Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No connection problems, good speed, great printer
Connection to wireless network and USB unproblematic out of box - followed instructions with no issues. Supplied toner cartridges really do not last long, so be sure to have replacements in place soon after you know it's working! Print speed good. Booklet printing from driver only available on Windows systems - disappointed it's not available on Mac OSX driver...
Published 10 months ago by Neil Burley

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Expensive to run
Good quality output at a reasonable speed. However, I'm very disappointed with the number of pages from the toner cartridges - just 650 for the black and 1000 pages from the colour cartridges. Also very annoying that you get little notice of low toner before the printer refuses to print more; presumably to protect it from damage. I'd far rather be able to finish printing...
Published 4 months ago by Philipp Prince


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No connection problems, good speed, great printer, 20 Mar. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BROTHER HL-3170CDW Colour LED Printer with Wireless Networking and Duplex (Accessory)
Connection to wireless network and USB unproblematic out of box - followed instructions with no issues. Supplied toner cartridges really do not last long, so be sure to have replacements in place soon after you know it's working! Print speed good. Booklet printing from driver only available on Windows systems - disappointed it's not available on Mac OSX driver.

Takes 300gsm card fine through the manual feed, particularly if allowed pass through by opening back hatch.

Cartridge changing is easy, though manufacturer cartridges are very pricey compared to compatibles, though their quality is finer and truer colour - you get what you pay for.

One note - USB plug socket is not very secure after a couple of knocks - glad I use the wireless setting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic value for money, 9 May 2014
By 
Tim (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BROTHER HL-3170CDW Colour LED Printer with Wireless Networking and Duplex (Accessory)
I spent a lot of time researching this printer. The only options were Samsung and HP. I was very skeptical about buying a Brother machine but the price was irresistible (even though it's a company buy) so I took a gamble. The main selling points are the duplex printing VERY QUIET OPERATION and seamless software with Apple and Android phones. I can happily say that everything about this printer works fantastically. I'm really pleased and my poor opinion of Brother products has improved immeasurably.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent printer, just slightly noisy when operating, 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BROTHER HL-3170CDW Colour LED Printer with Wireless Networking and Duplex (Accessory)
Needed to download the latest printer driver for OS X Mavericks but that wasn't a problem.
Setup straightforward. Quality excellent.
Must pull down the tabs at the back ( as recommended) for printing envelopes otherwise they will come out creased.
Wi-fi is excellent as can place printer anywhere there is a mains cable - no need for USB or network cables.
iPad printing works just fine.
Overall, excellent printer for the price. Very pleased
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good for small office, 4 Sept. 2014
By 
T. Turski "Tad Turski" (Buckie, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: BROTHER HL-3170CDW Colour LED Printer with Wireless Networking and Duplex (Accessory)
I bought this device for printing simple graphics & text newsletters, and for this purpose it's ideal, particularly a built-in duplex. Stable wireless connection makes printing from several different computers dead easy; setting it up was straightforward.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Expensive to run, 12 Sept. 2014
By 
Philipp Prince (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BROTHER HL-3170CDW Colour LED Printer with Wireless Networking and Duplex (Accessory)
Good quality output at a reasonable speed. However, I'm very disappointed with the number of pages from the toner cartridges - just 650 for the black and 1000 pages from the colour cartridges. Also very annoying that you get little notice of low toner before the printer refuses to print more; presumably to protect it from damage. I'd far rather be able to finish printing a document, even at reduced quality, than get stuck half way through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nice but Lacks booklet for mac, 20 Sept. 2014
This review is from: BROTHER HL-3170CDW Colour LED Printer with Wireless Networking and Duplex (Accessory)
i wanted to give this printer a 3 of 4 star review.
But the lack of booklet function for mac users is such a disappointment that i can't go beyond 2 stars.
So if your a Window's user and not Mac OSX or Linux for that matter you have no issues with this printer.
In fact all advanced features are lacking in Mac OSX and Linux.. really lazy work by Brother

But let's be honest people manufactures do this all the time!!
They spend loads of $$ on advertising and following trends like Led printing knowing that people like new technologies.
But how manny of us rate a product / company by the firmware/software it has / makes ??
What Brother needs to do is provide Apple with a driver that has all the capabilities of windows
So make a driver that runs on MAC+Linux with nice options..
Like a couple of Linux systems out there mac downloads a driver automatically when you add a printer.

So i'm not talking about a peace of software like Logitech makes that takes over you machine hahaha.
It should behave it self and conform to standards.

Who knows if that day will ever come? Perhaps if more people understand this and comment on it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not enough toner supplied with unit + toner issues, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BROTHER HL-3170CDW Colour LED Printer with Wireless Networking and Duplex (Accessory)
Just started printing today after printer arrived a few days ago, I have just had a warning message that the toner is running out of ink but I have only printed about 120 pages so far. So do not expect to be able to do much printing with the supplied toner.

Update - I ordered the original Brother cartridge full colour set after the initial supply ran out - black should provide 2,500 pages but mine ran out after a few days after printing about 300 pages - 1 side black, 1 side a photo, colour toner which is supposed to provide 1,400 pages is half empty. Do not order this printer if you intend to print more then basic black & white with a bit of colour added. The toner is too expensive for the volume of output you get, after having a black & white Brother laser I am very disappointed with this printer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Does not work out of the box, 22 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BROTHER HL-3170CDW Colour LED Printer with Wireless Networking and Duplex (Accessory)
Does not work out of the box. Connection issues with router will take about 8 hours to fix/figure out/setup. Constantly going into deep sleep and never waking up when there is a print job sent to it. Airprint functionality with iPad and iPhone is dysfunctional. If you are looking for plug and play, then look elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews