Customer Reviews


75 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good offering
Bit nervous about buying this having read some adverse reviews on here about a lack of harmony and older artists recognising the signs and knowing when to give up, but all I can say is that those reviewers should perhaps approach their local health professional and request an investigation for the condition known as "Cloth Ears".

Emmylou's voice is different,...
Published 21 months ago by I.F.Coyle

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth buying
I am a great fan of Rodney Crowell and have all of his CDs and a fair few LPS Emmylou I enjoy and hoped together they would make the CD great. Don't get me wrong it isn't bad but seems to lack the spark I was expecting all the songs are good but nothing in my opinion outstanding enough to give it 5 stars. If Rodney had included a couple from his back catalogue to duet...
Published 16 months ago by Barry. Close


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good offering, 21 Mar 2013
By 
I.F.Coyle (Bolton, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Old Yellow Moon (Audio CD)
Bit nervous about buying this having read some adverse reviews on here about a lack of harmony and older artists recognising the signs and knowing when to give up, but all I can say is that those reviewers should perhaps approach their local health professional and request an investigation for the condition known as "Cloth Ears".

Emmylou's voice is different, its not better or worse than it was twenty or thirty years ago, its just different. She's on a lower register, but still capable of a wide range of material (I'd love to hear her try a few slow Blues numbers). She is the finest harmony singer of her generation, just look at some of the artists she's worked with, Dylan, Orbison, Parsons, Young. I always think that if she sang with me she could even make ME sound good (and that, believe me would be some achievement!)

If I were an Amazon salesman, I would be writing "If you liked "Raising Sands", you'll LOVE "Old Yellow Moon". It has a similar wide-range of material, upbeat, standard Country, Rockabilly, ballard, and a very sad, wistful song "Back When we were Beautiful" that could bring a tear to the eye.

Loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Past, Present And Future, 4 Mar 2013
By 
Angel Delta (Southsea Hants) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Old Yellow Moon (Audio CD)
With a remarkable 74 years of recording history between them Emmylou Harris and her former Hot Band member Rodney Crowell have reunited to record this album of country duets.

Produced by Harris' former husband, Brian Ahern, who also produced many of her earlier records, she and Crowell are also joined by other Hot Band members such as James Burton, Glen D Hardin, John Ware, Bill Payne and Emory Gordy.

After the acclaimed "Wrecking Ball" Emmylou's work continued with an adventurous alternative country style that culminated with "All I Intended To Be". Now she has returned to her Gram Parsons inspired roots with this collection of neo traditional material. While Crowell has always followed his own brand of progressive country he has remained a traditionalist at heart and so this album finds them both tied by an affection for things past.

Emmylou's finest moment comes with her passionate reading of Patti Scialfa's song of obsession, "Spanish Dancer". With mandolin, gut string guitar and Crowell's gentle harmony this is an inspired performance of a beautiful song to rank with her best.

The album begins with Hank DeVito's "Hanging Up My Heart", packed with Hammond B3, accordion and steel guitar with Harris and Crowell reviving that Hot Band sound. The black humour of Roger Miller's "Invitation To The Blues" is a smart piece of traditional country driven by steel guitar and fiddle.

The first part of Matraca Berg's beautiful "Back When We Were Beautiful" is sung by Emmylou to a simple piano accompaniment as she recalls the past with a perfect evocation of nostalgia and the sadness of growing old. But when Crowell joins her with the words

"But I still love to dance, you know we used to dance the night away
Back when we were beautiful",

the effect is absolutely stunning, a timeless duet with melody and lyrics framed by shades of perfection.

There is a a perfectly realised version of Allen Reynold's delightful classic "Dreamin' My Dreams" and "Black Caffeine", another DeVito number, is propelled by more of that Hammond B3. Other highlights include Crowell's "Here We Are" underpinned by steel guitar and piano and another Hank DeVito song, the reflective and poignant "Old Yellow Moon" which closes the album.

This is an album that finds Emmylou's voice at its crystalline best with Rodney Crowell equal to the task of duetting with a legend. With Brian Ahern back at the helm and a few former Hot Band members included in the mix this is country music where past and present come together to show that there will always be a future for this most enduring of musical genres.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great long awaited album, 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Old Yellow Moon (Audio CD)
There is not one bad track on the whole album. Two quality songwriters and singers who have a long history have finally got back together to bring this CD. I have a couple of the songs on CDs by other artists, but these arrangements are worth listening to. Another bonus is the briliiant guitar work of James Burton, another long time friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Miss Emmy does it again!, 24 Mar 2013
By 
Roberta C. New "Ageing country fan" (Algarve, Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Old Yellow Moon (Audio CD)
Have been an ardent fan of Emmylou Harris for ever, more or less since she began her career, so I was eager to get this CD. Not disappointed - the two voices together are achingly evocative, and there is a nice choice of songs, no rehashed repeats of earlier work. The only criticism I would make ( and it is nit-picking ) is that on some tracks, the pitch is just a little too high for Emmylou, but as always, she handles this well. All in all, a great album which deserves to be played often. Long may this fab lady continue to entertain us, and Rodney Crowell is the perfect duet partner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Hokey Country Hokum - glorious harmonic heaven, 8 Mar 2013
By 
Christopher Lee (beverley - yorks) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Old Yellow Moon (Audio CD)
In a recent press interview Emmylou said that in her early formative musical career she considered country music hopelessly hokey and old fashioned.Her relationship with Gram Parsons thankfully changed all that and this new collection of songs with her old Hot Band guitar slinger and songwriter Rodney Crowell is a sublime record with Emmylou's distinctive fragile and haunting vocals counterbalanced perfectly by Crowell's tenor.
A number one album in the States ahead of Bowie and Hendrix it's easy to see why - intelligent and thoughtful lyrics occasionally sentimental but never maudlin married to beautiful melodies and hooks.
Selling country in the UK is a tough act and even expressing an affection for the genre can induce guffaws of mirth or distain from even the most liberal of musical souls.
Fully understandable if your only exposure to country has been line dancing or the many lamentable Nashville hat acts with their cheesy kitsch pop-country tunes I'm no fan of them either but if this record bypasses the general public because of the Country tag it will be a terrible shame as it's quality and beauty shines like a beacon through these troubled times.
The British can do this stuff well too just check out My Darling Clementines last record - simply wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Yesteryear brought up to date. Wonderful album., 4 Mar 2013
By 
Musicfan (Somerset, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Old Yellow Moon (Audio CD)
Emmylou has long been one of my favourite singers and there can be little doubt that the 70s and 80s was her best period. Rodney Crowell who has had a very good solo career was in her band when during part of this period. He is a great songwriter as well. With the exception of the superb "All I Intended to be", I have been disappointed with some of her recent albums ("Hard Bargain" being one of the low points). So I bought this album with some anxiety. However, I need not have had any. It is a great album. A proper duets album. Emmylou sounds re-energised and is in great voice. Crowell and Harris complement each other well. James Burton, Glen D Hardin and other former Hot Band members feature to provide some superb backing. The album is tastefully and sensitively produced by Brian Ahern who produced some of Emmylou's best albums in the past. If I have one gripe and that is covers of some of very well known songs such as Bluebird. Surely, there was no need to cover Dreaming My Dreams yet again? However, in fairness, Harris and Crowell make it their own with a superb cover. Emmylou's cover of Matraca Berg's "Back when we were beautiful" is stunning. Emmylou's albums of the 70s and 80s have stood the test of time well and this is a superb collection that stands well alongside them. It brings yesterday upto date. A wonderful album. Not sure I can believe it has taken them so long to do a duets album and I hope another one will follow. It loses one star because I would prefered fewer covers but they do not detract from this album. One of the albums of the year. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Review Old Yellow Moon., 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Old Yellow Moon (Audio CD)
Old Yellow Moon.

I bought this album because I am die-hard Rodney Crowell fan, and in beginning I only like Hanging up my heart. But with every listening to the album I find that most of the songs are find. I think the combination of Crowell & Harris is just excellent. The album is just like good wine its gets better and better after each listening to it. I would recommend for people who like country and country-rock. If you like Rodney Crowell or Emmylou Harris or both I would recommend this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back to her best., 13 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Old Yellow Moon (Audio CD)
I was lucky enough to see Emmylou Harris and Rodney Crowell on their latest tour.
Naturally they played a lot of the album. Live the album tracks are tremendous. The pair played for a total of three hours! [are you reading this Mick Jagger.] and they were brilliant.
The album is no exception. I would class this as a grower, and as you listen to the lyrics the penny drops. The album is mainly about getting old, as we all are. But its not depressing, in fact I found it uplifting.
I particularly enjoyed the track written by Patti Scafila [ Bruce's missus] I didnt think she had that type of talent.
A really great album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still Sounding Good, 12 April 2013
By 
S. Williamson "The Quizman" (Gt. Yarmouth, Norfolk, GB) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Old Yellow Moon (Audio CD)
I had the privilege of seeing Emmylou live back in the 1970's, along with the famous Hot Band and Rodney Crowell made a guest appearance.

Nearly forty years on and neither have lost their sheer quality

This is an excellent album, perhaps not quite up to the standard of Emmylou's collaboration with Mark Knopfler a few years ago
but still first class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ... whole folk and country music scene I had this wonderful cd recommended to me as the best country album ..., 20 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Old Yellow Moon (Audio CD)
as someone new to the whole folk and country music scene I had this wonderful cd recommended to me as the best country album ever.....i liked it, there is a really good variety of songs, and their voices are superb, both together and apart. I would certainly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Old Yellow Moon
Old Yellow Moon by Emmylou Harris & Rodney Crowell
Buy MP3 Album£8.09
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews