Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Considered
Great book with practical advice and list of actual products used. Photos of finished pieces show a real consideration for the design chosen for each piece of furniture.
Published 15 months ago by cathy deegan

versus
15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Basic advice, wrong advice and unimaginitive
I was really excited about purchasing this book. I checked the reviews and it looked like it was exactly what I was after. However when it arrived I discovered the techniques described were all pretty basic. She takes sometimes beautiful pieces of antique furniture and wrecks them. Her approach does not seem to consider the piece in question and be sensitive to it's...
Published 9 months ago by Ms. V. Davis


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Basic advice, wrong advice and unimaginitive, 23 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Furniture Makeovers hc (Hardcover)
I was really excited about purchasing this book. I checked the reviews and it looked like it was exactly what I was after. However when it arrived I discovered the techniques described were all pretty basic. She takes sometimes beautiful pieces of antique furniture and wrecks them. Her approach does not seem to consider the piece in question and be sensitive to it's shape etc. She also gives poor advice at times, such as suggesting you wipe over a freshly sanded wooden piece of furniture with a damp towel. That is absolutely the last thing you should ever do, it will raise the grain of the wood and undo all that work sanding! I found the author to be a bit of an idiot and I didn't learn anything new. In addition this is an American book so some of the products she talks about aren't well known here (such as mod podge which I discovered is an expensive way to purchase pva glue). There were no interesting techniques, just paint, sand back or decoupage. Nothing new and nothing interesting. On the plus side, if you don't have any common sense and don't know one end of paintbrush from the other then this might be the book for you. The explanations she gives are very clear. This is the only good thing I can say about this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Considered, 15 Sep 2013
This review is from: Furniture Makeovers hc (Hardcover)
Great book with practical advice and list of actual products used. Photos of finished pieces show a real consideration for the design chosen for each piece of furniture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Furniture Makeovers hc (Hardcover)
This is a fantastic resource for the enthusiastic DIY decorist! It is extremely helpful and demystifies the various techniques. I have just finished my first piece and can't wait to start my next project. Brava Barb Blair :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars bought it as a present and they liked it alot, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Furniture Makeovers hc (Hardcover)
If you want to tart up furniture this is a great place to start. Good ideas, easy to follow with lots of pictures
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 19 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Furniture Makeovers: Simple Techniques for Transforming Furniture with Paint, Stains, Paper, Stencils, and More (Kindle Edition)
I really love this book , there is so much to learn but this book makes it fun and easy x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Furniture Makeovers hc (Hardcover)
Brilliant book good read & fab pictures. Would recommend to anyone interested in learning about painting weather starting out or more experienced
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ... contents were not as informative as I would have liked., 12 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Furniture Makeovers hc (Hardcover)
The book contents were not as informative as I would have liked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For my brother in law, 9 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Furniture Makeovers hc (Hardcover)
This book has great pictures! Ive got it for my brother in law for Christmas as he thinks he knows what hes doing to restore furniture! This should set him straight :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Furniture Makeovers hc (Hardcover)
Arrived in great condition and I am very impressed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Furniture Makeovers hc (Hardcover)
good book - good customer service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews