Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars22
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 May 2013
Several commentators have already commented on the lack of DTS sound (never mind DTS MA or True HD like recent Joe Satrinai and Rush BRs) resulting in simply hopeless sound quality on anything even approaching a revealing system...did they do the mix and play back on some IPod headphones or something?
A pity as Coverdale sings really well ,the band play with great conviction and they play a good selection of new songs from the past couple of albums...though several more should have been included.
Really the DVD/CD package would be a more logical purchase as the Blu Ray Disc simply exposes the the lack of DTS or 1080P...why the Record Company even bothers releasing it in an HD format is just a complete waste of time. Disgraceful.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2013
There is inscription "2.0 Stereo" on the cover of BD. The same inscription is at the Frontiers Records web site. In fact we have DD 5.1. only on this disc. BD with Dolby Digital only may have good sound (for example, Roxy Music "Live At The Apollo"), but the sound of "Made In Japan" is not so good - a little muddy. Very strange, because Frontiers Records have excellent stereo soundtrack from this show (listen to the first CD from 2CD's set "Made In Japan" with the same set list). The question for Frontiers Records: where is PCM Stereo on this BD?
Video and show itself are good.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2013
The band has a great sound and amazing feeling, but that's not captured on this release...

I saw the band in 2011 and watched a lot of YouTube videos from throughout the year and the tones were always great.

The performance of the band is great, but IMO the recording didn't capture the sound of the band. The guitars sound overproduced. It's like the speakers are underwater and they're trying to reach out to surface and they lose some high-end and sweetness on the way...

Here's some fan footage, there's something on the guitar sound here that seems to be lacking on Made In Japan:
[...]
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2013
Great versions and top playing as usual but the I is terrible. Didn't believe it from other reviews but yes, the level is so bad my TV was nearly maxed out and still hard to hear.

Good job it goes though my power amp. That's the only way you'll get half decent level.

Great video but spoilt by these issues.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I bought the Amazon Instant Video version of this yesterday.

It seems that I may have missed out on a documentary in the special features, as the Instant Video version is just the concert.

As for the sound, I listened using headphones and thought that it was quite good. Really powerful and rocking. Coverdale sounds great, which I was surprised about as I hadn't paid him much attention. Brian Tichy on the drums is brilliant and the drum solo section is really entertaining - playing with chopsticks, his hands, and KNIVES. Very Zeppelin inspired.
The guitars also sound really great with Reb Beach and Doug Aldrich on fire. I think at one point I heard a slightly out of tune guitar, but apart from that, it's flawless. There is a guitar solo section too, which is only slightly creepy when Reb and Doug "duel".

I normally don't have the attention span to sit and watch a concert in its entirety, but I did with this one. It was about an hour and ten minutes I think, and pretty much kept me entertained the whole time.

I'm just disappointed that "All Out Of Luck" wasn't there.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2013
Great show, perfectly filmed although the images on the "Live in the still of the night" have a more artistic feel.
And the song from the killer album "Forevermore" make this bluray a must have, sexy guitarwork ...
After all the years DC's voice is just like a fine fine getting better with age ... I really like his bluesy voice ...
Conclusion: "Here's a bluray for ya"
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2013
This is the band beyond all bands, Rocky, Bluesy and a whole lot of Power, and the show is as awesome as the bands, although the members are getting older, the songs still sound fresh as ever.

Thank you so much Whitesnake.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2014
Is Mr Coverdale entirely live? If so yet another fault with the sound on this one. Enjoyable if you don't pay too much attention.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2013
THE WHOLE POINT OF BLU RAY IS TO GET HD SOUND/PICTURE, THIS RELEASE HAS NO HD OR DTS SOUND WHICH IS A SHAME AS IT CLEARLY NEEDS IT. THE OTHER REVIEWS HAVE TOUCHED ON IT AND IT JUST DOES NOT SOUND WRITE WITHOUT HD SOUND. THE PICTURE IS PERFECT BUT WITH MUSIC RELEASES SURELY SOUND IS IMPORTANT. I FEAR THE LABEL HAVE NO REAL PRESENCE IN THE BLU RAY MARKET AND ARE UNLIKELY TO SET THE WORLD ALIGHT HERE. WHILST THE SET LIST MINUS THE POINTLESS SOLOS ARE GOOD, IT LACKS DEPTH IN SONG CHOICE, YES THE HITS ARE THERE HOWEVER WHERE ARE THE REAL CORKERS FROM THE LAST 2 ALBUMS???

LAST YEAR PENDRAGON PULLED THE RELEASE OF THEIR FIRST BLU ROUND AS THEY FELT THE SOUND WAS POOR, THEY REMIXED IT AND THEN PUT IT OUT. COVERDALE SHOULD HAVE DONE THE SAME AS THIS IS HALF BAKED TO SAY THE LEAST.
22 comments|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2013
once again mr coverdale comes up with a excellant bluray shows he can still do it very very good the axe maniacs are realy playing some blistering solos
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)