Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just what you need for a long weekend in Amsterdam
Most people go to Amsterdam for a long weekend - not for weeks at a time. If you are one of those then this small pocket edition will be just the ticket. It gives clear descriptions of what to do, where to go and what to see. It has a handy fold out map and with this small guide you do not need anything more to get the very best of a short break in this fabulous visitor...
Published 11 months ago by Alec

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars About as good as any other
Guides like this are only every useful up to a point, because nothing beats walking around the city and finding things for yourself. But with that in mind, this little guide, the perfect size to drop into any bag when you head out, has enough in it to be useful all day long. The map is good, if not quite as detailed as some, and the sensible classification of things to do...
Published 10 months ago by ravenheart


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just what you need for a long weekend in Amsterdam, 1 Sep 2013
By 
Alec (Letchworth Garden City, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Most people go to Amsterdam for a long weekend - not for weeks at a time. If you are one of those then this small pocket edition will be just the ticket. It gives clear descriptions of what to do, where to go and what to see. It has a handy fold out map and with this small guide you do not need anything more to get the very best of a short break in this fabulous visitor friendly City. What is there not to like in Amsterdam? Good clear concise guide that does exactly what it should do and nothing more and nothing less. It is all you need, get it an EasyJet ticket and go
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars About as good as any other, 3 Oct 2013
By 
ravenheart (Rayleigh, ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Guides like this are only every useful up to a point, because nothing beats walking around the city and finding things for yourself. But with that in mind, this little guide, the perfect size to drop into any bag when you head out, has enough in it to be useful all day long. The map is good, if not quite as detailed as some, and the sensible classification of things to do depending on the kind of person you are is very helpful. For instance, people uninterested in the famed smoking and red light aspects of Amsterdam get these things clearly flagged in the book, so know what to avoid.

The restaurant recommendations are a bit lacking, but again that is something best found personally, and the canal walks are excellent. The sections on food, drink, museums, etc. are approached from a recommended "best of" angle, due to the need to keep things concise, and again this is only something useful up to a point. Really a comprehensive catalogue of all that is on offer under each heading, categorised appropriately (i.e. by cuisine) with indications of price, queueing/popularity etc. is much more helpful. The Dorling Kindersley ones do this.

If you really need to be taking your guide out with you, something like this is perfect, just don't expect it to be able to tell you everything. A better option is to get a bigger one with more in it and a removable map. Plan what you want to do, mark it on the map, and just take the map with you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Informative but annoying use of language, 25 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Pocket Amsterdam (Travel Guide) (Kindle Edition)
This guide is informative, and usefully covers areas just outside the main centre, which several other guides don't include. The pull out map was good for the purpose, and each area had its own detailed map within the guide which went beyond the coverage of the main map. However, my wife and I are somewhat over the age of 21 and found Karla Zimmerman's insistence on trendy 'young set' language quite annoying. Examples: Koningslijk Palace 'enter the Queen's digs and ogle...' 'she really shacks up in Den Haag'; Amsterdam Museum: 'keeps getting spiffier' 'seven whiz-bang time periods'; Rijksmuseum: 'Rembrandt's humungous, gape-worthy Night Watch leads the pack'. When the author drops the 'hip' and 'cool' style, there are actually some very sensible and concise passages, such as the page on canal development, and she includes many minor sights such as small museums, clearly marked on the area maps, which the heavier guides don't include.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 3 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was really helpful for a weekend in amsterdam. The maps are especially handy, as are the restaurant listings. We used the book all day everyday and would have been literally lost without it. I think the author had her beer googles when writing a couple of passages. The best canal walk recommended was horrible along some of the busiest roads full of exhaust fumes. The southern and western canal belt is much better if you want a pretty walk. Also the "prettiest road" in amsterdam was far from it and not worth the effort to go there. Other than that the book was v accurate and very good value for money given the extensive content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very convenient for a short stay, 8 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This guide was quite comprehensive given its size, I would definitely recommend it for a few days stays.
However there were a few inaccuracies, like museum opening times and entry fees, that disturbed our program a little bit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great size packed with information, 17 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have just bought this as I am planning a trip to Amsterdam. After using lonely planets guide to Paris I wanted to order the Amsterdam one straight away.
Its a great size yet has all the information laid out clearly. Its got tips and suggestions for your trip to make sure you make the most of your time. I cant wait for my trip so I can use this book to see the sights!
Also the pull out map is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very handy and updated
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 15 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Pocket Amsterdam (Travel Guide) (Kindle Edition)
Very disappointing to have a kindle version in which the links don't work! I didn't even use it at the end, because I couldn't find most of what I looked for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Escorted Around Amsterdam!, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Did the job, helped a family of five cycle around Amsterdam without getting lost! What more do we need from a long weekend away!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have looked through this book ahead of my travels to Amsterdam and find it very easy to read and think it will be very handy once over there. Also has given me great ideas about where I want to go etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews