Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating but sad - family machinations ending in tragedy
I knew a little of these crimes as I have a friend who lived on Jersey but I thought the book was well put together and the author had taken the trouble to interview several people, including close friends and family members to try and get a balanced view of the family dynamics and the 'whys and wherefores' of the tragedy. Kept my interest all through. Very dramatic...
Published 23 months ago by Judith

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars MURDER MOST FOUL
A SAD story of a family who appeared to be more in love with money and social standing than their sons. I found the book a little to long and somewhat repetitive.
By the way Mr Joseph's not all Jersey people are brought up on cabbage soup hence their short stature (one of my son's is 6'5" !!) What a bizarre comment to make in the first chapter.
Published 11 months ago by Lisa Kennedy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating but sad - family machinations ending in tragedy, 12 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder in the Family (Kindle Edition)
I knew a little of these crimes as I have a friend who lived on Jersey but I thought the book was well put together and the author had taken the trouble to interview several people, including close friends and family members to try and get a balanced view of the family dynamics and the 'whys and wherefores' of the tragedy. Kept my interest all through. Very dramatic happenings until the end - not just with the crime but with its lengthy aftermath.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good story, well told, 29 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder in the Family (Kindle Edition)
As a previous resident of Jersey, this book held extra interest for me. The author has worked hard to give background to the various players and to provide motive for the crime. For my part, I was more convinced by the idea that Lloyds would soon be clawing back a large part of their inheritance than The "mummy was beastly to me" explanation. Being aloof from one's children was nothing exceptional in those circles in those times.

Slightly unpolished with a fifties flavour, the book was interesting and entertaining: I liked the pen pictures of the Jersey police particularly and their desire to be seen as competent enough to solve the big case!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fabulous read, 11 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder in the Family (Kindle Edition)
what a really great book.
the story itself requires very little to enhance its own quite incredible drama, and Jeremy Josephs uses a very light touch, allowing the tale to unfold almost by itself. He writes with an easy style and a wit that makes this book very very enjoyable indeed. Considering the subject matter.
Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very interesting story, 12 Sept. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder in the Family (Kindle Edition)
gave 5* as very well written, i usually go for true american crime, this was good as was british/jersey, never a true saying as "you can pick your friends, but not your family!!!!" spoilt ungrateful brothers didn't want for anything, (probably a bit more love), than material things, Unbelievable what they did and how long they got away with it, if you like true stories i highly recommend, and the price is good value. :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 28 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder in the Family (Kindle Edition)
Tragic and at times unbelievable story. Complex family story. Well written and very readable. Again, could not put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Newell Brothers, 7 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder in the Family (Kindle Edition)
A fascinating account of a gruesome murder which was well researched by the author. Left a lot of doubts in my mind as to what really happened as do not think the whole truth will ever be revealed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good read, 25 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder in the Family (Kindle Edition)
Well put together very good story of complex relationships with a very sad outcome lots of twists until the final out come and was a true story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars MURDER MOST FOUL, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder in the Family (Kindle Edition)
A SAD story of a family who appeared to be more in love with money and social standing than their sons. I found the book a little to long and somewhat repetitive.
By the way Mr Joseph's not all Jersey people are brought up on cabbage soup hence their short stature (one of my son's is 6'5" !!) What a bizarre comment to make in the first chapter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An interesting read, 8 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder in the Family (Kindle Edition)
An easy read book and unimaginable that two sons could do such a horrible thing.

A good book for anyone who likes to read true crime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars murder, 29 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder in the Family (Kindle Edition)
this was good ,i remember when it was on the news , it was just one of the sons that did it and the other one helped cover the murders up ,but the sons seemed to have no emotions or likeness for their parents ,it must have been something to do with their upbringing ,but its a good murder mystery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Murder in the Family
Murder in the Family by Jeremy Josephs
£1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews