb in this interesting revenge western, the cinematography is good and the villain is a menacing psycho with a god complex, some scenes stick in the mind - like Harris drinking wine and riling up his host, just a little unbelievable towards the end - but well worth watching for western fans.
Published 4 months ago by westernbuff


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stellar cast & Beautifully shot Western, 9 Jun 2013
This review is from: Sweet Vengeance [DVD] (DVD)
Just watched ' Sweet Vengeance ' and loved it , this movie was a blind buy for me as I had not heard of it until I seen it for sale here on Amazon , it was the cast and the story that really attracted me to it ,and also the fact that I love a good western , Ed Harris and Jason Issacs are always good value for money ,and they do not disappoint in this film ,they both give the stand-out performances - one as a Mad Preacher type, and the other as an Eccentric Sheriff type, the movie was shot in Santa Fe ,and the sprawling scenery is truly stunning

The story goes a bit like this ,Issac's ,Jones and Harris's characters all clash when some people go missing on land owned by Issac's ' Joshia ' The Prophets character ,Harris is a sheriff who has been trailing two men for miles,but they suddenly disappear after they go onto Joshias land ,Jone's husband has disappeared near that land too ,so sheriff and wife in there own ways are trying to find out exactly what has happened to them ,the movie gets quite violent in places as the pieces of the puzzle starts to get put together ,and some revenge gets dished out to those who deserve it

I really loved this western ,its well acted,well shot ,and well produced , and if you are a western fan then I am sure you will not be disappointed ,cos it has all the ingredients of a good western = great bad guy ,great good guys ,and great shootings ,it also has some great humour too-mostly provided by Ed Harris's character

The DvD only has one extra ,and thats a ' The Making Off 'featurette / about 25mins long ,where all the main cast talk about the film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST REVENGE MOVIE, WESTERN-STYLE, 2 Feb 2014
By 
Valerie J. (West Yorks, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sweet Vengeance [DVD] (DVD)
It's late 19th century in the arid desert of New Mexico. Prophet Josiah (Jason Isaacs) declares himself a deeply religious man, a servant of God, but when he comes across two brothers, Levi and Jacob (Noah & Logan Miller) on his 'Holy Land', sheltering from the parching sun under what little shade there is from a dead tree, cooking an animal they caught on the land, he accuses them of trespassing and stealing - and he sends them on their way, to Heaven or Hell. Merciless, covetous, and hypocritical, Prophet Josiah didn't care to listen to the men's explanations about their miserable mishaps on the hard journey to their waiting and wealthy family in Santa Fe. Prophet Josiah doesn't care either for the Hispanic farmer (Eduardo Noriega) with his beautiful but deceivingly resourceful wife, Sarah Ramírez (January Jones) and cared much less about their dog. But he starts to care when a white-haired stranger, an odd kind of man who seems to fear nothing and no one, comes to town. The stranger declares himself the new town Sheriff (Ed Harris) and says he's looking for two men travelling that way, relatives of the state Governor.

The above is the correct story and contains no spoilers.

Sweetwater (2013) is possibly one of the best westerns that I have ever seen. It ticks lots of boxes, to coin a cliché. Not only is it a western (thankfully devoid for once of whooping Indians and sleazy carpetbaggers) but it's also a detective thriller, a revenge thriller, and the sort of movie that even non-lovers of westerns might like. There's a wonderful atmosphere of menace and confrontation as Prophet Josiah and Sheriff Jackson become enemies, not to mention Sarah getting caught up in it all in a big way. It's also darkly funny, with Sheriff Jackson doing the most outrageous things. Don't imagine it's a comedy though or some kind of family movie. It's rated 15 and there are scenes of a sexual nature, nudity, some very strong language, and graphic violence.

Handsome Ed Harris is perfect in the role as the odd stranger and it's a long time since I've seen him with that much hair on his head. I didn't recognise him at first and for some reason he managed to remind me of rascally Lee Marvin in Paint Your Wagon (1969). You might recognise the equally handsome Eduardo Noriega who recently had a major role as a Mexican drug lord in The Last Stand (2013) with Arnold Schwarzenegger.

VJ - Movies and Books World
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quite Enjoyable, 3 Sep 2013
By 
Mr. Pc Marlow "Sci-fi geek" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sweet Vengeance [DVD] (DVD)
This film surprised me. Not a great deal of advertising for it, shame as it is most definitely worth a watch. An epic story of revenge set against the backdrop of the American Old West, Sweet Vengeance stars Ed Harris, January Jones, Jason Isaacs and Eduardo Noriega. Newlyweds Miguel (Noriega) and Sarah (January Jones) settle on a patch of land and soon encounter community preacher Prophet Josiah (Jason Isaacs). As Sheriff Jackson (Ed Harris) arrives in town, Prophet Josiah launches a plot to take Sarah's land, forcing her to defend her rights and launch an attack of vengeance that results in a jaw-dropping showdown.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Performances in a simply Excellent Western, 20 July 2013
By 
Tommy Dooley "Tom" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sweet Vengeance [DVD] (DVD)
There have been a few new westerns of late and I am glad to see the genre getting a new lease of life, but they all ought to take a few lessons from this little gem. Ed Harris plays Sherriff Cornelius Jackson a frontier lawman who is out to investigate why two of his relations didn't show up for an intended rendezvous. He figures they had to have gone missing in a part of the country that is under the control of what appears to be a slightly lunatic `Prophet' who is tantalisingly evil - played by Jason Isaacs.

We also have January Jones (Sarah Ramirez)who is newly wed to a Mexican farmer and they are trying to carve a living from the sun parched land surrounded by the sheep of Prophet Josiah. Meantime's he wants to take over their land and or convert them to be part of his fledgling flock. He is not a man for compromises and cynically uses selective quotes from the Bible in order to justify his extreme actions and views, which would probably not even be politically correct even at the time this film is set. Needless to say he is a nasty piece of work and decides he will dish out some good old fashioned justice on behalf of the almighty, whilst maintaining a harem of `God fearing' girls.

Every action has a reaction and for him it comes in the unwanted attention of both Sherriff Jackson and Mrs Ramirez who decide to get some frontier justice of their own. What follows is a brilliant story that grabs you from the off and just does not let up. There is action, humour, potty mouth cussing a plenty and some virtuoso performances from all the main players. I am a fan of Ed Harris and he never fails to put in stunning performances and some of that magic must have rubbed off as not a second of screen time seems to be wasted. Some credit must to go to director Logan Miller as this is beautifully shot too and the pacing is nigh on perfect.

Some have criticised it for being simplistic but I have to aver that this was rollicking great fun all the way. This is one of those films where you want to award more than five stars as it is simply that good. If this is the future for westerns then their continued popularity is undoubtedly assured.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars top of a watch, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sweet Vengeance [DVD] (DVD)
great western - not the best but well worth the money - get it and on one of those dull TV nights give it a try - you will enjoy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sweet Vengeance [DVD] (DVD)
Ed Harris, as usual is superb in this interesting revenge western, the cinematography is good and the villain is a menacing psycho with a god complex, some scenes stick in the mind - like Harris drinking wine and riling up his host, just a little unbelievable towards the end - but well worth watching for western fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good western, 12 Oct 2013
By 
Seri (Falkirk scot) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sweet Vengeance [DVD] (DVD)
Not many western's made these days,this one in the old style a woman's vengeance very well done,enjoyable worth a watch,arrived quickly no complaints.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strait Western, 14 Sep 2013
By 
Daniel Mueller "DMC" (Mainz) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sweet Vengeance [DVD] (DVD)
A new story about the old case between good and evil. Very tens with humor and very good actors. You will ove it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Westerns I have seen!!, 14 Dec 2013
By 
IMP (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sweet Vengeance [DVD] (DVD)
I love it when I stumble across a film that turns out to be an absolute gem!!

If you enjoy a good western, then you owe it to yourself to own a copy of this film.

Ed Harris is having a ball in this movie, stealing every scene he's in. A pure joy to watch!

I wish this was available on Blu-Ray over here, it's a crime that it's not.

BUY IT NOW!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sweet Vengeance [DVD] (DVD)
Ed Harris and Jason Isaacs do very fine work. January Jones wasn't given too much to work with, but does fine. An interesting revenge tale. Entertaining. Nice cinematography, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sweet Vengeance [DVD]
Sweet Vengeance [DVD] by Logan Miller (DVD - 2013)
4.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews