Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars86
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Stunt driver Toby Halicki wanted to create the ultimate car chase movie...And succeeded big time! Made with practically no budget, Toby putting up all the money himself, the acting is not oscar-winning, but that just adds to the '70s feel. But it does all lead up to a 40 minute car chase that sees metal mayhem the likes of which will never be seen again, health & safety rules put paid to that! And in one scene Toby hits a lamp post, is hurt, but he kept the shot in the film...Soundtrack has been re-done for the DVD, and is introduced by his widow in light hearted and enthusiastic style alongside Eleanor, the ever-so slightly battered yellow Mach I Mustang. The film ends with the same car pulling some nice stunts. If like me, you have a passion for '70s Muscle cars, GET THIS MOVIE! A total classic...
0Comment|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2013
The story is basic, the acting is poor. This film is a must watch. I first saw this at the cinema in the 70's, then again in the late 80's on video. 40 years later watching it on dvd it is still one of the greatest driving movies ever made. All the better for being real with no cgi effects. Made on a low budget (and you can tell) which was 10% spent in the first half hour and 90% in the remaining 60 minutes this still beats the big budget remake when it comes to the chase.
The dvd extra's are well worth a viewing too as they give a good background to the man (H.B.Halicki) and the film itself.
Worth having in every petrolhead's dvd collection.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2014
I saw this when it first came out, definitely one of the best car movies. I've seen the Nicholas Cage remake but this works much better. Of course it's dated but it comes from a time when nobody had heard of ECU's, and classic American muscle cars could be bought new or from a secondhand car lot, so it has a more genuine feel. Also recommended if you want to relive the 70's or marvel at the dubious style and fashion sense of the period. It's a car movie so it's about guys and cars, not emotion or angst. The guy who directed the movie is a car guy and a stunt driver so there's a load of action and mayhem. I seem to remember it being shown once on UK television a long time ago so getting the DVD is your only chance to watch this movie. Highly recommended.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2005
Very very excellent. I knew this film was going to be better than the gash Nick Cage film, but I didnt realise by what margin! The action is quicker, spending less time on character development and getting on with the serious business of stealing cars and driving them very fast. The car chase scenes are long but not tiresome. You will be taken across 70's america, seeing cars which were once commonplace but now really interesting to a 20something English brit. There is always lots of scenery to look at in this fast paced classic.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2005
This film was made by a guy called H. B. Halicki, who wanted to make a movie with the longest car chase ever, in the world. He succeeded, and it is probably still the longest!
H. B. Halicki was an incredible stunt driver, who did vehicle tricks and displays at American fairs and shows. He also had an amazing collection of some of the worlds finest cars, including Rolls, Ferrari's etc, most of which were used in the film, as the cars stolen to order.
The Film had a very small budget, and was made with the help of his friends, and the local people of several towns. The firemen were played by local firemen the police were the local police, and so on. Most of the "actors" were his friends, and the quality of the acting is a little poor, but this doesn't spoil the film at all, it gives it a raw natural feel. The fashons of 1974 also make you smile!
The most important part of this film is the last 45 minutes, which is a non stop car chase, with hundereds of cars getting totaled! Its pure heaven if like me you love a good old car chase, with tyres screaming and big American V8's roaring! H. B. Halicki did most of the driving, and there were no special effects or camera tricks, the stunts were real and very dangerous, and people diving out of the way of cars were jumping quite literally for their lives!
The star of the film, Elenor, is a yellow, 1970 Mach 1 Mustang (I think) which was standard except for a Nascar roll cage, after many of the stunts they had to replace the burst radiator and bash out the worst dents with a sledge hammer!
I'd recomend this film to any petrol heads, and this Dvd will take pride of place at the top of my film collection, along side Ronin, The Blues Brothers, The Driver and the Dukes of Hazzard!
P.S. forget you ever saw the Nicolas Cage version.
0Comment|38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2007
I am possibly one of the few people who managed to track down an
ex-rental video of this film, I have always rated the film highly, the action is superb, the acting not overly contrived and the soundtrack fantastic with the poingnant "Lois Lane Blues" as the high spot.
The film is still just as good as ever but sadly the rehashed soundtrack has been ruined by the installation of arcade noise (Hint like the musak played during Chris Tarrant's Who wants to be a millionair) instead of the original music score. I for one will be watching the video in future and am sad that future generations of like minded petrol heads will not see this in its original condition.
66 comments|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2006
This is THE best chase movie ever bar none. The main chase in the movie lasts for almost half the duration of the film and the damage etc to the car makes it so realistic. The stunts and cars featured in the film are top notch. This film makes you wonder why they bothered remaking it. They could have simply re-released the origional.
It may not be the most sophisticated movie in the world but it's definitly one of the fastest and entertaining.
BUY THIS MOVIE!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2016
I first saw this film in the early 80's, I loved it.
I'm in my 40's now. Its still so great. So many cop cars chasing the baddie. Its a seriously thrilling car chase epic. No CGI, no models. This was proper stunt work..
It knocks the socks off any of today's car chase films. Amazing delicious fun.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2016
It's a real shame, this. I absolutely love this film, in fact it's one of my favourite all time films, but the DVD is so much better in every way, I'm pleased I kept mine. Sadly this is one of those minority of films which hasn't transferred to Blu-ray very well at all. Compared to the DVD, the Blu-ray is darker, nowhere near as sharp a picture, the sound is different and worse, and the cover art is also much better on the DVD too.
The only plus side to having this blu-ray over the DVD is that there are some good documentaries and bonus features on it - that's why I give 2 stars - other than that, I would advise you buy the DVD instead, you'll be much happier for it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2014
Car crunching stunts with US 70's acting, amazingly restored to glorious HD. Extras include a couple of additional abridged films by actor / stunt-man / director H.B Halicki.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)