Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Circus Days
The labels presented a wonderful mix of high school pop and Uptown Soul and in 1962 they were at their peak.Though the usual hits are here for the 1000th time there's plenty of bubbling under and outight flops.One Day is proving quite an interesting label
Published 15 months ago by Richard

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Mostly fun ....
A compilation of mid to late period rock'n'roll some of which verges on bubblegum ( eg :'Sunglasses' ) . Aside from the mostly well known Del Shannon tracks there are a few 'slipped under the radar should've been hits' here , notably 'White Bucks And Saddle Shoes' and 'Cleopatra' . The 'Return To Sender' paraphrase song 'Don't Want Your Letters' is an interesting...
Published 5 months ago by John


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Circus Days, 3 Jun 2013
This review is from: High Voltage: The Big Top Records Story 1958-1962 (Audio CD)
The labels presented a wonderful mix of high school pop and Uptown Soul and in 1962 they were at their peak.Though the usual hits are here for the 1000th time there's plenty of bubbling under and outight flops.One Day is proving quite an interesting label
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT CD, 25 May 2013
By 
C. A. Challis (Kent (UK)) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: High Voltage: The Big Top Records Story 1958-1962 (Audio CD)
one of a series of CDs all of which have lived up to expectations, if you like "old" Rock & Roll music this is one you will enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BIG TOP RECORDS, 2 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: High Voltage: The Big Top Records Story 1958-1962 (Audio CD)
Excellent, musically and great value for money.
An excellent look into the vaults of Big Top and a chance to hear other recordings by
some of the more well known artists and some of the lesser known.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hats Off To Larry That's a Step in the Right Direction Somewhere Cleopatra-, 10 Mar 2013
By 
Glenn Cook (South Cave, near Hull UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: High Voltage: The Big Top Records Story 1958-1962 (Audio CD)
This two Cd `High Voltage
The Big Top Records Story

1958 -1962' set consists of
ORIGINAL RECORDINGS by the original artists.

The title `High Voltage' has caused some confusion with other reviewers.

The title 'High Voltage' is a Johnny & The Hurricanes single dating from the early 60s, rather than Johnny Kidd & The Pirates. The number is actually on the album. (Disc 2 Track 1).
Incidentally my title is culled from four of the singles on this CD set.
(Thanks to Gerard Hennessy for pointing out my mistake with listing as Johnny Kidd)

It's just my way of singling (!) out my reviews from other reviewers.
Incidentally I don't regard this as a proper review in any sense it's just an aim to help people like me to see more clearly what's on the sets!

At this low low price at under a fiver means the cost is less than a modern day single CD.
The simple reason for the low price? The recordings are over 50 years old and may be `Public Domain' in the USA.

The sad fact is the majority of artists here are long since deceased.
Maybe when you hear the tracks again you could possibly like me say a little prayer for them?

But it's hard to work out which tracks are on the CD Amazon seemed to have jumbled all the tracks in one long set of lines.

If you are like me and find it hard to see exactly which tracks are on the two CDs then this easy to read list may help?

ORIGINAL RECORDINGS

CD 1

1. Runaway-Del Shannon
2. Down Yonder-Johnny & The Hurricanes
3. Don't Break My Heart-The Dream Girls
4. White Bucks And Saddle Shoes-Bobby Pedrick Jr.
5. Lavender Blue-Sammy Turner
6. Comin' Down With Love-Mel Gadson
7. What I Really Meant To Say-Don & Juan
8. Little Lover-Mike Drummond
9. Steady Kind-Mickey Denton
10. Don't Want Your Letters-Gerri Granger
11. The Snake-Maximillian
12. If-Jeri Lynn
13. Sun Glasses-The Shades
14. Hats Off To Larry-Del Shannon
15. I Wanna Love You-Liza Smith
16. Tell Me You're Mine-The Visions
17. Rockin' Goose-Johnny & The Hurricanes
18. If I Never Get To Love You-Lou Johnson
19. I Love You Like I Do-Parakeets
20. But Yesterday-Jamie Coe
21. Garden Of Eden-The Lincoln Trio
22. Crying-Rocky Hart & The Passions
23. Time to Rock-The Five Teenbeats
24. So Long Baby-Del Shannon
25. The Treasure in My Heart-Joey & The Ambers

CD2

1. High Voltage-Johnny & The Hurricanes
2. Betty Blue Eyes-Bobby Pedrick Jr.
3. Hey! Little Girl-Del Shannon
4. Baby You've Got It Made-Rocky Hart & The Passions
5. Midnight-Johnny Gibson
6. Somewhere- Willie Jones
7. That's a Step in the Right Direction-Dotty Clarke
8. Cleopatra-Jamie Coe
9. Always-Sammy Turner
10. I'll Never Let Her Go-John Price
11. You Better Let Him Go-Lou Johnson
12. The Twistin' Ghost-Maximilian
13. Traffic Jam-Johnny & The Hurricanes
14. Jilted-Spencer Stirling
15. The Swiss Maid-Del Shannon
16. Unchained Melody-Tony Middleton
17. What's Your Name-Don & Juan
18. All Through the Night-The Visions
19. Castle In The Sky-Gerri Granger
20. Your Lovey Dovey Ways-Bobbie Smith & The Dream Girls
21. Fever-Kenny Martin
22. Lets make up-The Doves
3. Red Hot-The Royal Jokers
24. Little Town Flirt-Del Shannon
25. Don't Look Now, But...The Honeytones
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Stuff From Big Top, 9 Mar 2013
This review is from: High Voltage: The Big Top Records Story 1958-1962 (Audio CD)
The songs here really take me back. I have fond memories of buying the original singles on the Big Top label. Sadly, I have lost many of them over the years, so was very pleased to find such a great compilation to restore my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lavender Blue!!!!, 26 Aug 2014
This review is from: High Voltage: The Big Top Records Story 1958-1962 (Audio CD)
Ok! Del Shannon outdid any other Big Top artist and you get his main hits from this collection, although only those that go up to 1962. "Little Town Flirt" was a big hit, but it should have been bigger. Instrumental house band Johnny & The Hurricanes are featured here! Why no "Red River Rock"? Definitely missing!

For me, Sammy Turner had a fabulous voice; very early Soul, a sound that would be heard later in the Sixties. In 1959 he took "Lavender Blue" to No. 3 on the national U.S. charts and even his follow-up hit "Always" was well-liked by the Beatles. Both are featured here.

Don & Juan had a Top 10 hit with "What's Your Name" from 1962, also featured here, and other than that, obscure hard-to-find songs from the Big Top catalog. Recommendable for collectors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Mostly fun ...., 10 Mar 2014
By 
John (Leicester , England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: High Voltage: The Big Top Records Story 1958-1962 (Audio CD)
A compilation of mid to late period rock'n'roll some of which verges on bubblegum ( eg :'Sunglasses' ) . Aside from the mostly well known Del Shannon tracks there are a few 'slipped under the radar should've been hits' here , notably 'White Bucks And Saddle Shoes' and 'Cleopatra' . The 'Return To Sender' paraphrase song 'Don't Want Your Letters' is an interesting novelty , as is Del Shannon's 'The Swiss Maid ' . Other 'honourable mentions' go to 'Little Lover' , 'If I never Get to Love You' and 'The Steady Kind' .This is mostly light hearted 'Juke Box' music from the era that 'Grease' and 'Happy Days' both celebrated .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Value, 4 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: High Voltage: The Big Top Records Story 1958-1962 (Audio CD)
A varied mixture of the familiar and not so but for the price, there are complaints regarding track selection; packaging or quality.
I would thoroughly recommend this label and CD's to anyone with a love of Rock N Roll and wanting or needing to expand their collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some clasic tunes, 6 Mar 2013
By 
Walter James (Aby, Lincolnshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: High Voltage: The Big Top Records Story 1958-1962 (Audio CD)
Del Shannon, Johnny and the hurricanes, The Lincoln Trio, Gerri Granger, some of my favourite artists on this terrific Big Top retrospective. I don't know what the other reviewer means, these are all correct and present as per the description...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews