Customer Reviews


239 Reviews
5 star:
 (129)
4 star:
 (63)
3 star:
 (25)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining Lincoln Rhyme Novel.
Lincoln Rhyme continues to fight and progress from his wheelchair bound quadriplegia in the same way he attacks his cases. Aided by his loving Amelia Sachs he is on an investigation into a professional assassination of an outspoken critic of US foreign policy, Robert Moreno, in the Bahamas. Assistant New York District Attorney enlists Lincoln Rhyme's expertise in...
Published 19 months ago by ACB(swansea)

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing
I usually enjoy all of Jeffrey Deaver's books, but I found this to be soooo disappointing. Remember The bone collector with all twists & turns - well this one was so predictable! Nothing out of the ordinary at alll. It felt forced & heavy. Once again so disappointed
Published 20 months ago by Mrs. Doreen Eifiona Rider


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining Lincoln Rhyme Novel., 17 Aug. 2013
By 
ACB(swansea) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Lincoln Rhyme continues to fight and progress from his wheelchair bound quadriplegia in the same way he attacks his cases. Aided by his loving Amelia Sachs he is on an investigation into a professional assassination of an outspoken critic of US foreign policy, Robert Moreno, in the Bahamas. Assistant New York District Attorney enlists Lincoln Rhyme's expertise in fact-finding with an agenda to enhance their personal profile and ambitions whilst implicating a higher US government official in the conspiracy to add to the confrontations that follow.

Jeffrey Deaver delivers the narrative that follows in a pacey and twisting style. Rhyme and Amelia Sachs piece together the minutiae of evidence in their characteristic obsessional manner. The assassin is ruthless and a step or two ahead of the pursuers, thinking nothing of torturing and murdering potential witnesses and informants of the crime.

The chase for the perpetrator and the people giving the orders and back-up are intriguing if at times implausible. The plot overall is somewhat familiar but still an enjoyable read if not up to Deaver's very best. Well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing, 5 Aug. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I usually enjoy all of Jeffrey Deaver's books, but I found this to be soooo disappointing. Remember The bone collector with all twists & turns - well this one was so predictable! Nothing out of the ordinary at alll. It felt forced & heavy. Once again so disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 1 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Kill Room: Lincoln Rhyme Book 10 (Kindle Edition)
Very much a Lincoln Rhyme fan and have read all previous books.This was a big disappointment the plot was slow to build and characters bland.I will not be looking forward to the next book with so much enthusiasm .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing special, 2 July 2013
Ive read most of mr deavers books and generally enjoy them. This one was standard lincoln rhyme fayre with some twists and lincoln actually leaving his room! BUT i sort of wanted more. some background sections were overly long, the book could have had a little more excitement for my liking. I think deaver fans wont dislike it but i dont think its one of his best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok, 27 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Usually LOVE this series of books but this one disappointed me. Where's the twists and turns and suspense, I want a real baddie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not up to standard!, 21 Aug. 2013
This review is from: The Kill Room: Lincoln Rhyme Book 10 (Kindle Edition)
I normally love Jeffrey Deavers books!! I think I have them all and have loved every one apart from this one. I almost packed it in half way through as it was so boring but forced myself to finish it in case it got better. It didn't. Very disappointing,frustrating and hard to get into. I LOVE Lincoln Rhyme so I will buy his next one in the hope Jeffrey gets back on top form !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK, 1 Mar. 2014
This review is from: The Kill Room: Lincoln Rhyme Book 10 (Kindle Edition)
I have read tbe majority of the Lincoln Rhyme books and have enjoyed them despite finding the main characters Lincoln and Amelia quite unlikable. I now give up - Lincoln is a thoroughly nasty piece of work to all except Amelia and I'm sick to death of Amelia's arthritis! To me the oft repeated problems of being a quadriplegic or having arthritis (wish I could run about with my bad knee!) gets in the way of the story! I do get it - they are brilliant criminalists despite awful adversity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Deaver page-turner, 4 Jan. 2015
By 
Cloggie Downunder (Australia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
The Kill Room is the tenth full-length novel in the Lincoln Rhyme series by American author, Jeffery Deaver. Lincoln Rhyme, Amelia Sachs and the team are asked to assist in the case of an assassination, but the case has political implications. Assistant DA, Nance Laurel is determined to get a conviction against Shreve Metzger, the head of the Washington-sanctioned National Intelligence and Operations Service, for authorising the shooting of an out-spoken anti-American activist in his hotel room in the Bahamas on insufficient evidence of potential threat.

With no crime scene to examine, and virtually no cooperation from the Bahamian Police, Rhyme and Sachs find it difficult to make progress. And keeping their investigation under wraps is difficult as the NIOS seems to have inside information: possible witnesses and sources are being eliminated even as the team are on their way to investigate, and soon, it seems, members of the team themselves are also in danger.

This instalment touches on several topical themes: the ethics of pe-emptive strike; anger management; the selective dissemination of information; and the use of unmanned aerial vehicles. Deaver has Rhyme travelling to the Bahamas, but handles this much more realistically than Patterson’s excursion to Africa for Alex Cross. There is a wealth of information about knives, guns and bullets, as well as quite a bit on recipes and cooking.

Deaver will need to have his own legal team at the ready: there are so many twists and turns in both plot and characters that some reader is bound to sue for whiplash injury. He gives the reader several exciting climaxes and a truly ruthless killer, but nothing is quite what it first seems in this Deaver page-turner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Smoke Gets In Your Eyes, 12 Feb. 2014
Jeffrey Deaver has long been a favourite thriller writer of mine and ‘The Vanished Man’(2003) holds pride of place among that genre on my bookshelf. Now it will be joined by ‘The Kill Room’(2013) because, from a different angle, it’s a good example of what might be called ‘misdirection’. The following is NOT a spoiler regarding the plot but a warning to you to think before you follow a trail to nowhere in your anticipation of THE answer. If you just close your eyes and let the thriller-writer take you where they will, then you’ll be ok but you’ll miss half the fun.
In ‘The Vanished Man’ the ‘perp’ fascinates the reader by bamboozling the supremely competent team led by Lincoln Rhyme. Deaver uses short chapters and rapid change of scene to lead the reader on a wonderful trail of ‘misdirection’: every time the team pounce their quarry has gone. In ‘The Kill Room’ the team led by Rhyme bamboozle themselves and so they produce their own false trails which lead the reader ‘up the garden path’. As you’re following Rhyme, Sachs et al and willing them to succeed this enables the thriller to enthral you.
Of course, the real force behind it all is Jeffrey Deaver and he sets up the questions. You’re presented with a plot centring on the assassination of an ‘awkward’ critic of US policy, along with two examples of ‘collateral damage’. But is that true? Then witnesses are being eliminated. But that men there is one killer or a killer plus assistant or….. Think. Is the killer being masterminded from an obscure room in Washington? Are you sure? Is the identity of the whistle-blower starting the case really important?
The method appears again and again. A short scene, a cliff-hanger and BANG! You’re wrong. Somebody’s role in the story has been refined over chapters and you know where they fit in – but it wasn’t really essential, after all. The team KNOW what’s going on – but then it turns out they’re really in the wrong ball-park. Deaver himself is the master of misdirection, the weaver of fantasies, the provider of clues which turn out duds and ’asides’ which provide the answers.
You may not read ‘The Kill Room’ in a single session but I bet, like me, you’ll wish you had. Easily worth 5 stars.
PS
Now for a spoiler
Don’t think everything’s done & dusted at the end with the guilty getting their deserts, it isn’t.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Solid, but not a stand out for this reader, 21 Aug. 2013
By 
3.5/5 Jeffery Deaver's latest book is The Kill Room, the tenth entry in The Lincoln Rhyme series.

Retired NYPD investigator Lincoln Rhyme and his partner Amelia Sachs are approached by Assistant District Attorney Nance Laurel to pursue an unusual case - that of a U.S. citizen killed by a sniper in the Bahamas. The catch? It's a U.S. alphabet agency who ordered the hit. But was the assassination ordered on faulty information? Is there a clandestine group operating on their own within the agency?

Deaver takes Rhyme out in the field in The Kill Room, with quadriplegic Lincoln heading to the kill site in the Bahamas. It was refreshing to see him operate outside of the normal townhouse setting. Sachs continues to work the case in New York.

The personal relationship between Sachs and Rhyme continues to grow and I enjoy their interaction. Favourite supporting cast members such as Thom, Lon Selitto and Ron Pulaski return.

The killer is especially nasty this time out and has a cooking fetish -and a sharp knife to go along with it. (Deaver has helpfully provided full recipes of the killer's dishes.) And although I found his initial chapters quite chilling, they grew repetitive. The head of the agency was also a bit of a disappointment. Early attempts to sway us on this character definitely work - our thinking is steered in one direction, but the ending takes another tack and just didn't ring true for me.

Rhyme continues to employ his whiteboard technique to list the clues and connections when on a case. I enjoy them the first couple of times as they help to cement the clues in my mind. But subsequent entries repeat and add to the tune of 10+ pages and I found myself skipping those pages. The forensic leaps and connections made by Rhyme are always fun, with a Holmes-like feel to them.

The plotting is ambitious and original. We are aware of who the killer is and are privy to his thoughts. We are kept guessing as to who his handlers might be. Deaver inserts some timely social commentary into this latest offering. He presents many viewpoints, letting readers make their own judgement on what is ethically right or wrong.

I've enjoyed Lincoln matching wits with killers in previous book, but found I didn't enjoy this one quite as much - perhaps too much political comment for me. I prefer a good, old serial killer. The Kill Room was a solid read, but not a stand out for this reader
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Kill Room: Lincoln Rhyme Book 10
£3.66
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews