Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clever, star-studded political thriller.
I thought this was an intelligent, well crafted film. The stellar cast and the tight direction complement each other. Beckinsale is outstanding but, to be fair, it is a great ensemble piece too. In my opinion, it is a very under-rated movie. The 'twist' at the end is brilliant and I, for one, never saw it coming. Watch the beginning very carefully!
Highly recommended.
Published 13 months ago by Paul Hansper-Cowgill

versus
14 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No Sound.
Warning, this film contains no sound for deaf/hard of hearing people, as there are no subtitles, this is so inconsiderate of them, they would not dare turn the film out without sound for the hearing people, yet, with today's technologly, there is no excuse, not to have subtitles. I am hard of hearing, and as I am trying to watch it, even at very loud volume, I am having...
Published 13 months ago by homecinema


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clever, star-studded political thriller., 21 Jun 2013
By 
Paul Hansper-Cowgill (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nothing But The Truth [DVD] (DVD)
I thought this was an intelligent, well crafted film. The stellar cast and the tight direction complement each other. Beckinsale is outstanding but, to be fair, it is a great ensemble piece too. In my opinion, it is a very under-rated movie. The 'twist' at the end is brilliant and I, for one, never saw it coming. Watch the beginning very carefully!
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sharp, engaging take on a journalist protecting her sources, 2 Oct 2009
By 
Dennis Littrell (SoCal/NorCal/Maui) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
The men are real scum in this one. David Schwimmer gets to play a guy who basically gives up on his heroic wife while Matt Dillon gets to play a blood-thirsty prosecutor bent on furthering his career whatever the human cost. Even Alan Alda (minus a fine little speech before the Supreme Court) gets to basically fail in defending his client.

His client is Rachel Armstrong (Kate Beckinsale) a journalist who finds herself in contempt of court for not revealing her source for a story on the outing of a CIA agent. (Shades of the Judith Miller/Valerie Plame Wilson case.) Here instead of the Iraq war we have an assignation attempt on the President supposedly by somebody in Venezuela after which the US takes some military action. Rachel ends up in jail and we get to see her suffer all the deprivations of being jail, getting beaten up, estranged from her son and her husband, who betrays her. She is doing all this to protect a source, and a kind of journalistic honor code. David Swimmer's character isn't interested in journalist honor codes. He is displeased that she cares more about protecting her source than in being with him and her son.

Clearly this is a Belt Way story told as a woman's POV flick. It is engaging and it moves right along. It is sharp, just a tad short of slick. We cannot help but identify with Kate Beckinsale's character. And when we find out at the very, very end whom she is protecting we understand. It is a nice twist, one of the cleverest I've seen in movies in quite a while. The end is just perfect.

I was about to write that "every soccer mom and indeed every mom will identify with Kate Beckinsale's character" but actually not all of them will. But when they see the ending they might change their mind.

See this for the clever twist, for the sharp direction and editing and for a fine performance by Kate Beckinsale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Director Lurie delivers the goods!, 27 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Director and Screenwriter Rod Lurie really came up trumps with "Nothing but the Truth" a feature about a reporter Rachel Armstrong(Kate Beckinsale)who reports the name of a CIA agent Erica Van Doren(Vera Farmiga)in her newspaper story when the US President retalliates after an assassination attempt on his life by Venezuelan terrorists and orders a strike back, ignoring information from Van Doren.Armstrong is questioned by Prosecuting Counsel Patton Dubois(Matt Dillon) to reveal her source but reuses and is jailed.Initially she copes, has the support of her newspaper, the interested public,friends and her husband and young child which give her strength.She is also supported by a lawyer from the newspaper,played by Noah Wyle(ER's Dr.Carter)then another Alan Burnside(Alan Alda) who promises her she will NOT be jailed, he knows the judge at her next hearing who is a friend and is "on my Christmas card list"?
Obviously the judge doesn't know because he ignores Burnsides pleas and this sends her life in a downward spiral.
Very well acted with especially strong performances from Kate Beckinsale and Vera Farmiga and Matt Dillon and David Schwimmer making you hate them for what they are doing, so they are extremely convincing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Political Thriller, 20 May 2013
This review is from: Nothing But The Truth [DVD] (DVD)
Well acted, great plot. Unlike some comments, I didn't think the ending was a let down. I didn't see it coming but maybe that says more about me... Love genre of movie, Hollywood need to make more. All the cast were really strong. It's quite a poignant tale for these times were journalists seem to have anything but morals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A straight to DVD flick..., 22 May 2013
This review is from: Nothing But The Truth [DVD] (DVD)
... that's actually pretty good. Kate Beckinsale is back where she belongs, portraying a strong-willed woman who's willing to sacrifice all for a principle. (Makes you wonder why she wasted QUITE so many years in leather trousers running after werewolves.) Matt Dillon equally good as her nemesis, the prosecutor who gets her sent to jail for refusing to reveal a source. And Vera Farmiga is excellent as the CIA operative whose cover is blown by Beckinsale in a scoop.

Okay, some it feels a bit like a telemovie. But it's powerful stuff, and the issues surrounding journalistic responsibility are intelligently discussed. A lot of reviewers, both professionals and amazons, see the film as a straightforward defence of journalistic freedom against government strong-arming. Actually, I think it's a bit more nuanced than that. Our sympathies are always with Beckinsale, but the film at least raises the question of whether journalists SHOULD be allowed to protect traitors and criminals -- and why? And while Matt Dillon is plainly the antagonist, his performance is so good that some of the time he actually convinces us that right is on his side.

James Caan was in the papers today, moaning about the state of modern Hollywood with its endless franchises, and wishing that films were more like they were in his day. NOTHING BUT THE TRUTH would cheer him up, because it's exactly like one of those intelligent 1970s films. For some reason it has just been re-released on DVD, five years after it was made (but never distributed). Hopefully it'll now get the exposure it deserves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A thriller that doesn’t need the ‘thrills’, 28 Jun 2014
This review is from: Nothing But the Truth (DVD)
Most – supposed – ‘thrillers’ tend to rely on high-octane stuff to try and keep their audiences on the edge of their seats. However, ‘Nothing But the Truth’ tends to shy away from this, choosing instead to just tell quite tense story – without anyone ever really being in much of a tense/life-threatening situation.

It tells the (almost true) story of a journalist (Kate Beckinsale) who ‘outs’ a CIA operative in her newspaper. Naturally, the government isn’t too happy about this and demands that she reveals her ‘source.’ She refuses and must suffer the consequences, or buckle.

The other thing that’s worth noting is that Kate Beckinsale probably gives her best performance to date. I’ve seen more than a few scathing comments online about how she ‘can’t act.’ Hopefully, if people watch her in this, they may just choose to reconsider and see her as more than just a vampire-huntess in leather.

Like I say, there’s no real ‘action’ or thrills, i.e. people being stalked through creepy locations. However, it is pretty tense. You will care about the characters and what happens to them. Plus it isn’t a short film. If you want to watch this, you’ll need nearly two hours of talking/tension to sit through. But, if you’re in the mood for that, you’ll find yourself rewarded with a rae thriller of the type that Hollywood doesn’t make many of these days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Twist at the End !, 23 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nothing But The Truth [DVD] (DVD)
Keeps you hooked right until the end , then for those of you that like twists , a superb one in the closing scenes. Highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worth watching, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nothing But The Truth [DVD] (DVD)
We did wonder where this was going, but then things began to fall into place. A good one to watch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nothing But The Truth [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Great movie with the best acctress!! Nice ending, and great play by David "The friend" (with the awful surname). Great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very good film, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nothing But The Truth [DVD] (DVD)
very good quality digital copy I am very pleased would recommend this film I watched this film again and would do it all over again
marvellous best film ever
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nothing But The Truth [Blu-ray]
Nothing But The Truth [Blu-ray] by Rod Lurie (Blu-ray - 2013)
5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews