Customer Reviews


116 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


73 of 74 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nearly Full Marks For Sims University
Was interested to see how this would compare with the old Sims 2 University, and my verdict is that EA games has definitely made some improvements here. This expansion pack takes us beyond the "rabbit hole" which ate up much of the gameplay in the previous version, now we can actually follow our sims along to many of their classes, and use new objects (like the anatomy...
Published 22 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Meh
This wasn't nearly as good as The Sims 2 University.
All's you have time to do with your Sim is to make them study and go to class, and even then they rarely get full stomachs. The classes are boring, although lectures are fun with how you can interact with your Sim while there in one.
The whole social groups thing of Jocks, Nerds and Rebels was extremely...
Published 16 months ago by L. Carter


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

73 of 74 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nearly Full Marks For Sims University, 9 Mar. 2013
By 
Amazon Customer - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Sims 3: University Life (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Was interested to see how this would compare with the old Sims 2 University, and my verdict is that EA games has definitely made some improvements here. This expansion pack takes us beyond the "rabbit hole" which ate up much of the gameplay in the previous version, now we can actually follow our sims along to many of their classes, and use new objects (like the anatomy skeleton & the science research station)to improve their skills and grades. Your sim is also able to interact with objects like the whiteboard or the podium to give a presentation to other students.

I also liked the addition of new social groups nerds, jocks & rebels. You can gain position, rankings and influence in these groups by participating in various activities and using new objects. You can purchase a kit to gain skill at "street art", buy a megaphone to start up your own protest movements, and use the new smartphone to improve your social networking skills.

Adult and young adult sims can enroll for one or two terms at university via their phone or PC. They are then transported to the university town and can choose their residence (dorms, frat & sorority houses or private residences). A word of warning here, once you have made your choice you are stuck with it, there doesn't seem to be any "move" option. So if you are planning on building your own dorm, or just don't like your "roomies" - your sim won't be able to move, you'll just have to enroll again for another term when their course finishes. On a more positive note, if your sim has a career back home, they won't lose it while they're away at uni, in fact you may find that they gain promotion faster when they return (if their course was relevant to their career path).

In terms of value for money, this expansion pack adds quite a lot to the game. A university town, with a variety of new lots, new traits, new careers, new skills, new lifetime wishes, new ways to die, and even a new life state (the return of the Plant Sim). There's new party types added juice kegger, bonfire (also masquerade & toga in limited edition), 8 new hairstyles and 13 new outfits. There's 16 new interactive objects and 13 returning objects (including the welcome return of the bowling alley).

So it's a big thumbs up for Sims 3 University Life, and would have been full marks but for the irritating lack of a "move" option in the university town. As always new players should remember that this is an expansion pack, and you'll need the base game if you want to play it. Also a good idea to make use of the "Can You Run It" website before you buy, to make sure you have the right spec to handle the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great expansion pack from the Sims 3!, 21 Mar. 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Sims 3: University Life (PC DVD) (Video Game)
This game is really, really great. It's a lot of fun and it is a great edition to the Sims 3 expansion packs. Although, being English, the American set up was a little confusing at first - trying to get to grips with sororities and jocks was a little bit of a learning curve, but I suppose you're at University to learn! It works really well with the Supernatural expansion pack, just in one dorm we had a vampire, a werewolf and a fairy, which was a lot of fun, although being hunted all the time wasn't so good.
Some of my favourite bits of the game thus far are:
* The new town. I think that having a whole new town to play with is so much fun, especially the new shops and the bowling alley.
* All the new objects, clothes, etc. Having all these new things is really great, because they make the experience so much more fun, and you have loads of cool stuff to decorate your house with when your sims get home!
* I really like the fact that you can actually see your sims in some of their lessons, which makes it much more interesting, so you don't have to spend the day on ultra-speed.
* The street art skill is really great, especially as it makes the whole thing more realistic, and I love that the kit is called the "Banky street art kit" Had to refrain from calling it Banksy!
* The new smart phone again, makes the whole thing really realistic.
*The new traits! These are really,really cool.
*The new skills objects are really good, such as the sketch book and the radio station. Both of these objects are really good for boosting the progress on the fine arts and communication degrees.
*You can customize your whole dormintary! This is one of its best features, in my opinion. I thought that we wouldn't be able to change anything about the dorm that our sims were living in, but it turns out that you can change everything! Just watch out though, as all changes are paid for by the active sim, so if you don't have much money then it'll be a little harder to make the rooms look cool.
*I think that the addition of the new social groups is pretty cool, as that also keeps it more realistic.
There are a couple of things that I don't like so much.
*I think that there should have been more majors to choose from, because there are only four. But I suppose that those ones will get your sims better jobs, so I can see why they've done it.
* On my game, it takes a long time for the sims to actually get into their lessons/lectures, particularly the lectures, which means that they are effectively skipping class, so their progression bar goes down. Perhaps this is just on my slightly slow laptop, but it's still a little annoying.

Despite those two minor issues, I have really enjoyed playing this game, and I think that it's well worth getting because it's a really fun expansion pack that adds something really cool to the game and gives young adult sims something to do, just as generations enhanced the gaming experience for teen sims. I think that it's definitely one of my favourite packs so far and I haven't come across any bugs or issues yet. In other words: A fabulous expansion pack that is a great addition to the Sims 3 franchise!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure quality!, 16 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sims 3: University Life (PC DVD) (Video Game)
I ordered this product and it came within two days. It's amazing and one of the best sims 3 games yet. If you do not have this product, I recommend you do so. Perfect for any sims 3 lover!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Meh, 27 Sept. 2013
By 
L. Carter - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Sims 3: University Life (PC DVD) (Video Game)
This wasn't nearly as good as The Sims 2 University.
All's you have time to do with your Sim is to make them study and go to class, and even then they rarely get full stomachs. The classes are boring, although lectures are fun with how you can interact with your Sim while there in one.
The whole social groups thing of Jocks, Nerds and Rebels was extremely stereeotypical, but fun, so oh well. The parties were wild, too.
The new clothes, hair and furniture is fab, I love it. Uni is hard work, as there just isn't enough time for your sim to do what they want to do. I wish I had more time to explore what the Uni has to offer, but oh well.
The Sims 2 Uni was far more enjoyable, but The Sims 3 Uni is definitely worth purchasing as an epansion if you're a seasoned Sims buyer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So-so, 11 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sims 3: University Life (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Felt too much like the Sims 2 university except it's just more difficult because they are out at uni so much (which is realistic but annoying when you want them to actually have a life too) and I do NOT like the social climbing aspect, it is remarkably irritating. However some good furniture and clothes and whatnot
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love this game!, 10 Oct. 2013
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Sims 3: University Life (PC DVD) (Video Game)
This game has given me hours of fun and I've always enjoyed playing the sims. You can go to class with them but not as much as the game video lets on, most the classes are locked. If you like getting your sims to do well at school on the normal sims game then this is the one for you! You've gotta work really hard for them to get good grades. Overall, I love it but it does take forever to load.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sims 3 University, 8 Sept. 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Sims 3: University Life (PC DVD) (Video Game)
The game was a bit hard to handle at the beginning but once it started working properly it was really great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars University, 26 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sims 3: University Life (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Having got most of the expansions packs for the sims 3, I can say this is a favourite one of mine.

Your sim gets a chance to do one of five degrees and has the opportunity to start off at a higher level within a certain career depending on what degree you go for. the career level depends on what grade you get.

a term of university is a sim week with so many lectures and classes a day depending on how many credits you choose at the start. your character will get invited to parties and certain actions can give for credit with three peer groups.

it is pricey for the sim to go to uni for a term and you can get some money towards the cost of the courses, however your sim will need a certain amount of skills for this to be awarded. the sims will have to do several trips to uni for them to complete their degree.

if the character has a job at home then they will keep the job for when they get back.

its a good expansion with plenty to do, good fun to play
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Game!, 9 Aug. 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sims 3: University Life (PC DVD) (Video Game)
This game was a nice surprise for me as I was expecting the exact same experience as The Sims 2 University.
Instead what I got was a fresh new style of university which could be totally customisable. You can play as a rebel, jock or nerd which I thought was a fantastic feature which really added to the overall game play and gave you something to strive for. What I mean by this is that you check your new smartphone - which is totally awesome, to see how you can improve as a jock, nerd, or rebel. You have schedules which you check to see when your next class is, and the sims automatically go to class when they need to which is good because otherwise you would have to check the schedule a lot.
There are also some amazing new hairstyles, clothing and furniture available that add a sense of authenticity to the gameplay and made me as a player feel like they were actually real people and it just involved me more in the game. What I mean by this is that the all the new stuff there was particularly likely for a real life uni student to have.
This is a brilliant game which you should definitely buy if you want to buy an expansion pack.
The total price I would pay for this game is probably about £25/$40.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My Daughter plays it frequently, 3 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sims 3: University Life (PC DVD) (Video Game)
A good game much enjoyed not used all the time but in intensive bursts of interest and creation. Sims world is growing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Sims 3: University Life (PC DVD)
The Sims 3: University Life (PC DVD) by Electronic Arts (Windows 7 / Vista / XP)
£16.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews