Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars15
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio Download|Change
Price:£19.60
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 9 November 2003
THE STORY:
Five actually. In the first we meet Kitiara's son, an honourable knight in the thrall of darkness, his only hope being Caramon and Tanis, the ageing heroes. The second introduces the reader to Caramon's three sons and shows how one of them walks the path of the mage. The third is a humourous tale about Caramon's three sons being caught up in a wager involving a powerful gem, a gambling god and a ship full of gnomes. The next tale is about the mage Raistlin, who deplores all other beings, and his short romance with a mysterious woman. The final story is about the growing schism among the elves and how Tanis and his son become embroiled in dark plots.
WHAT'S GOOD:
The true genius of this book is the way in which the next generation of heroes are echoes of their predecessors, but with new character twists. The knight Sturm is echoed by his son Steel, but the latter has fallen into dark ways. Caramon's sons Sturm and Tanin are clear reflections of him, but with his character divided between them. The third son, Palin, walks a similar path to Raistlin, but ultimately turns away from the temptation of dark magic. Tanis and his son play excellent counterpoint to one another as they share the same values but fail to see each other's worth until the end. As with all Weis and Hickman's work, these short stories are well written and flow easily. Also, I should say that the book's worth buying if only to read about the bizarre gnome ship (which makes a worrying kind of sense!).
WHAT'S BAD:
Naturally, because this is a stepping stone between the 'Dragonlance Chronicles' and 'Dragons Of Summer Flame', it's essential to have knowledge of the previous books and you're gonna want to buy 'Summer Flame' to find out where the unresolved issues here lead.
A good solid bit of late-night entertainment.
0Comment|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2007
I'll keep it short. I got into the dragonlance novels about 2 years ago and have worked my way through a LOT of them so far. I wasn't sure of what to expect from a story without the original characters, but i have to say that i really enjoyed this story. There are plenty of refences & appearances from the original charecters and whole thing was briliantly written. It elaborates on myths & legends that developed from the exploits of the chronicles. Including the myth of Raistlin Majere having a daughter. How, where, why & when this came about is all explained briliantly. But is it myth or truth? Read it for yourself and find out.

This is one i'm glad to have read, which is more than can be said of others
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 17 December 2008
The Second Generation serves the distinct purpose of setting the scene for the fourth Dragons book. It slots in neatly after the epic and highly accomplished War of the Lance series from Weis and Hickman. Each of the five stories is standalone and in each episode the sons and daughters of the original heroes are explored and given an opportunity to taste adventure. The stories don't capture the magic of the full books from Weis and Hickman, but hint at the flavour they contained. As such, Second Generation might be a disappointment to those expecting anything epic, since these tales are not designed to be so in any way. They serve as stepping stones which add some interesting back-story but little more. Definitely for fans, not a book to read otherwise.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2005
I remember purchasing this book almost over a year after i had finished the legends trilogy and how nice it was to read about the children of the heroes we have been reading about. It felt like they stopped becoming characters in a book then and became REAL people. If you have read the previous 2 trilogies then you will be as happy as I was that these people have settled down and had familys after the dramatic events of the previous series. For those of you wondering this book consists of 5 short stories detailing the children of the hero of the lance.Below I will give a brief summary of each of the 5 stories, look away now if you don;t want to know.
The first book is about a son sturm and kitira had before the war of the lance,steel brightblade,who lets just say is not the sort of son you would expect sturm to have fathered.
The second is about caramon and tikas son wizard son palin majere.Before you think "another raistlin" let me say that is not the case.
The third details palin and his brothers, tanin and sturm, exploits. This was my favourite story even though it was a bit ridicolous.
The fourth details a LEGEND about raistlins daughter! Books later on in the series confirm if this is true or not.
The last one details tanis and lauranas son gil. I didnt enjoy this one as much as the others however it sets the stage for events detailed in later novels.
In conclusion, if you want to read about how the heroes of the lance are doing with thier new families then pick up this book, you will not be dissopointed.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2013
In a few words, as the title says, it contains some of the best tales concerning the Dragonlance world. It really keeps up to the standards placed by the Dragonlance Chronicles with which I begun my "trip" to this fantasy world, made me smile while reading it and ponder "this is just like living the thrill anew" ..
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2009
This is a good read, takes you back to the original characters, and adds the stories of their children. If you follow the dragonlance books then this book is a must.

I am assuming that you have read the Chronicles, if you haven't then you really should.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2014
Hello old friends and new! Great to be back reading about characters old and new. Long may it continue.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2015
Well written lead up to a disappointing end to the series ...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2001
Second Generation was insightful, but its not an absolute requiste to have before reading Dragons of Summer Flame. It is however essential to all dragonlance lovers and it does set the background for later novels. I would definitely give it 5 stars!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2015
Months of great reading. Always a page turner.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)