Customer Reviews


198 Reviews
5 star:
 (101)
4 star:
 (54)
3 star:
 (23)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining Lincoln Rhyme Novel.
Lincoln Rhyme continues to fight and progress from his wheelchair bound quadriplegia in the same way he attacks his cases. Aided by his loving Amelia Sachs he is on an investigation into a professional assassination of an outspoken critic of US foreign policy, Robert Moreno, in the Bahamas. Assistant New York District Attorney enlists Lincoln Rhyme's expertise in...
Published 12 months ago by ACB (swansea)

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing
I usually enjoy all of Jeffrey Deaver's books, but I found this to be soooo disappointing. Remember The bone collector with all twists & turns - well this one was so predictable! Nothing out of the ordinary at alll. It felt forced & heavy. Once again so disappointed
Published 12 months ago by Mrs. Doreen Eifiona Rider


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining Lincoln Rhyme Novel., 17 Aug 2013
By 
ACB (swansea) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Lincoln Rhyme continues to fight and progress from his wheelchair bound quadriplegia in the same way he attacks his cases. Aided by his loving Amelia Sachs he is on an investigation into a professional assassination of an outspoken critic of US foreign policy, Robert Moreno, in the Bahamas. Assistant New York District Attorney enlists Lincoln Rhyme's expertise in fact-finding with an agenda to enhance their personal profile and ambitions whilst implicating a higher US government official in the conspiracy to add to the confrontations that follow.

Jeffrey Deaver delivers the narrative that follows in a pacey and twisting style. Rhyme and Amelia Sachs piece together the minutiae of evidence in their characteristic obsessional manner. The assassin is ruthless and a step or two ahead of the pursuers, thinking nothing of torturing and murdering potential witnesses and informants of the crime.

The chase for the perpetrator and the people giving the orders and back-up are intriguing if at times implausible. The plot overall is somewhat familiar but still an enjoyable read if not up to Deaver's very best. Well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing, 5 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I usually enjoy all of Jeffrey Deaver's books, but I found this to be soooo disappointing. Remember The bone collector with all twists & turns - well this one was so predictable! Nothing out of the ordinary at alll. It felt forced & heavy. Once again so disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 1 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Kill Room (Lincoln Rhyme Book 10) (Kindle Edition)
Very much a Lincoln Rhyme fan and have read all previous books.This was a big disappointment the plot was slow to build and characters bland.I will not be looking forward to the next book with so much enthusiasm .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok, 27 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Usually LOVE this series of books but this one disappointed me. Where's the twists and turns and suspense, I want a real baddie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing special, 2 July 2013
Ive read most of mr deavers books and generally enjoy them. This one was standard lincoln rhyme fayre with some twists and lincoln actually leaving his room! BUT i sort of wanted more. some background sections were overly long, the book could have had a little more excitement for my liking. I think deaver fans wont dislike it but i dont think its one of his best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not up to standard!, 21 Aug 2013
This review is from: The Kill Room (Lincoln Rhyme Book 10) (Kindle Edition)
I normally love Jeffrey Deavers books!! I think I have them all and have loved every one apart from this one. I almost packed it in half way through as it was so boring but forced myself to finish it in case it got better. It didn't. Very disappointing,frustrating and hard to get into. I LOVE Lincoln Rhyme so I will buy his next one in the hope Jeffrey gets back on top form !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rhyme?, 17 April 2014
By 
Jacqueline Howard "jhow" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love all of Lincoln rhyme books but this was slow boring and predictable ,what happened to the great rhyme stories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK, 1 Mar 2014
This review is from: The Kill Room (Lincoln Rhyme Book 10) (Kindle Edition)
I have read tbe majority of the Lincoln Rhyme books and have enjoyed them despite finding the main characters Lincoln and Amelia quite unlikable. I now give up - Lincoln is a thoroughly nasty piece of work to all except Amelia and I'm sick to death of Amelia's arthritis! To me the oft repeated problems of being a quadriplegic or having arthritis (wish I could run about with my bad knee!) gets in the way of the story! I do get it - they are brilliant criminalists despite awful adversity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Precision and tension and Lincoln Rhyme, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Kill Room (Lincoln Rhyme Book 10) (Kindle Edition)
I am a fan of Lincoln Rhyme and therefore of Jeffrey Deaver so this will be a biased review.

You can pick up a brief plot description here [...]

I want to stress to any new reader that with these books you get all the information to solve the crimes, to identify the perpetrators and those clues are repeated every so often with a review of a whiteboard that Lincoln uses to map out the known facts. Yet every time there is some small detail that I, as a reader, have missed and when its happened and the criminal revealed have gone "That's it!"

I enjoy the use of the English language that Deaver uses, his ability to end a chapter in one tense moment then follow it through the following chapter with some thing different or even funny so its not all high tension. The characters are juan, they have their aches and pains and conceits and foibles which makes the book so readable.

My advice however, to any new reader, is to read the Lincoln Rhyme books in order - then you will know the back stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Targeted Assassinations !!, 3 April 2014
By 
David H J Ashdown (Wales) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
An interesting book about targeted assassinations carried out by a covert American government department closely allied to CIA operations. The killings are to rid the USA of unfriendly persons who seek to overthrow the capitalist ideal or are suspected of it. These assassinations are leaked to the FBI by a whistle blower and it falls to Lincoln Rhyme et al to get to the bottom of the mystery. Plenty of twists and turns with an unexpected ending make this an excellent story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Kill Room (Lincoln Rhyme Book 10)
3.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews