Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read
Fantastic, down to earth, up front account. Really funny in parts. Steve Fowler would be one hell of a friend...
Published 20 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hardcore
I bought this as a fan of Aston Villa rather than a fan of the genre so I can only really compare this to Heroes and Villans, the book about the 70-80's hooligans.

Ubnlike the other book, you don't get the feeling of lovable rogues about this lot. Although they stress the point that fighting came before the football in some cases, it appears that they are not...
Published on 1 Aug. 2009 by Downesyboy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good read, 11 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hardcore (Kindle Edition)
I bought the book as I have got to know many of the people in it over the yrs.
I found it a good honest account from people I have always been made welcome by.
The introduction to the fat squad still has me chuckling , you have to know them i guess to know the banter with that.
As someone that aint a villa fan I cant say if everything is glossy or bang on but knowing the lads that have given accounts
I would say its been honestly written.
Total different in style to the other villa book which is also a very good read.
real good set of lads that took me in as an outsider and looked after me on many occassions, when I have been down in brum
for games and even invited me along to a villa , blues game and a few trips up to the north east.
real band of brothers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars birminghams finest.. end of.., 27 July 2010
This review is from: Hardcore (Paperback)
Superb read. I know loads in the book and every detail is spot on. Ten twenty thirty or more Fowlers boys were always game. Steven Fowler villa legend. Well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 27 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hardcore (Kindle Edition)
Good read about a proper firm
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars ... is so far off the mark relating to the Happy Trooper being a racist firm or pub total bull ..., 5 Mar. 2015
This review is from: Hardcore (Paperback)
As a x Trooper from the original firm late 70ts early 80ts to using the place til it shut the book is so far off the mark relating to the Happy Trooper being a racist firm or pub total bull s*** and lack of knowledge, if people are gonna slag you off then get the facts
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 13 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hardcore (Kindle Edition)
good book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended read, 23 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hardcore (Kindle Edition)
Although I'm not into football violence ,but understand that there's more to it than violence .
The bond between them seems immense helping each other when fallen on hard times.i come from the same area as Steven does al though I have never actually met the man ,so I can relate to a lot that he writes about.
Extremely well written and well formulated a recommended read .
Well done to Steven fowler and good luck with your future
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 8 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hardcore (Paperback)
Good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars villa softcore, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hardcore (Kindle Edition)
poorly wrote villa never had a firm top firm around that era was stoke city or forest not aston villa
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A misleading account by the misled, 24 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hardcore (Kindle Edition)
The bonus is that some blokes got together and wrote a book, well, thinking about it maybe its not a bonus. This scribble is accurate to an extent, i suppose the fact things they reference happened to an extent, and in general they tell the truth. The outcomes are a bit different mind, but then I suppose it depends on which side of the divide you stood. Villa have generally been a low profile firm, they have never really pulled up trees. They did participate on the England scene, but this guy Fowler reckons he was pretty much at the top of the tree, this is doubtful, if not extremely incorrect. By this I mean he keeps referencing when he was recognised, who recognised him and when. It is as if he is looking for conformation that what he says happened and is true. As i said its all debatable, especially with this firm, I have no doubt they had their victories, but then again everyone did. Its just that the way this book is written you would think they were the top boys, they are not. Especially with England. I do know that most 'not' of a Villa persuasion would concur. Best filed under part fiction.
70/30 in favour of fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring, 3 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hardcore (Kindle Edition)
I'm always bored when I read this type of book. You never get into the mind of the hooligan. It's always the same, 'we went to their manor, took liberties, did them in' etc etc. I would like it if they told you what makes them tick, why they do this type of thing, what's the true reason for them behaving in this way. 'Running with the Firm' was a far more enjoyable read, far more insightful and interesting. 'Hardcore' is a waste of paper and time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hardcore
Hardcore by Michael Lutwyche
£2.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews