Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful adaptation
I thought this was a lovely adaptation, very well cast and beautifully set. I was prompted to try and find it by the recent Radio 4 audio version of the Cazalet Chronicles. I nearly didn't buy it when I read the remarks about Dutch sub titles but they were very easy to turn off. As others have said, it is a great pity that the BBC did not continue the adaptation beyond...
Published 12 months ago by Mrs Elizabeth Gill

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sub titles in the wrong language!
I have a hearing problem and sub titles are very necessary to me. It seems extraordinary that DVDs sold in England should have Danish sub titles. I shall be seeking to return this product.
Published 3 months ago by Mr. A. G. WILSON


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 9 Jan 2014
This review is from: 2 DVD Box The Cazalets - Elizabeth Jane Howard - Region 2 - English Audio (DVD)
The DVD arrived on time but I had to send it back as it was faulty. The images kept pixelating and breaking up which made it impossible to watch. As others have mentioned subtitles easily turned off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cazalets - DVD, 19 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 2 DVD Box The Cazalets - Elizabeth Jane Howard - Region 2 - English Audio (DVD)
Never be as good as the books.....but acceptable to while away a wet/snowy afternoon.
Good for those who lack concentration re books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's FINALLY here!!, 2 April 2013
This review is from: 2 DVD Box The Cazalets - Elizabeth Jane Howard - Region 2 - English Audio (DVD)
I was searching for this as I've been desperately wanting to see it again (a fabulous series!) and on the off chance found it on Amazon! I am absolutely delighted it has finally arrived on region 2... now just please make it a bit cheaper! Many thanks in advance :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cazelets DVD, 2 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 2 DVD Box The Cazalets - Elizabeth Jane Howard - Region 2 - English Audio (DVD)
The advert never stated that, although it did say it was in the English language, that it would have Dutch (I think !) subtitles allthe way through, which I could not remove !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Atmospheric, 18 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 2 DVD Box The Cazalets - Elizabeth Jane Howard - Region 2 - English Audio (DVD)
Bought after hearing the Cazalet saga on Radio 4. Impossible to fathom why this is only available as a Dutch import but the subtitles are easy to turn off and enjoy as originally broadcast in the UK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One to watch, 28 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 2 DVD Box The Cazalets - Elizabeth Jane Howard - Region 2 - English Audio (DVD)
Have been looking out for this DVD for ages as I enjoyed it so much when it was on the television some years ago. Really enjoyed it and will watch it again in the future. Dutch subtitles weren't a problem as we could easily remove them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Foreign sub-titles, 8 Jun 2013
By 
Mrs. Alyson Farr (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 2 DVD Box The Cazalets - Elizabeth Jane Howard - Region 2 - English Audio (DVD)
I was disappointed that my viewing was spolit by Dutch sub-titles which could not be deleted. I have returned the DVD set and received a full refund.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excelent, 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 2 DVD Box The Cazalets - Elizabeth Jane Howard - Region 2 - English Audio (DVD)
wonderful lovely quality ,6 hours of pleasure ,Read all the books to stays pretty true,German sub titles but should be able to delete
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful drama, 12 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 2 DVD Box The Cazalets - Elizabeth Jane Howard - Region 2 - English Audio (DVD)
This is a really good costume drama, the actors interpret the characters from the books perfectly. I can only speculate why the BBC cut it. It does feel hurried at the end because the last books are not included. Its a shame that the BBC do not have a UK release but it is easy to turn off the Dutch subtitles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the wait, 19 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 2 DVD Box The Cazalets - Elizabeth Jane Howard - Region 2 - English Audio (DVD)
We have waited a while for this DVD and it was worth it. I enjoyed the books and this was a good adaptation of the first half of the saga. It was easy to become involved with the characters. It just took a few minutes to work out how to turn off the subtitles, as the instructions were in Dutch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews