Customer Reviews


309 Reviews
5 star:
 (182)
4 star:
 (70)
3 star:
 (28)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (22)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What happens in Vegas stays in Vegas
"Last Vegas" is an enjoyable film but it's not really a comedy like "The Hangover" which is also set around the theme of a "bachelor party" in Las Vegas. This film has it's comic moments and is fairly light hearted all the way through but it is also a romantic drama. Four men approaching seventy decide to go for a weekend to Vegas to celebrate the wedding of one of them...
Published 16 months ago by L. Davidson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Yeah, just about does the cast list justice
‘Last Vegas’ is about four lifelong friends, now all around retirement age, getting up to all sorts of shenanigans when they meet up for a bachelor party in Las Vegas. Now... there are two ways of judging this film. If the four men in question were average actors who you might just have heard of (or even complete unknowns) then you’d probably think...
Published 9 months ago by Albatross


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What happens in Vegas stays in Vegas, 4 Jan. 2014
By 
L. Davidson (Belfast, N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Last Vegas [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
"Last Vegas" is an enjoyable film but it's not really a comedy like "The Hangover" which is also set around the theme of a "bachelor party" in Las Vegas. This film has it's comic moments and is fairly light hearted all the way through but it is also a romantic drama. Four men approaching seventy decide to go for a weekend to Vegas to celebrate the wedding of one of them who is marrying a girl half his age.Michael Douglas plays this character and he is ably supported by Robert De Niro,Kevin Kline and Morgan Freeman who plays his friends. However De Niro figures out that Douglas isnt exactly madly in love with his fiancee and the pair get involved in a complicated romantic triangle with a perky sexagenarian barroom singer the friends meet on their first day in the city. "Last Vegas" is likeable and warm hearted and thankfully is not warped by lots of bad language and behaviour not in keeping with the characters ages. Older people should enjoy this film, but there were quite a lot of teenagers in the audience when I watched this film at the cinema as well. Maybe they were expecting another "Hangover".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The comb-over..., 20 Jan. 2014
Billy, Paddy, Archie, and Sam have been best friends since childhood. So when Billy, the group's bachelor, finally proposes to his girlfriend, the four head to Las Vegas with a plan to relive their glory days.

The four quickly realise that the decades have transformed Sin City and tested their friendship in ways they never imagined.

Sinatra may have once ruled the roost, but it's these four who are taking over Vegas....

If you like the thought of Morgan Freeman getting drunk and dancing,then this is for you. The four actors share top billing, but Freeman steals the show, because your used to seeing him as the straight man, the man who will make everything good come the end.

Some may say its The Hangover lite, but it's more that, at least here these characters are three dimensional and likable, The Hangover was a one trick pony, and not very funny.

The cast are great, predictable their characters may be, but go with it, its a lot of fun.

The writers maybe feeding the narrative to the audience on a spoon, as there are things from some scenes that you can just guess the outcome from an object or a look from a character, but you can forgive this little trope.

Its a bright, fun movie, with your favourite actors making fools of themselves.

See it, laugh, and then forget about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "...A Great Right Hook..." - Last Vegas on BLU RAY, 1 Sept. 2014
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Last Vegas (Amazon Instant Video)
Loved it - four quality actors bring huge talent to a witty and warm script. All this, a bevvy of Vegas babes and the lovely Mary Steenbergen getting a classy part too - what's not to love.

The jokes are good (condoms, Viagra, bad backs, every time the phone rings one thinks its the other calling with news about Prostate Cancer) the gags are constantly clever (the bathing beauty contest, dancing and getting drunk at the bachelor beer party, winning at the casino's card tables, the luxury suite that should have gone to 50 Cent) and the chemistry between all four of the principals is more than believable (they had fun making this). The back story with them as kids is cute too. Bluntly any film with Robert DeNiro, Michael Douglas, Morgan Freeman and Kevin Kline in it gets my vote. And the BLU RAY picture quality is gorgeous.

Far better than it had any divine right to be - "Last Vegas" is the kind of film that will cheer you up and those are in rare supply these days...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nobody calls us names but us, 24 May 2014
By 
Beanie Luck (Cotswolds) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Last Vegas [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I cannot remember the last time i geninely laughed so much, i had tears streaming down my face.

Billy, Sam, Archie and Paddy have been friends for 58 years. Billy is approaching his 70th birthday and proposes to his 31 year old girlfriend at his mentors funeral. This prompts a reunion of the friends for a bachelor party in vegas of epic proportions.

I honestly thoroughly enjoyed this film, whether its because i am now in my 40's and can look back on my youth with wistful memories and wish i could turn back the clock, or whether its because it was just so well written.

Unlike the hangover which i hated, this is laugh out loud funny.

For example, when that guy from lmfao is hosting a bikini content and the 4 of them are judging it and he whips off his trousers to gyrate his sequin bikini brief junk in robert de niros face, i spat my drink all over the floor, it was so funny.

When they are crashed on the bed with the worst hangover of all time because the room was spinning to find they were on a spinning bed lol

Some genuinely touching moments too, Archie in his sexy red suit dancing up a storm and then having a drink with his son, Sam who had been given permission by his wife to get laid and gave him some viagra and a condom deciding he only loved his wife, billy finally realising that he had love all a long but not realising, and paddy who learned that true love never dies, friendships never waver, and that life moves on.

I think this is however for the older generation 30's and over, because i dont think the teens would "get it", i however thought it was brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Old timers can enjoy Las Vegas as well !!, 14 Feb. 2015
By 
David H J Ashdown (Wales) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Last Vegas [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
The film starts 58 years in the past when four friends are seen in a convenience store in an argument that culminates in an altercation resulting in one of them stealing a bottle of whisky. Fast forward 58 years and they're all about 70 years old and the most prosperous one of the gang , played by Michael Douglas , is getting married to a girl over 30 years younger than him and he thinks that it would be a good idea if he contacted his old friends to meet up for a bachelor party at Las Vegas. The film follows the antics of the old timers and is funny enough and well acted , as you would expect with such a stellar bunch of actors , and contains a nice twist at the end that brings Douglas's character closer to the character played by Robert De Niro who've been bickering throughout the rest of the film. Watch out for the reappearance of the bottle of whisky stolen when they were kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a 100% entertaining, laugh out loud film., 24 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Last Vegas [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
This is a star studded cast in convincing roles. Not only is the film funny but theres a feeling that the actors will have had a lot of fun filming it. There are some great one liners and for anyone of a mature age its poignantly hilarious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Yeah, just about does the cast list justice, 16 Aug. 2014
By 
Albatross "Never argue with idiots" (Suburbia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Last Vegas (DVD)
‘Last Vegas’ is about four lifelong friends, now all around retirement age, getting up to all sorts of shenanigans when they meet up for a bachelor party in Las Vegas. Now... there are two ways of judging this film. If the four men in question were average actors who you might just have heard of (or even complete unknowns) then you’d probably think that this film was pretty good (as it is!). However, the four leads actors are some of the finest acting talent in recent years (DeNiro, Kline, Freeman and Douglas), therefore we kind of expect more from such a blatantly A-list cast.

And, on that front, it just about manages to deliver. Maybe I was expecting too much. I thought this was going to be one of the best films I’ve seen in a long time. I didn’t know whether it would focus primarily on comedy or drama (as such a great cast could easily do either), but I knew it was going to be good. And it was. Good. Just good. Everything was just about passable and I didn’t regret watching it.

Therefore, because I expected it to be amazing, it was a bit of a let-down.

It sort of flip-flops from comedy to drama and back again, never really staying on either. That’s okay, too. It also just about worked.

Perhaps the best way to enjoy Last Vegas is not to expect too much. Die-hard fans of any of the lead actors may get more out of it than the casual cinemagoer, but if you lower your expectations, you should enjoy it more. I might watch it again in a good few years time.

And I managed to get through the whole review without using the well-worn phrase ‘Like the Hangover, but with old men’ once. Oh, damn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars produk 29[101], 2 Nov. 2014
By 
This review is from: Last Vegas [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Great cast, competent screenplay - engaging enough film, but it's missing something.

Last Vegas maybe needed more subplot. Also the characterisation is adequate but around 20 minutes in you start thinking wait a minute, Robin Williams could have played all the leads in his sleep - and with more energy and conviction than is on show here for the most part.

3.5 rounded up to a 4. Some laugh out loud moments, too many on-the-(strawberry) nose geriatric gags.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars The higher they rise, the further the fall., 25 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Last Vegas (DVD)
When you see the line up of skilled and well known actors you expect quality. The film tells the story of these four old friends reuniting to celebrate their other friend's wedding. I should have expected disappointment when they went to Vegas but I thought it'd be fun. There were some great moments in this film and some great comical moments to treasure.

Unfortunately, much like many comedy films these days, the writers decided to go down the crude route - pointless swearing, ridiculous innuendo and making out true happiness is through drink and sex. What offended me was how these old men treated women who were old enough to be their daughters. This is a sign of the age we live in and I cannot laugh at it.

The acting was what you expect from veterans and that's what the stars are for. The story disappointed, the morals lost and the sincerity washed down the toilet with the vomit of drunk old men cavorting with young women.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been better!, 20 Aug. 2014
By 
Alison Petrie - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Last Vegas [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
You look at the cast list for ‘Last Vegas’ and all four male leads are Oscar winners so I expected a lot from this film, indeed I had wanted to see it for ages, but I must admit that, whilst entertaining, I felt it could have been so much better. Very corny, very predictable and I felt a waste of the talent involved although Mary Steenburgen (another Oscar winner – apologies, I am a film anorak!) is excellent as the bar singer of a certain age who attracts their attention when they first arrive in Vegas.

Michael Douglas sleepwalks through his part (and it hurts me to write because he is an excellent actor and has a very light touch when it comes to comedy, a prime example being “American President”), Morgan Freeman really isn’t given that much to do, Kevin Kline’s role is totally unbelievable and it is left to Robert de Niro to bring some gravitas to the movie as the widower who struggles to cope after his wife’s death.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Last Vegas [DVD] [2013]
Last Vegas [DVD] [2013] by Jon Turteltaub (DVD - 2014)
£5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews