Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read
Fantastic, down to earth, up front account. Really funny in parts. Steve Fowler would be one hell of a friend...
Published 11 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hardcore
I bought this as a fan of Aston Villa rather than a fan of the genre so I can only really compare this to Heroes and Villans, the book about the 70-80's hooligans.

Ubnlike the other book, you don't get the feeling of lovable rogues about this lot. Although they stress the point that fighting came before the football in some cases, it appears that they are not...
Published on 1 Aug 2009 by Downesyboy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hardcore, 1 Aug 2009
By 
Downesyboy (Riyadh, Saudi Arabia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hardcore (Paperback)
I bought this as a fan of Aston Villa rather than a fan of the genre so I can only really compare this to Heroes and Villans, the book about the 70-80's hooligans.

Ubnlike the other book, you don't get the feeling of lovable rogues about this lot. Although they stress the point that fighting came before the football in some cases, it appears that they are not much more than a bunch of blokes interested in getting drunk and finding a fight.

Michael Lutwyche does try to explain at the front of the book why this is (and he raises some interesting points) but as a fan raised outside Birmingham, some of the anti Birmingham City references cannot be fully appreciated.

Not a bad book, probably better if you're around 35 and based in the midlands as you could probably identify better with the writer and his mates.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, 25 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hardcore (Kindle Edition)
Fantastic, down to earth, up front account. Really funny in parts. Steve Fowler would be one hell of a friend...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hardcore, 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hardcore (Kindle Edition)
Quality read (cardiff fan) honesty is best policy! Didn't know they had a firm but sound like a tight knit bunch of lads
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hardcore, 29 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hardcore (Paperback)
Okay, but Danny Browns book was possibly more of a tilt at what it meant to be a Villa fan first and foremost, rather than a list of battle honours. If you want nostalgia from the heady beginnings of terrace subculture, then this is'nt for you. But, if you were part of the 'scene' post-C Crew (or just on the periphery), then it will probably be more of an interest......and whet your appetite for more of the genre. I was bought up on the Holte terraces of the seventies, so this was less likely to rock my boat anyway.
Some decent pics though and a fair few faces to boot. Definitely worth a punt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Straight to the point, 18 Nov 2011
This review is from: Hardcore (Paperback)
An honest account by 2 lads who were in the thick of it.

If they got a result they say so, if they didn't they say so - which you can't say for the majority of books on the subject of football hooliganism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars really enjoyed this book, 9 Feb 2010
This review is from: Hardcore (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this book. All the members give their own individual accounts with some honest admissions of defeats and successes in equal measure. The author also mentioned some good points well made in the first chapter. I read it as a Villa fan and if your into these books its worth a read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Really Good Read, 1 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hardcore (Kindle Edition)
This is definitely one of, if not the best hooligan books you will read. Honest accounts of some fierce battles from lads who have done time in the name of their clubs and their mates, with some really funny stories chucked in. Fowler sounds like a man you would want in your corner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Honest, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hardcore (Kindle Edition)
One of the best FV books I've read, honest stories of villas firm, no over the top BS just honest accounts of how it was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good read, 11 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hardcore (Kindle Edition)
I bought the book as I have got to know many of the people in it over the yrs.
I found it a good honest account from people I have always been made welcome by.
The introduction to the fat squad still has me chuckling , you have to know them i guess to know the banter with that.
As someone that aint a villa fan I cant say if everything is glossy or bang on but knowing the lads that have given accounts
I would say its been honestly written.
Total different in style to the other villa book which is also a very good read.
real good set of lads that took me in as an outsider and looked after me on many occassions, when I have been down in brum
for games and even invited me along to a villa , blues game and a few trips up to the north east.
real band of brothers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars birminghams finest.. end of.., 27 July 2010
This review is from: Hardcore (Paperback)
Superb read. I know loads in the book and every detail is spot on. Ten twenty thirty or more Fowlers boys were always game. Steven Fowler villa legend. Well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hardcore
Hardcore by Michael Lutwyche
1.44
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews