Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


55 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent For a Vampire Film
Here, we are given a pair of two hundred year old vampires Clara (Gemma Arterton) and Eleanor (Saoirse Ronan), who drift from place to place in hopes of finding peace and comfort, without any trouble. To uphold the average human lifestyle, Clara 'works' for the money to support her and her daughter Eleanor, as they approach a quiet seaside town, one which holds distant,...
Published 10 months ago by connorf95

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A vampire film for adults
A slow burn but well acted and tense horror film, this sees Neil Jordan's first vampire movie since Interview With A Vampire about 2 women who move to a small coastal town. They have a secret that soon becomes clear, they are vampires. While not the best vampire film or best that director Neil Jordan has ever done either Byzantium while slow is a haunting film and...
Published 5 months ago by Mr. R. W. Graham


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

55 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent For a Vampire Film, 2 Jun 2013
Here, we are given a pair of two hundred year old vampires Clara (Gemma Arterton) and Eleanor (Saoirse Ronan), who drift from place to place in hopes of finding peace and comfort, without any trouble. To uphold the average human lifestyle, Clara 'works' for the money to support her and her daughter Eleanor, as they approach a quiet seaside town, one which holds distant, dark and harsh memories for both of them, which begin to resurface with the return of certain characters from the past.
Neil Jordan has directed yet another entertaining and dark, historical vampire horror, that focuses more on a gritty atmosphere and a well-structured storyline with a narrative, much like IWTV, than the gore-laden sub-category of a vampire film. The blood isn't frequent compared to other modern-day horrors, but on the occasions when blood is present, there's a lot of it. The dark atmosphere and the quiet location of the seaside town add to the story as it creates references that connect with Whitby; the location of Bram Stoker's original novel. The soundtrack for Byzantium perfectly reflects the strained relationships between Clara and Eleanor as well as Eleanor and Frank (Caleb Landry Jones), especially Ronan's hypnotising piano sequence in the restaurant, which creates a somber atmosphere. Thankfully the atmosphere is held throughout the film and it never distracts us from the main storyline. I love this film because I had relatively low hopes for it, as I was more interested in watching The Purge, which we went to see straight after Byzantium finished in the cinema. It's funny how Byzantium proved to be much better than The Purge. The acting, the location, the story, and of course, the Blood Red Waterfalls on the coal black island, all contribute to this fine piece of cinema which I would surely watch again. It is well worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great vampire film, 29 Sep 2013
By 
moi (Paris, France.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The actors are really brilliant, and so are the director and the screenplay. I hadn't enjoyed a vampire film so much since Jordan's Interview with the vampire. Watching Byzantium is the perfect way of rinsing your mind if, like me, you once had to watch insipid, mawkish and boring Twilight.The Blu Ray edition achieves great picture and sound quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer beauty, 19 Oct 2013
This movie is utterly beautiful. A great storyline, ravishingly beautiful and competent actors, great locations and camera work second to none. Highest recommendations! You won't regret buying this splendid bluray!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glorious, 24 Jan 2014
By 
Rachel "rachel337" (Brighton, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Byzantium [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
A stunningly original film, full of yearning and sadness, this has to be one of the best things I have watched for a very long time.

Quality Vampire fiction is out there and relatively easy to find but quality Vampire films are a rare breed indeed. Byzantium manages to be one such film through a combination of original elements, intricately woven amongst staples of the genre.

Two female Vampires live a transient existence, fleeing from those who hunt them. The pursuers are no Van Helsings but their own kind. In languorous, dreamlike flashback and modern day counterpoint, their relationships to each other and the strikingly different ways they view the world unfold. Flashback in film is often tricky to pull off, making one element always seem to over power the other but Jordan skilfully interweaves the narratives making both equally compelling and surprising.

Part horror, part drama laced with love and loss, this film is one for true Vampire fans. Saoirse Ronan, who plays Eleanor and Gemma Arterton, (of whom I am not normally a fan) playing Clara act their socks off, fully inhabiting the strange and lonely lives of the immortal. Caleb Landry Jones, who plays Frank, a teenage lad who tries to befriend Eleanor is a revelation in a pivotal role that would have been easy to crash and burn. His yearning is painfully real to watch and it is he that in many ways drives the piece, providing a glimpse of a life that Eleanor wants but can never have.

Neil Jordan's direction and vision is utterly perfect for the subject matter, rendering the film a visual and aural delight as much as an absorbing story. The colours, the lighting, the setting and above all, the knife edge between savagery and vulnerability is handled with masterful subtlety.

For the true aficionado there are markers from the canon of historical and modern Vampire mythology to be found. Numerous in-genre name checks and esoteric gothic touches give this an additional depth for the well-read Vampire fan. Highly recommended and one I will watch again and again. A glorious, gothic masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Haunting, powerful film, 23 July 2013
Brooding, sometimes bleak, thoughtful, occasionally gory, and with a heart-rending emotional impact, this unique film is dominated by the extraordinary and very different performances of the two leads.

To classify this simply as a vampire movie is to seriously misrepresent it. Although the two central characters are immortal and live on human blood (but thankfully no fangs, no sleeping in coffins, no going up in a puff of smoke in the sunlight, and other worn vampire cliches), it is about much, much more. About two women living in a male-dominated world, always on the run from those that would hurt them. About two women stuck in a co-dependent relationship and where this leads (no plot spoilers here!). About what a woman might do to protect her child. About a young woman battling with her contradictory impulses to be alone and to be heard. About survival. And much, much more.

The film is a visual feast. Mundane scenes of a tacky, cold and wet, out-of-season seaside resort are interspersed with powerful images - two women walking across a cabbage field, an insect crawling across Eleanor's face, a waterfall of blood, Eleanor seeing herself across a span of two centuries, a sudden flight of birds. (EDIT: or were they bats? I saw them described as bats on another discussion board, which would make sense for flying creatures emerging from a place of special significance to vampires, but the way they wheel in flight make them look more like birds to me. Whatever, it's still a wonderful and dramatic image.)

Some have criticised Caleb Landry-Jones' "strange" performance as Frank. I didn't see it that way. He portrays a young man mentally scarred by a life-threatening illness. Very convincing, in my opinion. The development of the relationship between two old before their time youngsters, Frank and Eleanor - one of whom is literally old, "16 for ever" - is one of the strengths of the narrative for me.

This film may haunt you for a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 2 Mar 2014
This review is from: Byzantium (Amazon Instant Video)
Best film I've seen in ages. Brilliant acting & great story line. Just wish Amazon Instant would get their app on the UK Roku box
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stylish horror show, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Byzantium [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
The gorgeous and talented Gemma Arterton is the main reason I purchased this DVD and I wasn't disappointed. She acts everyone else off the screen and displays her ample charms to amazing effect. It's stylish horror, directed with aplomb by Neil Jordan, and the storyline, though preposterous in parts, holds the attention throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 25 Mar 2014
This review is from: Byzantium (Amazon Instant Video)
Thoroughly enjoyable film with a very good cast. Wasn't exactly what I expected but it was one of the best 'vampire' related movies I have seen of late. The setting in Hastings was also just right. This was the first film in my Prime Instant Video and the download was great, all very quick and easy to do with no connection problems. Liked that the film resumed where I left off (as I often break in the middle of a film and watch it the next night - my DVD fails miserably in that task but the Amazon service was fine and resumed. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It ain't Twilight - thankfully., 25 Mar 2014
This review is from: Byzantium (Amazon Instant Video)
An almost too slow start which just manages to hold the interest long enough to draw you in. Once inside the ride is slow and beautifully understated; no 'Hammer Horror' cliches here. Characters are real and there is a strange, beautiful inevitability in the lives (and deaths) portrayed. The acting quality is superb throughout. A little masterpiece with only a few (minor) moments of obviousness in the storyline which spoil the dark beauty of the piece only marginally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Begorrah., 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Byzantium [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
a gritty and interesting tale that holds the viewers attention/ The acting is very good and you are wanting the women to survive their plight from start to finish. x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb60ba534)

This product

Byzantium [DVD] [2013]
Byzantium [DVD] [2013] by Neil Jordan (DVD - 2013)
6.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews