Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice expansion but Watch your version!!!!, 15 Oct 2013
By 
A. Tomkins "Risktaker" (Northamptonshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Carcassonne Expansion 1 Inns and Cathedrals Board Game (Toy)
Warning! if you own the Z-man games version of the base game ensure you purchase the Z-man games expansion. I didn't look and bought the Rio Grande version of inns and cathedrals expansion to go with my z-man games base set and the rear of the tiles is slightly darker colour meaning you can pick the expansion tiles out visually when picking them up which I don't think you should be able to do, easy fix is a cloth bag though. Try to match your base and expansions to ensure uniformity of tiles, it is only a small difference but it is noticeable and if your like me it will annoy you.

I have had the Carcassonne base set for a while and play on a regular basis with my 9 year old daughter who loves it. It was therefore a natural step to purchase the first add on to keep the game interesting and add a touch more strategy. This expansion does that although not in a radical way, it adds inns to the roads and cathedrals to the cities which only score when finished and not at game end. There are some other standard (slightly different designs) tiles along with double sized meeple's and scoring tiles too keep track of when you complete a lap of the rather small score board from the base game. My daughter loves the little scoring tiles, especially when she has lapped me! Overall for 10 a good if gently expansion which expands the game but not in an overly radical way.

(For those that want to know why the two versions, Rio Grande is the old distributor with the newer version and current licence holder being z-man games.)

Zman
Carcassonne New Edition Board Game
Carcassonne Expansionansion 1 Inns and Cathedrals Board Game
Carcassonne Expansion 2 Traders and Builders Board Game

Riogrande
Carcassonne
Carcassonne Expansion 1: Inns & Cathedrals
Carcassonne Expansion 2: Traders &Builders
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nice, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carcassonne Expansion 1 Inns and Cathedrals Board Game (Toy)
I like this product that is good. I like it. the product is perfect and it looks very cool and nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Addictive, 6 July 2014
By 
Mrs. L. A. Munro "caithfire" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carcassonne Expansion 1 Inns and Cathedrals Board Game (Toy)
We absolutely love this game and will buy all the extensions eventually. Thought we would hate it when first bought but once you know how to play it, if you're in to board games, it is brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Surprising!, 20 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carcassonne Expansion 1 Inns and Cathedrals Board Game (Toy)
Initially when I played this expansion with my partner we weren't sure if it was really worth the purchase. However after a few games we began to appreciate the subtle changes this expansion brings to the game.

All round good expansion that doesn't change too much but adds new ways to both score and prevent scoring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent add on which doesn't add too much confusion, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carcassonne Expansion 1 Inns and Cathedrals Board Game (Toy)
Adds new features to the base game without convolution it or making it too fiddly.

Very enjoyable.

Also adds a 6th player, which mean more can enjoy the fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Expansion Set, 9 Mar 2014
By 
P. Lee (South West UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carcassonne Expansion 1 Inns and Cathedrals Board Game (Toy)
If you love playing Carcassonne , this Expansion set is the one to add first.
It adds some interesting variations, without adding too much extra time to the game.
Use all the features or just some, it works well either way.
We now always play with this expansion set included.
Looking forward to trying some of the other expansion sets too, possibly Builders next ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gift, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carcassonne Expansion 1 Inns and Cathedrals Board Game (Toy)
This was a gift for Christmas for my daughter and her partner, to add on to the main game. They love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Makes a good game even better, 24 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carcassonne Expansion 1 Inns and Cathedrals Board Game (Toy)
We play this as a family of three (including eight year old daughter). We started with the basic game last year and added this expansion which has just added to the enjoyment and made us think a little more. Look forward to adding a new expansion next Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent expansion set, 17 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carcassonne Expansion 1 Inns and Cathedrals Board Game (Toy)
A simple to use expansion that adds to the game whilst not adding complexity or time. Well worth it for Carcassonne fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Challenge Pt 2, 15 Jan 2014
By 
G. Griffith "GG" (Nottinghamshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carcassonne Expansion 1 Inns and Cathedrals Board Game (Toy)
See my comments on the New Edition board Game.
A good extension to the game which enhances the experience .Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Carcassonne Expansion 1 Inns and Cathedrals Board Game
Carcassonne Expansion 1 Inns and Cathedrals Board Game by Carcassonne Exp 1 Inns and Cathedrals
12.18
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews