Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
36
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 May 2014
I am reluctant to be critical of enthusiastic amateur histories, which are often (as in the present case) the only way in which light is shone on minor or neglected areas of history. I greatly admire the author's diligence in seeking out the relevant documentation about HMS Amphion, and his perseverance in filling out the entire life history of the vessel. In doing this, he has performed a valuable service to the broader field of naval history. Unfortunately, it is often a difficult read, and frequently lacking in contextual information; I read the book completely, but there were times when I felt like putting it down.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2015
A thoroughly rewarding account of one Royal Navy ship during the Napoleonic war. No massive battles involving huge fleets just the actions of one small ship mainly in the Med culminating an the last ship to ship battle until the Great War. Brilliant, easy reading.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2014
The author has researched thoroughly and penned a vivid account of the ships and men circa 1800/1815. He manages to create the atmosphere of the times fighting at sea- a mixture of sudden death or horrible injury , and rich rewards for captured booty. Recommended read for all maritime buffs!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2015
A fascinating little book that looks at the career of just one of the frigates that made up the navy in the time of the French Revolutionary and Napoleonic wars. Michael Feather's research comes straight from the archives and follows the vessel's progress from building slip to breaking up, and those familiar with the output of the various historic novelists will see where inspiration is likely to have been drawn from.

A great read. If only it were a little longer and gave yet more insight into the day-to-day life of the ship and its crews.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2015
This is potentially a great story but the book is self-published, has not been properly edited or proof-read and is full of errors which are at best irritating. Also there are no maps or illustrations. The 'Sources' promised in the contents list are missing from the e-version I bought but I suspect that apart from a few log books in the National Archives the author has done most of his research on wikipedia. Nevertheless, I would have given the author 7 out of 10 for effort and a couple more stars but for the egregious 'Postscript' in which he appears to support the probably illegal actions of a treasure-hunting company against the legitimate concerns of national governments and maritime archaeologists; it is an extraordinary position for someone supposedly interested in history to be more concerned about the share price of a dodgy company than about our international heritage.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2015
Written following the life of a ship, an intriguing variation on the more usual naval stories of the period. I thoroughly enjoyed this refreshing approach and indeed the story itself. I was surprised to learn of naval vessels being constructed locally at Mistley. Well written and enjoyable, albeit rather brief, hence the four stars.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2015
Comprehensively researched, competently written, contains just about everything you would ever need to know about this fighting ship. A good buy. Goodness knows why I don't award it five stars, but I don't.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2014
I found this an enjoyable and informative book. It isn't very long, and that's all to the good as there is no padding, just clear succinct and involving accounts of this important ship and these interesting times. Thank you.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2014
Interesting book but some spelling mistakes. Also, some chapters would not finish, the same pages coming up time after time, not very satisfying. Say five out of ten
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2014
I enjoyed reading it. An interesting rather than a brilliant book but very readable. If you're interested in naval history then you will enjoy it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)