Customer Reviews


199 Reviews
5 star:
 (115)
4 star:
 (44)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


77 of 79 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good But Not Hackable!!! Region 2 Only!!
This is a good basic machine,small and light.
I was surprised that even after taking a dvd out and putting it back in the next day it will continue playing from where it left off!!
Thats great for watching the rest of the disc but I found this a bit annoying after awhile until I realised that to get it back to the beginning just press the stop button twice...
Published 16 months ago by Haniel

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Has some problems.
This unit has several problems, a consequence of it being so cheap I guess.

Most importantly, it randomly skips and jerks in the middle of a film, which is incredibly annoying if you're in the middle of a good film.

It is slow and noisy, taking quite some time to turn on or off, with lots of load whirring of the disc.

The unit is very...
Published 5 months ago by Siskin


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

77 of 79 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good But Not Hackable!!! Region 2 Only!!, 30 July 2013
By 
This review is from: Sony DVPSR170 DVD Player (New for 2013) (Electronics)
This is a good basic machine,small and light.
I was surprised that even after taking a dvd out and putting it back in the next day it will continue playing from where it left off!!
Thats great for watching the rest of the disc but I found this a bit annoying after awhile until I realised that to get it back to the beginning just press the stop button twice.
Be warned though this is region 2 only.....I've looked everywhere on the web and this model is unhackable.
I thought I would find a code as I did for my Toshiba player but there isn't any:(

It's my fault for not spending the extra £10 and getting the multi region model.

Here is the amazon link for the multi region one which as of July 30th 2013 is £36.99

Sony DVPSR170 DVD Player MultiRegion

Hope that helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 21 July 2013
This review is from: Sony DVPSR170 DVD Player (New for 2013) (Electronics)
Fast delivery, excellent DVD player with a great picture and lots of different features. Would definitely recommend - a really good buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Budget Buy, 21 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony DVPSR170 DVD Player (New for 2013) (Electronics)
Excellent budget machine. No frills and quite tiny too, so suitable for a bedroom to add to an existing TV. Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Did what it said on the tin, 12 Oct 2013
By 
J. Sumner (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony DVPSR170 DVD Player (New for 2013) (Electronics)
Bought for my mum who needed a simple but reliable DVD player. Small compact and perfectly adequate and great price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant machine, 5 Dec 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony DVPSR170 DVD Player (New for 2013) (Electronics)
Brilliant little machine.
I have only had it for a couple of days but so far have watched part of a region 2 box set, played a music CD, watched photographs burned on to a DVD-R and watched a DVD RW disc on to which I burned a project which showed photographs with transitions and music added to it.
The biggest bonus of all is being able to put the DVD in and start from where it left off. My old player did not do this and it was a pain trying to remember where I left off. For £25 it does all the basic functions I need. OK, so no multi region playback but that I can live without as the player is only used occasionally - and it is small and compact. Recommend it highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Has some problems., 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony DVPSR170 DVD Player (New for 2013) (Electronics)
This unit has several problems, a consequence of it being so cheap I guess.

Most importantly, it randomly skips and jerks in the middle of a film, which is incredibly annoying if you're in the middle of a good film.

It is slow and noisy, taking quite some time to turn on or off, with lots of load whirring of the disc.

The unit is very light, which means it keeps sliding around on the shelf whenever you press a button. The buttons do not have a particularly good feel to them.

If you can get over the above issues, it does the job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DVD player, 11 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony DVPSR170 DVD Player (New for 2013) (Electronics)
Compact and simple to set up, just plug in and play. Controls half hidden by dark colour of the casing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Oh dear... Bought Sony expecting quality, 2 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony DVPSR170 DVD Player (New for 2013) (Electronics)
Bought 2. One of them stopped every few minutes even with a brand new dvd in it. The other only played in black and white and only very occasionally in colour even with gold scarts etc. Returned them and will spend a little more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Newer Sony DVD player not as good as previous model, 2 Dec 2014
This review is from: Sony DVPSR170 DVD Player (New for 2013) (Electronics)
Sony make great dvd players that are much better than most more expensive players. I have been buying them now for 5 years, I have had to replace them, they don't last that long though, but what does?. But this latest model the SR170 is not as good as the previous SR150. There are no phono leads so you can hook it up to an amp like the previous one. Did the manufacturers not realize this when playing CD's. Also the draw doesn't competely come out and you have to slide the disc's in, it's a bit more awkward!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars slowly went downhill, 11 Jan 2014
By 
Mr. William R. Booth "iceeagle" (Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony DVPSR170 DVD Player (New for 2013) (Electronics)
Bought in July 2013 (its now eary January 2014) worked well to begin with then since november is started failing and I dont use it much! 2 faults - it stutters (play 1/2 sec stop and pause for between 1 and 30 seconds)and it shows fault dirty disk - I could accept that for one disk but not for several brand new retail DVD's
Going to buy an LG replacement today - £25 isn't worth the delay and hasstle of trying to get it fxed under gaurantee
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sony DVPSR170 DVD Player (New for 2013)
£29.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews